College guide

Florida Institute of Technology Acceptance Rate, Admissions & Graduation

Florida Tech: the university where engineering rules and getting admitted is not the same as filling up

Florida Institute of Technology at a glance

Federal data · IPEDS
Acceptance rate
62.5%

9,507 admitted of 15,205 applicants · first-time, degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates · fall 2023

Tuition and fees
$44,360

published price per year · full-time, first-time undergraduates · 2023–24

Average net price · family income $0–$30K
$29,324/yr

after grants and scholarships · full-time, first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates awarded Title IV federal aid · 2022–23 · every income level

Graduation rate
65%

earned a bachelor's or equivalent degree within 6 years (150% of normal time) · adjusted 2017 bachelor's subcohort of full-time, first-time students · 2017 cohort · IPEDS 2023

SAT / ACT
Required

required · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

More numbers
High school GPA
Required

how the high school GPA is used in admission · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

SAT Reading & Writing
570–660

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023 (70% submitted SAT scores)

SAT Math
560–660

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023

ACT composite (median)
25

enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted ACT scores · fall 2023

Retention rate
77%

re-enrolled at the college the next fall, full- or part-time · adjusted fall 2022 cohort of full-time, first-time bachelor's degree-seeking students · fall 2022 → fall 2023

Application fee
No fee

undergraduate application fee · 2023–24

Hispanic or Latino undergraduates
15%

undergraduates · fall 2023 · describes who studies here, not the support a student will get

Source: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS. Each number shows who it counts and its year. How we use this data

Some universities can be understood in one sentence, and others you need to put together like a puzzle before you know whether they work for your child. Florida Institute of Technology is one of the latter. On the outside, it looks like a mid-sized private school on Florida’s coast. Inside, there is a research university with doctorates, a program packed with engineers, admissions that says yes more often than people imagine, and a sticker price that hits hard if you do not arrive prepared with the aid letter in hand.

By Francisco CantúAdmissions and financial aid counselor
2,851 words13 min readIPEDS 2022–23
In this article

Let’s walk through it together, piece by piece, using the official numbers reported to the government. Not so that you finish this reading knowing everything, but so that you enter the next conversation—with your child, with the admissions office, with financial aid—knowing what to ask.

What kind of university it is, in a few words

Florida Institute of Technology is a private nonprofit institution that offers bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. The government classifies it among doctoral universities with high research activity, and in the Carnegie system—which organizes the country’s schools by what they do—it appears as a four-year, mid-sized, highly residential school: at the time of that measurement, at least half of degree-seeking undergraduate students lived in institution-provided housing, and at least 8 out of every 10 studied full time.

It also appears, in another Carnegie classification, among institutions that receive many transfer students. If your child plans to enroll here after studying somewhere else, that fact matters: ask in writing, before enrolling, which courses will count and which will not. The label says many transfer students arrive; it does not say how many credits they bring or how many are lost in the transition.

It is not a historically Black college or university, not a tribal college or university, and not a land-grant institution. Those are three different designations, and none applies here. That does not say which communities it serves or how your child will feel on that campus. Ask directly: what student organizations and cultural centers exist today.

Where it is. Florida Tech is in Melbourne, Florida, in Brevard County, within the Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville metropolitan area. The information says where it is, not how to get there or how long the actual commute takes. If your child plans to live at home and drive every day, do not rely on the map: drive that route yourself on a weekday, at the time of their classes.

A larger community than it seems, with graduate study as the engine

There is a common confusion worth clearing up from the start. Florida Tech has 8,516 students enrolled in total—neither among the tiny schools nor the enormous ones, in the official range of 5,000 to 9,999—but only 3,458 of them are undergraduates. The other 5,058 are graduate students. If your child is starting a bachelor’s program, the number that matters to them is 3,458, not the total. Graduate enrollment inflates the large figure and weighs more heavily than undergraduate enrollment at this school.

Compared with the 941 selective private four-year schools in this census, Florida Tech is among the larger ones: at most one out of every ten has more students than it does.

Among undergraduates, 15 out of every 100 students reported being Hispanic or Latino in fall 2023—above half of that same group of comparable schools, without reaching the highest quarter. They are not a majority, but they are not unusual either. There are more men than women: out of every 100 students, 34 are women. Adults ages 25 to 64 are few, 6 out of every 100: this is not a school designed mainly for someone returning to study later in life.

And one fact worth sitting down to consider: fewer than half of first-time students, 37 out of every 100, had permanent residence reported in the school’s state. The rest come from other states, other countries, or their residence was not reported. If your child comes from elsewhere, they will not be the only one. But that figure does not measure distance or travel cost—that is something you put together using the real cost of attendance and the trips your situation requires.

How the academic year works and which credits they recognize

The calendar uses semesters: two long terms, about 15 weeks each. The institution reported that it accepts credit for AP exams and military training, but did not indicate credit for life experience. It also enrolls high school students in credit-bearing college courses through a formal dual-enrollment program.

Accepting AP does not mean it grants credit for every exam or that the credit counts toward your child’s specific program. Ask for the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget the savings until you have it in hand.

Engineering dominates the degree map

In one year, Florida Tech awarded 595 bachelor’s degrees, spread across 17 program families. But the distribution is not even: engineering alone accounted for 267 of those 595 degrees. That is 45 out of every 100. Nearly half of what this school graduates each year comes from engineering.

Among the 942 selective private schools in this census, Florida Tech falls in the quarter that awards the most bachelor’s degrees each year. This count measures degrees awarded, not people or program quality. If your child is interested in a program outside engineering, do not rule it out because of this figure—ask directly how many students graduated in that specific program, how long it took, and what the curriculum is like.

The official student-faculty ratio is 13 to 1. It is a low ratio compared with the overall scale, but compared with similar schools of the same type, it is above the median: several have even lower ratios. Both things are true at the same time. And one useful warning: this ratio does not tell you the actual size of a first-year classroom. It is an institutional calculation, not a snapshot of every class.

The institution also reports structured opportunities: study abroad and cocurricular undergraduate research.

Admissions: it is not open, and writing matters

Florida Tech does not have open admissions. Of the nine considerations this count reviews, it marks four as required: high school record, high school GPA, personal essay, and English-language proficiency exam for applicants who need one. Other pieces are not required but do help if you submit them: class rank, rigorous course plan, letters of recommendation, portfolio or competency exam, and work experience.

Put simply: here, it is not enough to gather documents. The essay is required, so your child has to write something that is truly their own. The published application fee is $0—there is no financial excuse not to try. Have them start the essay in the summer, not the week of the deadline. The first draft is never the one you send.

How selective is it really? In 2023, Florida Tech received 15,205 first-time applications and offered admission to 9,507. That is 63 out of every 100—middle of the pack among its peers, slightly below half of the group. It is not a sure thing, but it is not an almost impossible barrier either. Applications are reviewed carefully.

The SAT or ACT is required. Of those who enrolled, 70 out of every 100 submitted an SAT score, and among them the middle half scored between 570 and 660 in reading and writing, and between 560 and 660 in math. If your child falls below those numbers, it does not mean they are out—it means it is worth addressing with time and preparation, not the week before the exam.

Here is the fact that surprises families most: out of every 100 admitted students, only 9 ended up enrolling. Of every 11 who receive this school’s “yes,” only one ultimately attends. The other ten already had a place and did not take it. And I want to be very clear with you here: that is not a mark against the school. Receiving the letter is not the same as deciding to attend, and the federal record does not explain why each person made the choice they made. What others decided tells you nothing about what you will be offered. Wait for your own letter with the net price—that is the real number that determines whether this school stays on your list.

In the fall count of 2023, 159 undergraduate students arrived for the first time after studying at another institution. That is a number of people entering, not people leaving—the transfer-out rate is not reported here, and that does not show that no one transfers elsewhere.

The price: this is where a family takes a deep breath

At Florida Institute of Technology, among 82 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $29,324. Among 70 students in the same population with family EFC income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $33,611; among 197 students with family EFC income above $110,000, it was $39,204. For dependent students, the range combines their parents’ income and their own.

The difference between the average for the lower-income range (82 students) and the higher-income range (197 students) is $9,880. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship, the average was $36,364.

Among the 937 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this figure with the same time coverage, this one falls in the most expensive quarter for lower-income families. That does not mean you should rule it out. It means you need to request the aid letter before deciding.

An average does not tell you how different the cases were within that range; this information cannot establish that there were families far below or above the published figure. The income ranges in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; public institutions use the in-state or district rate. The overall average with grants, when it appears, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional scholarships or grants.

Grants, loans, and how to pay

Out of every 100 degree-seeking students, 89 received some scholarship or aid that does not have to be repaid. Among them, the average was $24,420 per year—real money, but not a price: that average includes people who received much more and people who received much less. Pell, the federal aid for low-income families, reached 22 out of every 100 students.

For loans: 40 out of every 100 undergraduate students took out a federal student loan in 2022-23, with an average of $6,465 that year among those who borrowed. Compared with its peers, Florida Tech falls on the low side—seven out of every ten similar schools had a greater share of students with debt. That average is for only one year and only for federal loans in the student’s name; it does not include what parents borrow or the accumulated debt of the entire program.

None of this is your particular offer. It is what happened to other families. What your child would have to pay out of pocket comes only from their financial aid letter. Wait for that letter before ruling out the school and before committing to it. Florida Tech also offers an installment tuition payment plan if your family needs to spread the cost over the year.

Campus, daily life, and concrete support

There is institution-controlled housing, with reported capacity for 2,034 students on or off campus. It is not required for all full-time first-time students—but that does not say whether a specific program does require it. There are also meal plans, although the number of meals per week varies by plan. Ask in writing for the price, the deadline to request a room, and whether you are guaranteed a spot or placed on a waiting list.

There is ROTC, and the branch confirmed in writing is Army. Navy and Air Force are not marked—not confirmed is not the same as impossible, so if your child is interested in another branch, ask directly.

Florida Tech competes in intercollegiate athletics and is affiliated with the NCAA, with reported membership in basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. That is institutional affiliation, not a guaranteed spot for your child: write to the coach for the specific sport and ask about roster space, division, and athletic scholarship.

It does offer distance education at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and reports at least one complete program that can be completed at a distance. But in the fall count, no undergraduate student took their entire course load at a distance—all took at least one in-person class. Confirm in writing whether your child’s program can be completed entirely at a distance.

The library operates with paid staff, spending above the government’s reported threshold of $100,000, physical and digital collections, and interlibrary loan. That is the floor. It does not say whether there are databases for your child’s specific program—that is something to ask by program name.

The institution also reports combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students and graduates, participation in Yellow Ribbon, a point of contact for veterans and military personnel, a student veterans organization, and a services page for people with disabilities.

Do they stay? Do they graduate? The long-term numbers

Of the cohort that entered in fall 2022 seeking a full-time bachelor’s degree, 771 students, 594, were still enrolled or had already graduated the following year. That is 77 out of every 100—slightly above half of its peers, in the middle of the table. This number does not separate those who are still here from those who have already graduated, and not returning does not always mean dropping out: someone who transferred and continues studying elsewhere counts the same as someone who left school altogether.

Of 715 students who started a bachelor’s degree in 2017, 468 graduated here within six years: 65 out of every 100. At four years, the figure drops to 48 out of every 100—seventeen points lower, and four years is exactly the timeframe most families have budgeted for. Compared with its peers, this six-year rate is above the median. Before signing, ask in writing how long the program your child is interested in usually actually takes and how the total cost changes if it runs longer.

Looking back eight years, for a cohort that entered between 2015 and 2016, 68 out of every 100 had a degree or certificate from this school as of August 2023. Among those who received a Pell Grant, the figure falls to 62 out of every 100—eight points below those who did not receive one. If your family would qualify for Pell, that difference is worth asking the school about directly: what specific supports exist, whether there is an assigned counselor, and whether institutional aid renews every year. Ask them to answer you in writing.

What you decide, what they decide, what the school decides

The school’s role is to admit, set the sticker price, and offer—or not offer—aid. Your child’s role is to write the essay, maintain their GPA, decide whether they want the engineering that dominates the degree map here, and show up on time for the exam. Your role is the money, the calendar, the FAFSA, the aid letter read carefully, and the questions no federal figure can answer on its own.

Now you know in detail one part of this decision: what kind of university Florida Tech is, how selective it really is, what its sticker price is and what families similar to yours tend to pay, and which questions you still need to ask. Put that together with what your child wants to study, what they have already built in high school, and what your family can and is willing to pay. That combination, not this reading alone, is where the plan comes from.

Source note: the information in this article comes from data reported by the institution to IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) of the United States Department of Education, primarily from the 2023 cycle and the 2023–24 academic year, with some Carnegie classifications based on data from 2019-20 and 2021. Best College Aid does not represent Florida Institute of Technology or any government agency; this article does not replace official information or the financial aid letter your family receives directly from the institution.

Want to understand what this means for your child?

In our free presentation we show you, step by step, how to build your child's college list and understand financial aid.

Sign up free