I am not here to tell you whether Centre College is the right college for your child. No article can decide that, and neither can I. I am here to explain, using the official data that the United States government collects from this institution, what kind of school it is, what it really costs, who gets in, who stays, and who finishes. With that information in hand, you can decide whether it is worth exploring further with your child.
What kind of college it is and where it is located
Let us start with the basics, because the basics already say a great deal. Centre College is a private, nonprofit, four-year institution offering bachelor's degrees focused on the arts and sciences. The federal system that classifies colleges in this country also places it among the more selective undergraduate institutions.
It is in Danville, Kentucky, in Boyle County, in an area officially classified as a town, far from large urban areas. And here is a fact that changes the calculation for many families: Centre is classified as “highly residential.” That means that, in the year measured, at least half of its undergraduate students lived in housing owned or controlled by the institution, and at least 8 out of every 10 studied full time. If your child attends this school, statistically, they will most likely move away from home. That is neither bad nor good by itself. It is a fact that should be part of your budget and your family conversation from the first day, not after the acceptance letter has already arrived.
One clarification is worth making right away: Centre College has none of the three special designations tracked by the government—it is not a historically Black college or university, a tribal college, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 colleges in this national directory, 138 do have at least one of those three labels. Centre's lack of such a designation says nothing about which students it serves or how your child will feel there. Ask directly: what cultural centers exist today, what student organizations are active, and, better yet, what someone who already studies there has to say.
The highest credential level this institution reports offering is the bachelor's degree. That is a general institutional fact, not a guarantee that the exact major your child wants is offered there in that form. Before falling in love with the school, verify the specific program.
A small community and some numbers worth facing directly
Centre College had 1,356 students enrolled in the most recent official count. It is a medium-sized school—neither enormous nor tiny—and compared with 941 other similar selective private schools, its size falls right in the middle of the group. All of those students are undergraduates; there is no graduate enrollment in the count.
Now, its composition. The Hispanic or Latino share of undergraduate enrollment is 8 out of every 100 students. It is a small minority, and compared with the other 941 selective private schools reporting this information, Centre falls below the midpoint of the group. I say this without embellishment or condemnation: a figure of 8 out of every 100 Latino students does not take this school off your list, but it is information you should have before your daughter imagines how she will feel there. During the visit, ask what exists today for Latino students—a student group, a cultural center, someone in the admissions office who speaks Spanish. This number describes the school as a whole; your child's experience in a specific major may look different.
The campus is almost evenly divided between men and women: women make up 52 out of every 100 students. And just over half of entering students, 54 out of every 100, were from Kentucky when they applied. The rest came from other states.
Here is a small but useful fact if your situation differs from that of a student coming directly from high school: the percentage of students ages 25 to 64 rounds to zero. That does not mean there is absolutely no one of that age, but it does mean this is overwhelmingly a community of young, traditional students arriving directly from high school.
How the academic year is organized and how broadly majors are distributed
Centre College operates on a 4-1-4 calendar: four courses over four months, then one month with a single course, followed by four more courses over the next four months. It is a different rhythm from a traditional semester, and it is worth understanding before planning the family's calendar for the year.
Regarding incoming credit, the school accepts credit from AP exams, but it did not indicate that it accepts credit for life experience. Here is a practical warning: saying that it accepts AP does not mean it awards credit for every exam or that the credit will count toward your child's specific major. Ask for the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not include the savings in your budget until you have it in hand.
In one recent year, Centre awarded 287 bachelor's degrees across 14 families of majors. Social sciences awarded the most degrees, accounting for 30 out of every 100 degrees that year—a notable share, but no other family lagged far behind. The offerings are distributed rather than concentrated in a single field. This number counts degrees awarded in one year, not people or the current catalog of majors. Before deciding, ask specifically about the major that interests your child: how many students earned degrees in it, how long they took, and what the complete curriculum looks like.
As for the relative level of instructional staffing, the official ratio is 10 students for every full-time-equivalent instructional staff member. Compared with 941 similar schools, that ratio falls below the midpoint—that is, it is lower than at most of them. A low ratio does not by itself prove that every student receives more attention, nor does it tell you the actual size of first-year classes. It is a clue, not a promise.
What the school reports as structured opportunities
Centre College reports two structured academic opportunities: study abroad and cocurricular undergraduate research. Their inclusion in the report confirms that they exist as formal programs; it does not tell you the available capacity, the additional cost, or whether your child would qualify. Ask admissions about those details specifically.
Getting into Centre College: what it requires and how difficult admission is
This is where many families want to go immediately, so let us take it slowly because there are several pieces.
First, the policy. Centre College does not have open admission: it reviews specific components before saying yes. Of the nine considerations tracked by the federal report, six are required: the complete high school record, high school GPA, completion of the college's required academic program, the personal essay, letters of recommendation, and an English proficiency exam when applicable. Although they are not required, the school also considers your child's class rank, work experience, and whether a family member studied there. On that last point, if it does not apply to you, do not spend energy worrying about it. Spend that energy on what is within your child's control. And here is a fact that helps your budget from the start: the published application fee is $0.
Now for the question every family wants to ask first: how difficult is it to get in?
| Measure | Figure |
|---|---|
| First-time applicants (2023) | 3,226 |
| Received an offer of admission | 1,753 (54 out of every 100) |
| Did not receive an offer | 1,473 |
| Of those admitted, enrolled here | 21 out of every 100 |
An offer of admission went to 54 out of every 100 applicants. Compared with 942 similar selective private schools, Centre falls on the lower side: seven out of ten of those schools, or more, accept a higher percentage of their applicants. Admission is not a sure thing, but it is not a lottery either. The application is genuinely reviewed.
And here is a distinction that changes how you should read the previous number: being admitted is not the same as enrolling. Of every 100 admitted students, only 21 ultimately enrolled at Centre that fall. Put another way, of every 5 young people who receive a yes, about one ends up attending. The other four had a place and did not take it. That is not a mark against the school—the federal record does not explain why each person made that decision. What I can tell you is not to rush because of what others decided. Wait for your own letter showing the net price, which is the number that truly matters, and decide with that number in hand whether this school stays on your list.
Regarding standardized tests, the SAT and ACT are not required at Centre College. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid. Of the students who enrolled, only 9 out of every 100 submitted an SAT score. Among them, the middle half scored between 610 and 683 in reading and writing and between 620 and 740 in mathematics. Keep in mind that these ranges come from the minority of enrolled students who submitted scores, not from all applicants. That 610 is not a minimum your child must reach, and that 683 is not a guarantee of anything either.
One final fact about transfer entry: in the reported fall, 4 undergraduate students entered Centre for the first time after previously attending another college. That is a low count compared with similar schools, but it is a count of people, not a rate, and it goes hand in hand with the school's small size. The transfer-out rate—how many of those who entered later transferred elsewhere—is not reported here. Its absence does not mean that no one transfers; it means that specific information did not reach the file.
The list price, plainly stated
For the reported academic year, Centre College's total cost of attendance for a first-time, full-time student living on campus was $68,035. This number is the same whether your family lives in Kentucky or in any other state—Centre does not charge different rates based on residency.
Broken down, that was $50,550 for tuition and fees, $13,770 for on-campus housing and food, $1,200 for books and supplies, and the remainder was an estimate of personal expenses prepared by the financial aid office.
Compared with the other 888 schools of the same type and control, this cost of attendance falls above the midpoint of the group. It is an expensive school at the public list price.
And I need to be direct with you: this number is not your bill. It is the list price before any scholarship or aid. Complete the FAFSA. Ask for the aid letter in writing. Until you have it, you do not know what Centre College will cost your family specifically.
The net price: what families actually pay, according to income
At Centre College, among 31 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $10,779. Among 31 students from the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $17,317; among 88 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $28,164. For dependent students, the band combines their parents' income with their own.
The difference between the average for the lowest-income band, consisting of 31 students, and the average for the highest-income band, consisting of 88 students, is $17,385. These are group averages, not a prediction of your family's price. Among first-year students who received any scholarship, the average was $23,780.
Among the 937 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this information with the same time coverage, Centre falls within the least expensive quarter for the lowest-income families after scholarships are subtracted. That does not mean it will be inexpensive for your family. It is a meaningful fact when you build the list of schools to which your child will apply.
Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, correctly identifying yours is the first step. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average with scholarships, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional scholarships or grants. The aid letter sent to you is what governs.
Scholarships, Pell, and loans: where the money comes from
At Centre College, the share of degree-seeking students who received a scholarship or other aid that does not have to be repaid was 99 out of every 100. Receiving something is the norm here, not the exception. Among recipients, the average was $37,975 for the year. That is real money, but it is not a price: that average includes people who received much more and people who received much less. What matters is not the size of the discount you are offered, but how much you still have to pay out of pocket.
The Pell Grant—federal aid for low-income families with demonstrated need—went to 21 out of every 100 Centre students.
Now, the debt portion, without cushioning it:
In the most recently reported academic year, 45 out of every 100 Centre College undergraduate students received a federal student loan. That is more than four out of ten. Compared with 942 similar schools, Centre falls on the lower side—seven out of ten schools in that group, or more, had a higher share of students with loans. But “less than at other schools” does not mean little: financing with debt is common here.
Borrowers took out an average of $6,559 each that year. If your child borrowed a similar amount in each of the plan's four years, the total would be around $26,236, not counting interest. That number should be decided before the first signature, not at the end of the journey. And keep in mind that this average includes only federal loans in the student's name. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes sign for, debt from private banks, or credit cards. Nor is it the total debt with which someone leaves upon graduating—for that, the four years would have to be added together, and that number is not in this report.
Centre College also reports offering an installment tuition payment plan as a way to manage the cost throughout the year.
Campus life: where your child would sleep and what else is there
Centre does have institution-controlled housing, and it does not require all first-time, full-time students to live there—although that does not rule out the possibility that a specific program might require it. The maximum reported housing capacity is 1,360 students, on or off campus. Meal plans are also available, and the largest plan has a fixed number of meals per week. The existence of a room does not guarantee you an assigned bed. Ask in writing for this year's rate, the housing application deadline, and whether a place is guaranteed or your child would join a waiting list.
Regarding ROTC, Centre reports opportunities in two branches, Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. Its inclusion does not confirm that the program is physically offered on this campus—ask about it by name before building your child's plan around that path.
In sports, Centre competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA. The report confirms NCAA or NAIA membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field, but it does not specify divisions or athletic scholarships by sport. Ask the coach directly, in writing.
Regarding instructional format, Centre College does not offer distance education. Not even one course, at any level. If your child works or cares for someone at home, the schedule would have to fit entirely in person.
The library operates with hired staff, has physical and digital collections, and offers interlibrary lending. The institution also reports combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement services for graduates, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program, and an officially published address for disability services. The reporting of these services confirms that they exist; it does not measure their quality or how well they work for a particular student.
Do they stay? Do they graduate? What the cohorts show
Here we reach the part that, to me, matters most to a family preparing to invest four years and a great deal of money: what happens to the people who enter?
Of a cohort of 400 first-time, full-time, bachelor's-degree-seeking students, 350 met the official retention criterion: 88 out of every 100 were still enrolled at Centre or had already graduated one year later. Compared with 930 similar schools, Centre falls within the upper part of that group. The destinations of the 50 who did not meet the criterion are not known from this information—we do not know whether they went to another college, took a break, or did something else.
And graduation, which is where this information truly comes alive:
| Time frame | Share that graduated |
|---|---|
| 4 years | 81 out of every 100 |
| 6 years | 85 out of every 100 (342 of 401) |
Compared with 920 similar selective private schools, Centre is among those graduating the highest shares: nine out of ten schools in that group, or more, reported an equal or lower proportion. At four years, the figure is 81 out of every 100. That is only 4 points below the six-year figure.
To be completely clear: this is what happened to the class that entered in 2017, consisting of full-time students who had never attended another college before. It is not a promise of what will happen to your child. What is within your control, and your child's, is starting the first semester with credits in order, knowing who the academic adviser is, and learning early when to register for the courses required by the major.
There is also a broader measure: among a cohort of 378 students who entered between July 2015 and June 2016—including both first-time students and those who already had previous college experience—87 out of every 100 had earned a Centre degree or certificate after eight years. Among those who specifically received a Pell Grant, the figure was 83 out of every 100, five points below the rest. Compared with 935 similar schools, Centre is again among those graduating the highest shares over this longer time frame.
A high number on any of these measures is not a prediction about one person. It is what happened to a specific group in specific years. What you can do, when the time comes, is ask about the current support available in your child's program and the outcomes of the most recent cohorts, not just those from a decade ago.
What you already know and what you still need to learn
You now know in detail one of the pieces you need to decide: what Centre College is, what it costs in practice according to your family's income, how difficult it is to get in, how it treats those it admits, and how they fare afterward.
That piece is not the entire decision. You still need to combine it with what your child wants to study and what your child has already built in high school.
Your child's responsibilities are to write the essay, maintain the GPA, request the recommendation letters, and decide what to study. Your responsibilities are to complete the FAFSA on time, read the aid letter line by line, and ask everything this article has pointed out without being able to answer for you: the actual equivalency of AP credits, the exact housing rate for this year, whether your child's sport offers scholarships, and what to expect if your child decides to transfer. None of those answers is in a federal file. They are in an email, a phone call, or a campus visit.
A real plan emerges from that combination—what the college actually offers, what your child has built, and what your family can sustain. This article gives you the complete first piece. The other two are yours to assemble together, carefully.
The information in this article comes from official reports that Centre College submitted to the United States Department of Education's IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), corresponding primarily to the years 2022-23 and 2023-24. Best College Aid does not represent Centre College or any agency of the United States government; this article is for informational purposes and does not replace the admission letter, the financial aid letter, or direct communication with the college.