This article is not going to answer that question for you. No one can, because the answer depends on your child, your family, and your money, three things only you know. What it can do is put clearly in front of you what the official data say about Chapman University: who it is, how it admits students, how much it costs, and what happens to the people who enroll there. You put that piece alongside the other two. Let’s begin.
Who Chapman University is and where it stands
There is a system, Carnegie, that classifies U.S. universities based on what they actually do, not what they say about themselves. There, Chapman University appears among doctoral universities with high research activity. In its undergraduate profile, it is classified as a four-year, medium-sized, highly residential, more selective school.
“Highly residential” is not just a loose adjective: according to the data used for that classification, at least half of degree-seeking undergraduate students lived in institution-owned or affiliated housing, and at least 8 out of every 10 studied full time. It is a school designed, to a considerable extent, to be lived in. That does not say whether moving away is right for your child or how much room and board cost — you will see that separate number later — but it does tell you the kind of experience the school encourages.
The “more selective” label also does not tell you how many out of every hundred applicants are admitted. That number exists, it is another data point, and you will see it in the admissions section. Do not let the word “selective” end the conversation too soon.
Geographically, Chapman University is in Orange, California, within Orange County, within the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim metropolitan area. That does not mean the campus is in the middle of a major city. If your child plans to live at home and commute daily, do not rely on the map: drive the route yourself on a weekday, at the exact time of their classes. The actual travel time is almost never what the navigator promises.
Institutionally, it is a private nonprofit university offering four years or more, and the highest level it reports offering is the doctorate. That is an institutional fact: it does not tell you whether the specific major your child is interested in exists there or whether it connects undergraduate and graduate study. That must be verified program by program.
And one clarification worth making right away: Chapman University does not have any of three specific designations that exist in the federal system — it is not a historically Black college or university, it is not a tribal college or university, and it is not a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this directory, 138 do have at least one. Chapman’s not having one does not say anything about which communities it serves today or how your child will feel there. Ask directly: which cultural centers exist, which student organizations are available, and, even better, talk to someone who already studies there.
The real size of the student community
Chapman University had 9,961 enrolled students in the official fall count. It is neither a tiny school nor a huge school; it falls in the range between 5,000 and 9,999. Compared with similar selective private schools, it is among the larger ones: at most one out of every ten schools in that group has more students than it does.
But that large number hides something important. Of those 9,961, 7,874 are undergraduates and 2,087 are graduate students. If your child is starting a degree, the number that really matters is 7,874, not the total. A substantial part of “the school” consists of people who have already completed a degree and are doing something else.
Within that undergraduate population, 18 out of every 100 students reported themselves as Hispanic or Latino in the fall of 2023. Compared with 941 similar selective private schools that report this data point, that places it in the top quarter: three out of every four schools in that group reported an equal or smaller proportion. They are not a majority, but neither are they unusual. Still, that comparison does not account for the part of the country where the school is located — and that matters in California — nor does it go down to the specific-major level.
There are more women than men: 61 out of every 100. There are almost no adult students: only 2 out of every 100 are between 25 and 64 years old. And a little more than half of newly admitted students, 61 out of every 100, reported living in California when they applied. It is a young community, with a real presence of students who came from other states, and with a clear, though not dominant, Latino share.
How the academic year is organized and what is studied there
Chapman University uses an 4-1-4 calendar: four courses over four months, one month with a single course, and another four courses in the following four months. In its official report, it stated that it accepts credit for AP exams, but did not check the box for credit for life experience. It also reports accepting credit for military training and enrolling high school students in credit-bearing college courses through a formal dual enrollment program.
Saying that they accept AP does not mean they award credit for any exam with any score. We do not know how many points they require, how many credits they award, or whether those credits count toward your child’s major. Before you start calculating time or money savings in your head, request the equivalency evaluation in writing.
Between July of 2022 and June of 2023, Chapman University awarded 1,936 bachelor’s degrees, distributed across 24 career families. The largest, by a wide margin over the others, was business and administration: 612 degrees, or 32 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year. Compared with similar schools, it has a particularly broad offering of represented career families — it falls in the top quarter of that group. But be careful: having a row in the report does not mean there is an active program with students right now; a row may report zero. Verify the exact program your child is interested in, not just the general family.
As for the student-faculty ratio, the official figure is 12 students for every full-time-equivalent faculty member. On the general scale, this is described as low. But compared only with schools of the same type — selective private schools — it is above the median: half or more of those schools reported an equal or lower ratio. Both things are true at the same time, which is why they are shown separately. What this number does not tell you is the actual size of first-year classes.
Institutionally, Chapman University also reports structured pathways such as study abroad, cocurricular undergraduate research, and teacher preparation and certification pathways, including state approval of the program for initial teacher certification.
How to get in: the application, selectivity, and who actually enrolls
This is where many families want to jump straight to the acceptance number, and I understand why. But it is worth first understanding what the application requires, because that determines how your child prepares, not just whether they get in.
Chapman University does not have open admission. Of nine admissions considerations reviewed by a federal count, it marks seven as required: the high school transcript, grade point average, having completed the course plan the university requires, the personal essay, letters of recommendation, a formal work sample (portfolio or competency examination), and an English-proficiency examination for applicants. It also considers, though they are not required, class rank and work experience. The published application fee is $70.
This is a long application. It cannot be put together in one night. If the essay is required — and it is — have your child begin it in the summer, not the week of the deadline. The first draft is never the one that gets submitted.
Now, the numbers. In the 2023 cycle, Chapman University received 15,914 first-time applications. Of those, 8,849 received an offer of admission: 56 out of every 100. Compared with similar selective private schools, that places it on the lower side — seven out of every ten schools in that group, or more, admitted a greater percentage of their applicants. Viewed the other way: 7,065 applicants did not receive an offer. It is not a sure thing, and it is not a lottery. Applications are reviewed, with seven required pieces behind them.
But admitted is not the same as enrolled. Out of every 100 admitted students, only 20 ultimately enrolled at Chapman University that fall. The other 80 had a spot and did not take it. Compared with similar schools, that rate falls in the middle of the pack, neither especially high nor especially low.
Do not read that as a blemish. The federal record does not say why each person chose what they chose, and what others decided does not tell you what they will offer you. What does matter is this: wait for your letter with the net price — what it would truly cost your family — before deciding whether this school stays on your list.
Regarding standardized tests: the SAT and ACT are not required at Chapman University. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid all the same. Of enrolled students, only 16 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores. Among them, the middle half scored between 630 and 710 in reading and writing, and between 620 and 720 in mathematics. Those ranges are for people who had already enrolled and chose to submit a score — not for all applicants, and they do not prove that the score decided anything. That 630 is not a minimum, and that 710 is not a guarantee either.
Regarding transfers: in the fall of 2023, 301 undergraduate students came to Chapman University for the first time after studying at another institution. Compared with similar schools, it is among those that receive more — although that is a headcount, not a proportion, and a large school counts more people simply because it is large. What is not reported here is the departure rate: how many students who entered as first-time students transferred elsewhere. That data point is blank in the file, which does not demonstrate that no one transfers; it simply is not reported.
The sticker price and what each family actually pays
At Chapman University, among 269 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records listed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $37,985. Among 172 students in the same population with family EFC income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $39,414; among 840 students with family EFC income above $110,000, it was $54,519. For dependent students, the range adds their parents’ income and their own.
Between the average for the lowest-income band (269 students) and that for the highest band (840 students), there is a difference of $16,534. These are group averages, not a prediction of your family’s price. Among first-year students who received some scholarship, the average was $48,037.
Among the 937 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this data point with the same time coverage, this one falls in the most expensive quarter for lower-income families. That does not mean it should be ruled out. It means you need to request the aid letter before deciding.
Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, placing yours correctly comes first. The income bands on this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or district rate. The overall average with scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional scholarships or grants. The one that matters is the aid letter you receive.
How it is paid for: scholarships, loans, and the options available
Out of every 100 degree-seeking students at Chapman University, 85 received some scholarship or aid that does not have to be repaid. Among those who received it, the average was $29,947 per year. It is real money, but it is not a price: that average includes people who received much more and people who received much less. What decides it, again, is the number left after aid.
The Pell Grant — federal assistance for families with demonstrated financial need — went to 20 out of every 100 students.
Regarding loans: in the 2022-23 academic year, 62 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan. Here, financing with debt is common, not the exception. Of those who borrowed, each received $6,731 on average that year. If your child borrowed something similar each year throughout the four years of the program, the total would be around $26,924 — without counting interest, parent PLUS loans, bank debt, or credit cards. That calculation is decided before the first signature, not at the end.
Compared with similar schools, the share of students with loans is common, neither among the highest nor the lowest.
Institutionally, Chapman University also reports a tuition payment plan in installments as a formal mechanism for managing the cost.
Campus life, format, and available support
Chapman University has institution-controlled housing, with reported capacity for 3,714 students, on or off campus. Not all first-time, full-time students are required to live there — that rules out a universal requirement, but does not mean that no program has that requirement. It also offers meal plans with a fixed number of meals per week in its largest plan. Having housing does not guarantee a bed will be available for your child: request in writing the rate, the deadline, and whether they guarantee space or have a waitlist.
Regarding ROTC: the school reports an opportunity for two branches, Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. Being marked does not mean the program is offered on this specific campus — IPEDS does not clarify that. Ask by name.
In sports, Chapman University competes in intercollegiate athletics and is affiliated with the NCAA, with reported membership in football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. That does not tell you which division each sport plays in or whether it offers athletic scholarships — ask the coach directly, and have them answer in writing.
Regarding distance education: the school does offer distance courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels, but in the fall count, 0 out of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load at a distance. All took at least one in-person class. And it explicitly reported that it does not offer a complete program in which all required courses can be taken at a distance. If this matters to your child, confirm it in writing, program by program.
The library operates with paid staff, and its annual spending exceeds the government’s recorded threshold of $100,000. It has physical and digital materials, as well as interlibrary loan. That is the floor, not a guarantee that the specific databases for your child’s major exist — ask by name.
And in general support, Chapman University reports combined academic and career counseling, student employment services, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program, a point of contact for veterans and military students, a student veterans organization, and a published web address for disability services.
What happens to the people who enroll: retention and graduation
This is perhaps the most honest part of the entire article, because here the numbers speak about the real outcomes of real cohorts.
Of the cohort that entered as first-time, full-time students in 2022, 90 out of every 100 were still enrolled here or had already graduated one year later. Compared with similar schools, that places it near the top of the group. It is a strong figure — but it combines two different groups (those who are still enrolled and those who have already finished) and does not explain what happened to the rest.
Of the cohort that began bachelor’s study in 2017, 1,314 of 1,641 students graduated within six years: 80 out of every 100. With the shorter four-year period, the figure falls to 71 out of every 100 — a difference of 9 points between waiting two more years and not waiting. Compared with similar selective private schools, that 80% places it in the top quarter.
And at eight years, following a different cohort that entered between July of 2015 and June of 2016, 80 out of every 100 already had a degree or certificate from this school. Among those who specifically received a Pell Grant, the figure was 74 out of every 100 — 8 points below the group without Pell.
A high number is not a promise for your child. It is what happened to an earlier cohort, under circumstances that are not theirs. What is within your control is making sure they enter with their credits in order and that from the first semester they know who their academic adviser is and when enrollment opens for courses in their major. And if your family qualifies for Pell, it is worth asking the school, specifically, what concretely exists for that group: an assigned adviser, emergency aid, and whether institutional scholarship aid renews year after year. Have them answer in writing.
Putting the pieces together
You still need to combine this with what your child wants to study and what they have already built to get here. And you need to combine it with what your family can and is willing to pay, once you have the aid letter in hand and not before.
None of those three pieces can be replaced by this one. But now, when you sit down with your child to talk about this university, you will not be guessing. You will be deciding with real information, knowing what is up to them, what is up to you, and what depends on the university itself. That is already a huge step on a path that, I know, can sometimes feel very lonely.
Source note: the information in this article comes from data reported by Chapman University to IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) of the U.S. Department of Education, corresponding primarily to the 2023 cycle and the 2023-24 academic year, as indicated in each section. Best College Aid does not represent Chapman University or the U.S. government, and this article does not constitute personalized admissions advice.