I am not going to tell you whether Harvard is "for" your child. An article cannot decide that. What I can do is show you, using what the university itself reports to the United States government, what kind of place it is, how people get in, how much it costs on paper, how much it ultimately costs in real life, and what happens to students once they are there. With that in hand, you decide how it fits—or does not fit—into your family's plan.
What kind of university it is
Harvard University is a private, nonprofit, four-year institution located in Cambridge, Massachusetts, within Middlesex County and the Boston-Cambridge-Newton metropolitan area. That tells you where it is, not how to get there or what daily life is like: transportation and the actual routine need to be discussed directly with the school. If your child were thinking about living at home, the recommendation is simple and practical: drive the route on a weekday, at the time their classes would take place. The actual travel time is almost never what the map says.
The Carnegie classification system, which organizes the country's universities according to what they do, places Harvard among the doctoral institutions with the highest level of research activity. It also describes Harvard as a large, highly residential, four-year school: at the time of that classification, at least half of its undergraduate students lived in housing owned, controlled, or affiliated with the institution, and at least 80 out of every 100 attended full time. In its undergraduate admissions profile, Carnegie places it in the most selective group there is. And the same classification includes a fact worth keeping in mind from the outset: using 2019-20 enrollment, at least half of Harvard's students overall were graduate students. It is a historical snapshot of the entire institution, not a description of an undergraduate student's life today. But it is worth remembering, because it will come up again.
Harvard reports the doctorate as the highest level it offers, and IPEDS classifies it as a degree-granting institution that, overall, is primarily at the bachelor's level or above. None of these labels tells you whether the specific major that interests your child exists or whether it connects to a graduate program. That must be confirmed program by program.
And one clarification that applies throughout this article: Harvard is not registered as a historically Black college or university (HBCU), a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this national directory, 138 do have at least one of those three designations. Harvard's lack of such a designation says nothing about which communities it serves or how your child would feel on that campus. Those are things to ask about directly: which cultural centers exist, which student organizations are active today, and—if possible—whether you can speak with someone who is already there.
A small city disguised as a university
When Harvard reports its fall enrollment, the total is 30,386 students. That is an enormous number: it falls within the highest band the government uses to measure size, "20,000 or more." Compared with the 941 selective private four-year schools in this census that report the figure, it is among the largest—at most one in ten has more students.
But that number hides something important. Of those 30,386, only 9,095 are undergraduates. The other 21,291 are graduate students. At Harvard, graduate enrollment outweighs undergraduate enrollment. If your child is entering a bachelor's-degree program, the number that matters to your family is not 30,386. It is 9,095.
Within that undergraduate population, the community has a particular profile. Twelve out of every 100 students are Hispanic or Latino—a small minority, although slightly above the median compared with the 941 selective private schools in this census that report the figure, without reaching the highest quarter. Being a small minority does not remove the school from consideration; it simply means that, if this matters to your family, it is worth asking during the visit what is available for Latino students: a student group, a cultural center, or someone in the office who speaks Spanish.
The undergraduate population is nearly evenly divided between men and women—53 out of every 100 are women—and 16 out of every 100 students are between 25 and 64 years old, meaning that this is not a campus made up exclusively of teenagers who have just finished high school.
There is one figure that deserves special attention if your child is thinking about living close to home: fewer than 25 out of every 100 first-time students—in fact, only 15 out of every 100—had a reported permanent residence in Massachusetts. The vast majority come from other states or other countries, or their residence was not specified in the report. This figure does not measure actual distance or travel costs; IPEDS includes a general transportation estimate within the cost of attendance, but it does not break out flights or moving expenses. If your family is considering sending your child far away, that is another number for your actual budget, not just your imagination.
How the academic year works and what is offered
Harvard organizes its academic year into semesters: two long terms of approximately 15 weeks. In its most recent report, the university indicated that it does not grant special admission credit for life experience or AP exams—that specific question did not measure dual credit, so nothing about dual credit can be concluded from it. Separately, it did state that it enrolls high school students in college courses for credit outside a formal dual-enrollment program, treating them as regular students in those courses. Before assuming any credit policy, it is worth confirming it in writing with the university itself.
As for what students study: between July 2022 and June 2023, Harvard awarded 1,898 bachelor's degrees across 21 program families, although some of those rows may report no degrees and do not necessarily describe the current offerings. By far, the family with the most degrees was social sciences: 638 of the 1,898, or 34 out of every 100. Compared with 942 selective private schools in this census, Harvard falls within the quarter with the most program families represented in its bachelor's-degree detail—a broad offering on paper. But "21 families with a row in the report" does not mean 21 guaranteed majors or 21 families with active degrees: each family groups together many different programs, and it is worth verifying the exact program that interests your child, not just the general category.
One figure that often surprises families is the student-faculty ratio: 7 full-time students per full-time-equivalent faculty member. It is among the lowest ratios reported in the country and places Harvard in the lowest quarter among 941 comparable schools. But a low aggregate ratio does not measure class size or actual individual attention. It does not guarantee small classes; it only relates institutional figures. If this matters to you, the right question to ask during the visit is very specific: how many students are in first-year classes?
Harvard also reports a broad list of structured academic opportunities: study abroad, cocurricular undergraduate research, a complete program that can be taken only during evenings or weekends, and several pathways related to teacher certification, including the possibility of completing that preparation at the same institution or at another institution, with state approval for initial certification. The fact that these opportunities are reported does not automatically explain how they operate today or whether they apply to your child's program; they serve as a starting point for questions.
Getting into Harvard: what it requires and how many succeed
This is where many families feel that the ground becomes firm, and rightly so: the numbers are tough.
Harvard does not have open admissions. Of the nine admissions considerations measured by this report—not counting standardized tests or legacy status—it marked three as required: the high school record, the personal essay, and letters of recommendation. Put simply, gathering paperwork is not enough here. The essay is required, so your child has to write, and write well.
Other components are not required, but they are considered if submitted: high school GPA, class rank, completion of the college-preparatory subjects required by the university, a portfolio or work sample, work experience, an English proficiency exam when applicable, and whether a family member previously attended. That last point—legacy status—is something your child cannot change. If it does not apply in your child's case, your family's energy is better invested in what is within their control. The undergraduate application fee is $85.
Now for the figures almost everyone wants to know first. In the 2023 cycle, Harvard received 56,937 first-time applications and offered admission to 1,965 applicants. That is 3 out of every 100. It leaves 54,972 applicants without an offer of admission. Compared with the 942 selective private schools in this census, Harvard is among those that accept the fewest applicants: nine out of ten schools in that group, or more, accepted a higher percentage of those who applied.
I want to be clear about something the figure itself does not say: this number measures how many places were offered relative to how many people requested them. It does not measure your child's worth. A low percentage does not make a school better; a high one does not make it worse. That is why it makes sense for every family to build a list that includes schools with different levels of selectivity, rather than betting everything on a single narrow doorway.
An interesting fact: of those admitted in 2023, 84 out of every 100 ultimately enrolled. It is one of the highest enrollment rates among comparable schools—in fewer than one out of ten schools in that group, a larger proportion of admitted students enrolls. But do not read it as applause for the school: the figure does not say why those students decided to enroll, and it certainly does not tell your child to sign in a hurry if an admission letter arrives. If that happens, ask that same day when the deposit is due and whether the deadline can be extended while your family waits for responses from other universities.
Regarding standardized tests: the SAT and ACT are not required at Harvard. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid. Even so, among students who enrolled, 52 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores—one of the highest submission shares among 653 comparable universities. Among those who submitted scores, the middle half scored between 740 and 780 in reading and writing, and between 760 and 800 in mathematics. But these ranges describe only those who had already enrolled and chose to submit their scores, not all applicants, and they do not prove that the score was decisive in any admission decision. That 740 is not a minimum, and that 780 does not guarantee anything.
For transfers, the picture is almost the opposite of what many families imagine: only 14 undergraduate students entered Harvard in fall 2023 after previously studying at another university. And of the cohort that entered in 2017, only 2 students transferred elsewhere without completing their degree here—so few that the official rate rounds to zero. Compared with 542 selective private schools, Harvard is on the low side for transfer departures. If your child were to consider transferring into or out of Harvard, this number says nothing about whether their credits would be accepted: that must be requested in writing, course by course, before anyone moves.
The list price and the price you would actually pay
At Harvard University, among 41 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $2,895. Among 134 students from the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $2,167; among 108 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $53,571. For dependent students, the band combines their parents' income with their own.
There is a difference of $50,676 between the average for the lowest-income band, which included 41 students, and the average for the highest-income band, which included 108 students. These are group averages, not a prediction of your family's price. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $17,900.
Among the 937 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this figure with the same period coverage, Harvard falls within the least expensive quarter for the lowest-income families after grants and scholarships are subtracted. That does not mean it will be inexpensive for your family. It is a fact that carries weight when you build the list of schools to which your child will apply.
Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, correctly identifying yours is the first step. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average with aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships. The aid letter that you receive is what matters.
How it is paid for: grants, loans, and other options
Aid that does not have to be repaid—grants and scholarships—reached 57 out of every 100 degree-seeking Harvard students. That is more than half, but not everyone. Compared with 942 selective private schools, Harvard falls within the quarter where grants and scholarships reach proportionally fewer students. Among those who did receive them, the annual average was $55,827. That is real money, but it is not a price: what determines the actual cost to your family is what remains after aid, and that must be requested in writing, school by school.
As for Pell, the federal grant for low-income families: it reached 19 out of every 100 undergraduate students.
Now for the part that often brings the most relief: in the 2022-23 year, only 5 out of every 100 Harvard undergraduate students had a federal student loan. That is very few—fewer than one in ten—and this figure is among the lowest for 942 comparable selective private schools: nine out of ten schools in that group, or more, had a higher share of students with loans. Among those who did borrow, the average amount for the year was $7,881.
But this needs to be read carefully. A student who does not appear in this count did not necessarily cover the year without difficulty: the student may have covered the difference with grant or scholarship aid, work, family savings, or another type of debt that this report does not record. And that average of $7,881 covers only one year and counts only federal loans in the student's name—it does not include Parent PLUS loans signed by parents, bank debt, or credit-card debt, and it certainly is not the total debt with which someone graduates. Calculating that would require adding together all the years, and that number is not in this report.
Harvard also reports two formal mechanisms for managing payment: a prepaid tuition plan and an installment payment plan. It is worth asking about both if cash flow, rather than the total amount, is your family's main concern.
Living there: campus, athletics, technology, and support
If your child enters the first year at Harvard as a full-time student, living on campus is not optional: the university requires it. That means the room is not an expense that can be cut from the budget—it is included from the first day, along with tuition. The maximum capacity of institution-controlled housing is 14,344 students. Meal plans are available, but the number of meals per week varies by the plan selected; it is worth asking for the exact details.
Regarding ROTC: Harvard indicated that it offers opportunities in all three branches—Army, Navy, and Air Force—as well as the Marine Corps option within Navy. Indicating all three is uncommon: of the 3,012 universities in this directory, only 135 do so. But that indication does not confirm that the program is taught on this specific campus, nor does it confirm capacity, scholarships, or requirements. Those questions should be asked directly, using the branch's name.
In athletics, Harvard competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA, not with the other associations named in the report. The figure does not identify the specific sports, teams, or divisions in which each sport competes, or whether athletic scholarships are awarded. If athletics is part of the plan, the correct approach is to write directly to the coach of that sport and request the answer in writing.
Regarding course delivery: Harvard offers distance education at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. Among undergraduates, 13 out of every 100 students took their entire course load at a distance, while 87 out of every 100 took at least one course in person. The university also reported that it offers at least one complete program that can be completed entirely at a distance, although the report does not specify whether that program is undergraduate or graduate—that must be confirmed directly for the specific program.
The library operates with paid staff, and its annual expenditures exceed the benchmark of $100,000 recorded by the government. It has physical and digital collections and participates in interlibrary lending. Exceeding that benchmark does not guarantee that specific databases are available for the field that interests your child; that should be asked using the field's name.
Reported services include combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement support for graduates, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and military families, a veterans' student organization, and a published webpage for disability services. The fact that these services are reported confirms that they exist on paper; their quality and actual scope can be learned by asking directly.
What happens to students once they enroll
This is perhaps where Harvard's numbers are most striking.
Of the cohort that entered in fall 2022—1,644 first-time, full-time students—1,621 were still enrolled or had already completed their bachelor's degree one year later: 99 out of every 100. It is among the highest retention rates for 930 comparable selective private schools. This number combines two groups—those still enrolled and those who had already graduated—without saying how many fall into each group, and it does not reveal what happened to the 23 who were outside that count.
Of the cohort that entered a bachelor's-degree program in 2017, 97 out of every 100—1,642 of 1,687—graduated within six years. It is one of the highest rates in the country among comparable schools. But look at the four-year timeframe, which is what nearly every family has actually budgeted for: the figure falls to 66 out of every 100. There is a difference of 31 points between the two timeframes. That gap does not say how many additional semesters each person attended or how much that extra time cost in tuition, rent, or forgone income. Before signing, request in writing how long the program that interests your child usually takes, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost would change if it took one more year.
At eight years, looking at the cohort that entered between July 2015 and June 2016, 98 out of every 100 had earned a Harvard degree or certificate. Among those who received a Pell Grant, the figure was 97 out of every 100—a difference of only one point. Compared with 935 selective private schools, Harvard is among those that graduate the largest share of their students within this timeframe.
None of these numbers predicts what will happen to your child in particular. They describe what happened to specific cohorts, in specific years, under conditions that are probably not identical to today's. What you can conclude with confidence is this: at Harvard, for students who manage to get in and remain enrolled, completing their degree—sooner or later—has been the norm, not the exception.
What this article cannot tell you
We do not know what happens to Harvard graduates after graduation—where they work, how much they earn, or how much debt they carry when they leave. That information requires another source, and it is not authorized here. Nor do we know whether your child would be admitted, how much your family would specifically pay, or whether the program that interests your child exists exactly as they imagine it. Those things are discovered by asking, applying, and waiting for the actual financial aid letter.
Putting the pieces together
You now know, in considerable depth, one of the three pieces your family needs to make a decision: what Harvard actually is, how it admits students, how much it costs on paper and in reality, and what has happened to its students. That piece alone does not make a plan. It is missing what your child wants to study and what your child has already built to get this far. And it is missing what your family can and is willing to pay once you have the aid letter in hand, not before.
Your child's job is to write the essay, maintain the GPA, and build their story. Your job is the FAFSA, the documents, the deadlines, and the honest conversation about the household's money. Harvard's job is to admit, deny, and offer—or not offer—enough aid. None of those three tasks is interchangeable with the others.
If Harvard ends up on your child's list, it should not be the only door. And if it does not end up on the list, it should not be because the list price scared you away before you requested the actual letter. That, at least, you now know how to do.
Source note: the information in this article comes from data reported by Harvard University to the United States Department of Education's IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), corresponding primarily to the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles, as indicated in each section. Best College Aid does not represent Harvard University or any government agency; this article organizes and explains public information that has already been reported.