Let’s walk through it together, piece by piece.
What kind of school it is
Northwestern University is in Evanston, Illinois, in Cook County, within the Chicago metropolitan area. That does not mean the campus is in downtown Chicago. If your child were considering living at home, the recommendation is simple and practical: drive the route on a weekday at the exact time of your child’s classes. The actual travel time is almost never what the map says.
It is a private, nonprofit institution offering programs of four years or more. The Carnegie system—the way the government classifies universities by what they do—places it among doctoral universities with the highest research activity and within the more selective admissions group at the undergraduate level. It also reports the doctorate as the highest level it offers, although that institutional fact does not tell you whether the specific program your child is interested in exists there or whether it connects undergraduate and graduate study. That must be verified program by program.
And here is a hard truth, stated plainly: the “more selective” label does not tell you how many out of every hundred applicants get in. That is a different number, and you will see it later. Northwestern should not be the only school on your child’s list, regardless of what the rankings say.
One more note, because this sometimes causes confusion: Northwestern is not listed as a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. That does not tell you which students it serves or how your child will feel there. Ask directly which cultural centers and student organizations exist today, and speak with someone who already attends that campus.
Its actual size, and why the big number is misleading
Northwestern reported 23,203 enrolled students in the latest official count. It is a huge school: among similar selective private schools, no more than one out of ten has more students.
But here is the figure that really matters to your family if your child is entering an undergraduate program: of those 23,203, only 9,157 are undergraduates. The other 14,046 are graduate students. At this school, graduate enrollment outweighs undergraduate enrollment. If someone mentions the number “23,203” to describe the size of the undergraduate population, you now know that number includes much more than that.
Within the undergraduate population, 15 out of every 100 students were reported as Hispanic or Latino in the fall of 2023. Compared with nearly a thousand similar selective private schools, that figure is above the comparison group’s midpoint but below its highest quartile. They are not the majority, but this is not an unusual case either. The undergraduate population is almost evenly divided between men and women, with 55 out of every 100 being women. And there are almost no adult students: only 3 out of every 100 are between the ages of 25 and 64.
It is worth saying something about these comparisons: they are constructed by school type, not by state. They do not account for where in the country Northwestern is located, and that matters.
How the academic year is structured
Northwestern operates on quarters: three periods of about 12 weeks each, instead of the traditional semester. If your child ever considers transferring between this university and another one, that difference in calendars truly matters. Verify in writing how credits are recognized between the two systems, because the report does not guarantee that the dates or the methods of counting will align.
The university accepts credit for AP exams, but it did not indicate that it accepts credit for life experience. And here is an extremely valuable warning: saying that it accepts AP does not tell you what scores are required, how many credits are awarded, or whether those credits count toward your child’s specific degree program. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not include the savings in your budget until you have it in hand.
As for its academic offerings: between July 2022 and June 2023, Northwestern awarded 2,209 bachelor’s degrees across 24 distinct fields of study. No single field accounts for most of them: the largest, social sciences, represented only 18 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year. Compared with nearly a thousand similar schools, Northwestern is in the quartile with the most fields of study represented among its offerings. It offers a broad selection. But “24 fields with a row in the report” does not mean 24 specific majors or guarantee that all of them had graduates that year. Verify the exact program your child is interested in.
One figure that often draws attention is the student-to-instructional-staff ratio of 6 to 1, one of the lowest reported among similar schools. But a low ratio does not guarantee small classes. The number does not count seats in a classroom. If this matters to your family, ask directly how many students are in first-year classes.
Northwestern also reports structured opportunities: study abroad, undergraduate research, a complete program that can be taken entirely during evenings or weekends, and pathways leading to teacher certification. These are reported pathways; their exact availability for your child’s major must be confirmed directly with the university.
Getting in: what it requires, and what the acceptance figure actually means
Let’s start with the essentials: Northwestern does not have open admissions. Of nine possible considerations it reviews—not counting standardized tests or legacy status—it requires five: the high school record, completion of the college-preparatory curriculum required by the university, the personal essay, letters of recommendation, and an English proficiency exam for applicants to whom that requirement applies. Put simply: merely gathering documents is not enough here. The essay is required, so your child has to write one. The application fee is $75.
It also considers, without requiring, the high school GPA, class rank, work experience, and whether a relative attended the university. On that last point: if it does not apply to your child, do not spend energy on it. Spend it on what is within your child’s control.
Now for the figure everyone asks about first. In the 2023 cycle, Northwestern received 51,769 first-time applications and offered admission to 3,703 applicants. That is 7 out of every 100. It is among the universities that accept the smallest shares of applicants within its selective peer group: nine out of ten similar schools accepted a higher percentage of their applicants.
Behind that 7 out of every 100 are 48,066 applicants who did not receive an offer. And here is something I want to tell you very clearly: this number says how many places were offered. It says nothing about your child’s worth. A low percentage does not make a school better; a high one does not make it worse. It measures supply against demand. Make sure your child’s list has schools on both sides—some that are highly selective and some that accept most applicants.
A less widely known but useful figure: out of every 100 applicants admitted in 2023, only 57 decided to enroll at Northwestern. That is a high rate compared with similar schools—a larger share of admitted students enroll at fewer than one out of ten of those schools—but it does not measure quality or satisfaction. When admission letters from several universities arrive, this percentage is not what determines the decision. Place the letters side by side and compare net price, the degree program, and distance before the deposit deadline.
As for testing: the SAT and ACT are optional at Northwestern. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains equally valid. Among those who enrolled, 50 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores, and the middle half of that group scored between 730 and 770 in reading and writing and between 760 and 790 in mathematics. But those ranges are for students who had already enrolled, not for all applicants. That 730 is not a minimum that must be reached, and that 770 does not guarantee anything either.
As for transfers: in the fall of 2023, 237 undergraduate students arrived at Northwestern for the first time after studying at another institution. This is a count of people in the upper half compared with similar schools. What is not reported here is the transfer-out rate—how many original students transferred elsewhere—and that field is blank. This does not show that no one transfers; it simply is not included in this report.
The listed price, and why it is not your family’s price
At Northwestern University, among 70 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $1,243. Among 151 students from the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $6,485; among 406 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $48,837. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income with their own.
There is a difference of $47,594 between the average for the lowest-income band, which included 70 students, and the average for the highest-income band, which included 406 students. These are group averages, not a prediction of your family’s price. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $23,341.
Among the 937 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this figure with the same period of coverage, Northwestern falls within the least expensive quartile for the lowest-income families after grants and scholarships are subtracted. That does not mean it will be inexpensive for your family. It is a figure that matters when you build the list of schools to which your child will apply.
Because the price varies so much from one income band to another, correctly identifying yours comes first. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average with grant or scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships. The aid letter you receive is what governs your decision.
The aid that arrives, and the aid that does not
At Northwestern, 54 out of every 100 degree-seeking students receive some type of aid that does not have to be repaid—a grant or scholarship. That is more than half, but not everyone. Compared with similar schools, Northwestern is in the quartile where grants and scholarships reach fewer students. Among those who receive this aid, the annual average is $57,927.
That figure represents real money, but it is not a price. A high average among aid recipients does not mean your child’s offer will be that large. When the letter arrives, what matters is how much your family would have to pay out of pocket—and that amount, rather than the size of the discount, is what you compare across schools.
As for Pell, the federal aid for low-income families: it reaches 19 out of every 100 Northwestern students.
As for loans: in the 2022-23 school year, only 19 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal loan. Most were not awarded one that year. Among those who did borrow, the average was $5,838. Compared with similar schools, federal loans are used less here than at almost all of them.
But the fact that a student borrowed does not tell you whether the money covered the entire year or how the remaining amount was covered—additional aid, work, or family savings. And that average of $5,838 covers only federal loans in the student’s name for one year. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes sign for, bank debt, or the total debt with which a student graduates. That figure is not in this report.
Northwestern does offer an installment tuition payment plan as an institutional mechanism for managing the cost.
Campus life, athletics, and reported support services
Northwestern has institution-controlled housing with capacity for 4,488 students. Not all first-time students are required to live there, although that does not rule out the possibility that a specific program requires it. It also offers meal plans, but the number of meals per week varies by plan. The existence of housing does not guarantee a bed: request the rate, application deadline, and whether space is guaranteed or there is a waitlist in writing.
As for ROTC: Northwestern reported an opportunity with the Navy branch. Army and Air Force were not marked. If your child is interested in another branch, it is not confirmed in this report—that does not make it impossible; it only means you need to ask directly.
In athletics, Northwestern competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA. The report confirms membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field, although it does not specify the division or scholarships by sport. If athletics are part of your child’s plan, contact the coach of the team your child is interested in directly.
As for distance education: Northwestern offers such courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels, but in the fall count, zero out of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load remotely. All of them took at least one in-person class. The university does report offering at least one program in which all courses can be completed remotely, but that does not confirm that it is offered at the undergraduate level. Verify this by degree program.
The library operates with employed staff and a budget above the $100,000 threshold recorded by the government. It has physical and digital collections and participates in interlibrary lending. Exceeding that threshold does not guarantee that the specific databases needed for your child’s degree program are available—ask for them by name.
Northwestern also reports combined academic and career counseling, employment services, placement services for graduates, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program for veterans, and a published address for services for people with disabilities.
Those who stay, and those who finish
Here we come to some of the highest figures in this entire report, and also some of the easiest to misinterpret.
Of the cohort that entered in the fall of 2022, 97 out of every 100 students were still enrolled at Northwestern or had already completed their bachelor’s degree the following year. It is among the schools with the highest student retention within its selective peer group. But this figure combines two things—remaining enrolled or having already graduated—without telling you which applied to each person.
As for graduation: among students who entered Northwestern in 2017, 96 out of every 100 graduated within six years—1,822 out of 1,900. Under the four-year timeframe, the figure falls to 88 out of every 100. These are among the highest rates at similar schools.
At eight years, looking at a different cohort that entered in 2015-16, 96 out of every 100 completed a degree or certificate from this school. Among Pell Grant recipients, the figure was 93 out of every 100, four percentage points below the figure for the rest.
Now, the truth I need to tell you plainly, without softening it: these high figures describe what happened to a specific cohort at this school. They are not a promise about your child. What is within your family’s control is making sure your child enters with credits in order, knows from the first semester who the academic advisor is, and knows when registration opens for courses in the degree program.
Putting the pieces together
Northwestern University is a huge, private, research-intensive university with a quarter calendar, highly selective admissions, a high listed price, and—according to its own data—notably generous aid for the lowest-income families once grants and scholarships are applied. It is among the schools where the most students stay and where the most eventually graduate. It is also a school where most students do not rely on federal loans, although that does not tell you how the others paid for their education.
None of this tells you whether Northwestern is the right university for your child. That depends on three things only your family can bring together: what the university actually offers—which you have just learned about in detail—what your child wants to study and has built so far, and what your family can and is willing to pay.
If selectivity concerns you, remember that 7 out of every 100 does not measure your child’s worth; it measures how many places were available that year. And if admission letters from several schools arrive, compare the actual net price, not the name or prestige.
You now understand one of the pieces of this plan in depth. Put it together with the other two, and from there comes a decision that truly belongs to your family.
Source note: the information in this article comes from data reported by Northwestern University to the United States Department of Education’s IPEDS system, corresponding primarily to the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles. Best College Aid does not represent Northwestern University or any government agency; this article organizes public information to help families understand it.