College guide

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College Acceptance Rate, Admissions & Graduation

LSU: What the Map Says Before Your Child Takes the Wheel

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College at a glance

Federal data · IPEDS
Acceptance rate
74%

31,491 admitted of 42,558 applicants · first-time, degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates · fall 2023

Tuition and fees
$11,954 / $28,631

in-state / out-of-state, published price per year · full-time, first-time undergraduates · 2023–24

Average net price · family income $0–$30K
$14,035/yr

after grants and scholarships · full-time, first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates awarded Title IV federal aid, paying in-state or in-district tuition · 2022–23 · every income level

Graduation rate
68%

earned a bachelor's or equivalent degree within 6 years (150% of normal time) · adjusted 2017 bachelor's subcohort of full-time, first-time students · 2017 cohort · IPEDS 2023

SAT / ACT
Test-optional

not required; considered if submitted · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

More numbers
High school GPA
Required

how the high school GPA is used in admission · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

SAT Reading & Writing
590–670

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023 (14% submitted SAT scores)

SAT Math
560–660

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023

ACT composite (median)
26

enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted ACT scores · fall 2023

Retention rate
84%

re-enrolled at the college the next fall, full- or part-time · adjusted fall 2022 cohort of full-time, first-time bachelor's degree-seeking students · fall 2022 → fall 2023

Application fee
$50

undergraduate application fee · 2023–24

Hispanic or Latino undergraduates
10%

undergraduates · fall 2023 · describes who studies here, not the support a student will get

Source: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS. Each number shows who it counts and its year. How we use this data

There is a moment, when driving at night, when you stop seeing the road and begin to see only the green sign announcing the next exit. That sign does not tell you what the city it leads to is like. It only tells you that you can get off there.

By Francisco CantúAdmissions and financial aid counselor
3,708 words17 min readIPEDS 2022–23
In this article

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College—LSU, as you will see it written everywhere—is one of those big highway signs for thousands of families. It is in Baton Rouge, it is public, it is enormous, and it comes with numbers that can be intimidating at first glance: nearly 40,000 students, a cost of attendance exceeding $35,000 per year for Louisiana residents, and an admission rate of 74 percent. None of those numbers, by itself, tells you whether this is the right exit for your child. But together, when read carefully, they give you something worth much more than an opinion: they show you the actual ground you will be standing on when the time comes to decide.

Let’s walk through it together.

What Kind of University It Is, in Its Own Terms

Before talking about money or admission, it is worth understanding what kind of institution LSU is, because that puts everything else in order.

The Carnegie system, which is how the government and researchers classify colleges and universities in the United States according to what they do, places LSU among doctoral universities with the highest research activity. It is a large, four-year, primarily residential school: in the most recent measurement available, between 25 and 49 out of every 100 degree-seeking undergraduate students lived in institution-owned or institution-affiliated housing, and at least half attended full time. In its undergraduate profile, Carnegie places LSU in the selective-admissions group.

What does “selective” mean here? It does not mean that getting in is difficult—we will look at the exact number shortly. It means that LSU does not accept everyone who fills out a form: it reviews certain components before saying yes. Carnegie describes what a school does, using consistent rules for everyone. It does not accredit, recommend, or grade anyone. It helps you understand which schools this one resembles; you decide the rest.

LSU is in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, within East Baton Rouge Parish and the city’s metropolitan area. That does not tell you what getting from home to the classroom is like on a Tuesday at eight in the morning. If your child plans to live at home, drive that route yourself on a weekday at the exact time of your child’s classes. The time shown on the map is almost never the actual travel time.

It is a public institution offering programs of four years or more, and the highest level it reports offering is the doctorate. That is an institutional fact: it does not mean that the field your child is interested in has a path through the doctoral level. That must be verified program by program.

And there is one more label, almost administrative but worth mentioning: in the government’s official file for 2023, LSU is marked as a Land Grant Institution, a historical designation shared by only 80 of the 3,012 institutions in this census. It is neither an HBCU nor a Tribal College. That checkbox does not tell you what actual support your child will receive there—that is reflected in things with names: which student center exists, which scholarship applies, and who answers the phone in April. Ask directly.

An Enormous School, and What That Implies

If you had to describe LSU in a single word, it would be large. In the official fall count, it reported 39,418 enrolled students—the highest size category the government uses. Among the 519 selective-admission public four-year schools in this census, it is one of the largest: at most one in ten has more students.

Of those nearly 40,000 students, 32,574 are undergraduates and 6,844 are graduate students. Above all, it is a bachelor’s-degree institution.

Within that community, Latino students are a small minority: 10 out of every 100 undergraduate students. Compared with similar schools, LSU ranks above the midpoint without reaching the highest quarter. That does not remove it from your list. But it does give you a specific task: during your visit, ask what exists for Latino students—a student group, a cultural center, or someone in the office who speaks Spanish. That comparison also does not account for the part of the country where the school is located, and in Louisiana that matters.

Other outlines of this community: there are more women than men (56 out of every 100), students ages 25 to 64 are few (5 out of every 100), and slightly more than half of first-time students, 61 out of every 100, already lived in Louisiana when they applied.

Here is a truth that is not said often enough: a large school does not necessarily have large classes. Those are different things, and no one will clarify that for you without being asked. Request the actual number of students per class during the first year and in the field your child is interested in.

How the Academic Year Is Organized and How Broad the Offerings Are

LSU operates on semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. It accepts credit for AP exams, but it did not indicate that it accepts credit for life experience. It also enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program and reports accepting credit for military training.

Here is a hard truth, without cushioning it: saying that LSU accepts AP does not mean it awards credit for every exam. We do not know how many points it requires or whether those credits will count toward your child’s specific program. Ask for the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for the savings until you have it in hand.

As for what can be studied: in a single year, LSU awarded 4,839 bachelor’s degrees across 25 different academic families. The largest was business and management, with 21 out of every 100 degrees—no other family ranked above it, but it does not account for the bulk of the degrees either. Compared with similar schools, LSU falls within the quarter having the greatest variety of academic families represented in its bachelor’s-degree detail. In other words, its offerings are broad. But 25 families appearing in the report do not mean 25 guaranteed majors: an academic family groups several programs, and a row may show no degrees for that year. Verify the exact program.

And there is one number that deserves your attention: for each full-time-equivalent member of the instructional staff, LSU reports 20 full-time-equivalent students. That places it in the highest quarter among similar schools—three out of four reported a ratio equal to or lower than LSU’s. It is an aggregate figure for the entire school; it is not the size of the classroom where your child will sit. No one else will tell you if you do not ask: request the actual first-year class size.

The Paths That Already Exist Within the School

LSU reports offering study abroad, undergraduate research outside the classroom, a complete program that can be taken only during evenings or weekends, and pathways to teacher certification, including state approval for initial certification. These are doors the institution says it has open. Their being reported does not show how they work in practice or whether they apply to your child’s program; confirm that specifically with admissions or the appropriate department.

How to Get In: What Is Required, What Helps, and What Actually Happens

This is where many families become paralyzed unnecessarily. Let’s take it one piece at a time.

LSU does not have open admission: it reviews components before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations—not counting standardized tests or legacy status—it marks four as required: the high school transcript, high school GPA, letters of recommendation, and an English-proficiency exam for applicants to whom it applies. Other components are not required but are considered if submitted: class rank, the required course plan, the personal essay, work experience, and whether a relative attended the school. The undergraduate application fee is $50.

Regarding legacy status: if no one in your family attended LSU, do not spend energy worrying about it. It is something your child cannot change. Spend that energy on what is within your child’s control.

And now the number that probably interests you most: of 42,558 first-time applicants in the 2023 cycle, 31,491 were offered a place. That works out to 74 out of every 100. It is a common rate among similar schools—near the middle of the ranking, slightly below the group’s midpoint. Put plainly: LSU receives thousands of applications, and even so, 74 out of every 100 receive a yes. Your child has a real reason to apply. Your child also has the responsibility to prepare a complete application and submit it on time. That figure, however, comes from a single cycle and is not a permanent rule; check it again when it is your child’s turn.

Here is something that surprises many families: out of every 100 admitted students, only 24 enrolled. The other 76 had a yes in hand and did not accept it. Do not read that as a mark against the school—the federal record does not say why each person chose what they chose. What it does tell you, very clearly, is this: receiving an admission letter is not the same as deciding to attend. And what others decided tells you nothing about what you will be offered. Wait for your own letter showing the net price—what the year will actually cost—before deciding whether this school stays on your list.

Regarding standardized tests: the SAT and ACT are not required. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid just the same. Of those who enrolled, only 14 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores, and among them the middle half scored between 590 and 670 in reading and writing and between 560 and 660 in mathematics. Those numbers describe students who enrolled and submitted scores—not all applicants—and they do not prove that the scores determined any admission decision. That 590 is not a minimum. That 670 is not a guarantee.

And regarding transfers: in the fall of 2023, 1,033 undergraduate students arrived at LSU after previously attending another institution. That places LSU in the upper half among similar schools in terms of how many people it receives through this path. What we do not know—because the file leaves it blank—is how many LSU students leave for another institution. That does not prove that no one transfers; it only means that this specific figure was not reported.

The Money: Two Prices, and a Large Distance Between Income Bands

At Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College, among 768 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid, paid the in-state or in-district rate, and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $14,035. Among 458 students from the same population whose EFC family income was between $48,001 and $75,000, it was $21,261; among 660 students whose EFC family income exceeded $110,000, it was $26,244. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income with their own.

There is a difference of $12,209 between the average for the lowest-income band (768 students) and the average for the highest-income band (660 students). These are group averages, not a prediction of your family’s price. Among first-year students who received any scholarship or grant, the average was $21,808.

Among the 519 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this measure with the same time coverage, LSU falls within the most expensive quarter for the lowest-income families. That does not mean you should rule it out. It means you should request the financial-aid letter before deciding.

Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, identifying yours correctly comes first. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average with scholarship or grant aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional scholarships or grants. The letter that matters is the financial-aid letter sent to you.

Aid and Loans: Who Receives What, and How Much

Out of every 100 degree-seeking students at LSU, 82 received some scholarship or grant aid that does not have to be repaid. Among those who received it, the average was $12,917 per year—that average is not distributed across all students; it includes only those who actually received something.

The Pell Grant, which is federal aid specifically for low-income families, reached 29 out of every 100 students. That figure is lower than the 82 percent above, and the difference may come from non-Pell federal, state, local, or institutional aid; the report does not allow it to be attributed to a single source. When your letter arrives, separate it yourself into three piles: what does not have to be repaid, what must be repaid with interest, and what must be earned through work. Many letters mix them together in a single column, and that confusion can cost you dearly if you do not untangle it in time.

Regarding loans: 30 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan in 2022-23. Among those who borrowed, the average amount per borrower was $6,405 that year. Compared with similar schools, LSU ranks on the lower side: seven out of ten similar schools had a higher proportion of students with loans.

That average covers a single year and includes only federal loans in the student’s name. It does not include PLUS loans that parents sometimes sign for, debt from banks or credit cards, or the total debt with which someone graduates. Calculating that would require adding all the years together, and that number simply is not in this report.

This percentage describes other families, not yours. The amount your child would have to borrow comes from your child’s own financial-aid letter. Wait for that letter before ruling out the school and before committing to it.

LSU also reports offering an installment tuition-payment plan as an option for managing the cost throughout the year.

Housing, ROTC, Sports, and What Is on Campus

LSU has institution-controlled housing, and it does not require all first-time students to live there—that rules out a universal requirement, but it does not mean that no specific program has one. It also offers meal plans, with the number of meals varying according to the plan selected. The reported maximum capacity of institutional housing is 8,765 students. The existence of rooms does not guarantee an available bed; ask in writing for the year’s rate, the application deadline, and whether you are guaranteed a place or placed on a waiting list.

For those interested in the military path, LSU reports ROTC opportunities in two branches, Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. Being reported is not the same as being accepted, nor does it indicate whether the program is taken on this specific campus or another one. Ask about it by name before building a plan around it.

In sports, LSU competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA—not with any other association named in the report. It reports membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. This does not identify current teams, specific divisions, or whether a scholarship is available. The membership belongs to the school, not to your child: contact the coach of the sport your child is interested in directly.

Regarding distance education: LSU offers it at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, although only 6 out of every 100 undergraduate students take all their classes at a distance. The institution also reports offering at least one complete program that can be taken this way, although the report does not specify whether that complete program is undergraduate or graduate—confirm it directly.

The library operates with paid staff, and its annual expenditures exceeded the $100,000 threshold recorded by the government. It has physical and digital materials and participates in interlibrary lending. Exceeding that threshold does not guarantee that the specific databases needed for your child’s program are available; ask about them by program name.

As for support services, LSU reports combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students and placement services after completion, on-campus childcare, a comprehensive transition program for students with intellectual disabilities, participation in Yellow Ribbon, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and service members, a student veterans’ organization, and a published webpage for disability services. Their being reported does not establish their quality or actual effectiveness. It is a starting point for asking questions, not a fulfilled promise.

Do They Stay? Do They Graduate? The Long-Term Numbers

This is perhaps the section that should matter most to you, because it concerns what happens after your child walks through that door.

Of the cohort that entered full time in the fall of 2022—6,903 students—84 out of every 100 met the official retention criterion: they were still enrolled there or had already graduated one year later. That is a high figure compared with similar schools—it ranks near the top of the group. There was also a small cohort of 31 part-time students that same fall, and its retention was much lower, at 26 out of every 100. Do not cross those two numbers: they describe two groups of people with different circumstances, and neither proves that the mode of study caused the other outcome.

Regarding graduation: of the 4,900 full-time, first-time students who began a bachelor’s degree in 2017, 68 out of every 100 had graduated within six years. At four years, the figure falls to 46 out of every 100—22 points lower. And here is something worth saying directly: four years is the timeframe most families include in their budget. That gap of 22 points does not tell you how many semesters each person attended or how much that additional time cost. Before signing anything, ask in writing how long the program your child is interested in actually tends to take, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost changes if the path takes longer.

Compared with similar schools, that six-year graduation rate places LSU in the highest quarter: three out of four similar schools reported a proportion equal to or lower than LSU’s.

There is an even longer view, covering eight years, for a different cohort that entered between July 2015 and June 2016—7,015 students in total, including first-time students and those who already had prior college experience. As of August 2023, 69 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school. The report does not explain with certainty what happened to the rest: some remained enrolled or had moved to another institution, but the data do not allow those outcomes to be separated precisely.

And here is a figure that deserves your full attention if your family qualifies for Pell aid: among students who received Pell, 60 out of every 100 graduated within eight years, twelve points below the group that did not receive Pell. A family’s qualifying for Pell today does not determine an individual student’s outcome. But it is a question worth asking the school directly: which advisor your child will be assigned, what emergency aid exists, and whether the institutional scholarship is renewed each year. Ask for the answers in writing.

What This Map Cannot Tell You

This article does not discuss what happens after graduation—salaries, employment, or how long it takes someone to repay debt. That information is not in the data supporting this piece, and we are not going to invent it.

Nor can it tell you whether LSU is the right university for your child. That depends on three pieces, and this article has fully provided only one: who LSU really is, what it offers, and what it costs, using verified numbers. Only you have the other two—what your child wants and has built so far, and what your family can and is willing to pay.

It is your child’s responsibility to decide what to study, work hard in the classroom, write the essay, and seek out the coach or advisor. It is your responsibility to understand the money, request the financial-aid letter in writing before committing to anything, and provide support through the major decisions without carrying alone what belongs to your child. It is not your journey, nor is it your child’s alone: it is a stretch of road you will travel together, each with a hand on the wheel.

Now you know, from real numbers rather than scattered impressions, what kind of university Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is. Combine that with what your child wants and what your family can afford. The plan will come from that combination, not from this article alone.

Note on sources: The information in this article comes from official data reported by the institution to the U.S. Department of Education’s IPEDS system, corresponding primarily to the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles. Best College Aid does not represent Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College or any government agency; this article is independent informational material.

Want to understand what this means for your child?

In our free presentation we show you, step by step, how to build your child's college list and understand financial aid.

Sign up free