Norwich University is in Northfield, Vermont, and appears in federal records as a medium-sized, private nonprofit university with selective admissions. We are going to examine it piece by piece: what it is, whom it educates, how much it costs, who gets in, who stays, and who graduates. In the end, you decide what to do with that information.
What Norwich University is, in the government’s terms
The Carnegie system, which is how the United States classifies its universities, describes Norwich University as a master’s university with larger programs. It is a medium-sized, primarily residential, four-year school: at the time of that classification, between 25 and 49 out of every 100 undergraduate students lived in institution-owned housing, and at least half studied full time. In its undergraduate profile, Carnegie places it in the selective-admissions group.
As for what it teaches: between 60 and 79 out of every 100 bachelor’s degrees it awarded were in professional fields, with the rest in arts and sciences. Pay attention to this—this does not tell you what every student is studying today, nor does it cover the school’s entire range of offerings. If your child already knows which major they want, ask about that specific major. The classification describes the institution as a whole; it does not promise anything about a particular program.
It is worth explaining here what Carnegie is and is not: it describes what a school does, using the same rules for everyone. It does not accredit, recommend, or grade. It helps you understand which schools this one resembles. You decide the rest with more information.
Where it is, and why that genuinely matters. Norwich University is in Washington County, in an area classified as rural and remote from any large urban area. This is not a decorative detail: if your family does not live nearby, you have to calculate separately where your child would live and how they would get around day to day. The official data only locates the school’s address in a rural area; it does not tell you how long it takes to drive from there to the nearest city or how isolated your child might feel. You have to ask about that directly.
What type of institution it is. It is a private, nonprofit institution offering four-year programs or higher. The federal record shows that its highest reported level extends through a post-master’s certificate and that the institution awards primarily bachelor’s degrees or higher-level credentials. A rule that you will see repeated throughout this article applies here: the fact that the institution reports graduate offerings does not mean your child’s specific major has them, or that the undergraduate and graduate programs are connected in that major. Check program by program.
And as for price: do not choose or reject it based on the listed price. We will get to that actual figure later.
What it is not. Norwich University is not classified as a historically Black college or university (HBCU), a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. These are three distinct categories with different histories, and of the 3,012 universities in this federal directory, 138 fall into at least one of the three. Norwich’s absence from that list tells you nothing about which students it serves or how your child would feel on that campus. You can learn that only by asking which organizations and cultural centers exist today and by speaking with someone who already studies there.
How many students there are and who they are
Norwich University had 3,274 students enrolled in the official fall count: 2,642 undergraduates and 632 graduate students. Above all, it is a bachelor’s-degree institution. By size, it falls within the medium-sized band of between 1,000 and 4,999 students, and compared with 941 similar selective private schools, it is on the larger side: between one and three out of every ten of those schools have more students.
Of those 3,274 students, IPEDS calculates a full-time equivalent of 2,854 students—an estimate that adds a fraction of the part-time students to those who are already full time, without measuring each person’s actual course load. And here is something worth saying directly: being large does not mean more options, and being small does not mean more attention for your child. Ask about that by major, not by the school’s total size.
As for who makes up the undergraduate population: 10 out of every 100 students are Hispanic or Latino. It is a small minority. Compared with 941 similar selective private schools, Norwich ranks above the midpoint of that group but outside the highest quartile. Put plainly: there are few Latino students here. That does not remove the school from your list, but it is a question worth bringing to a visit—what exists for Latino students, whether there is a student group or cultural center, and whether someone in the office speaks Spanish. This comparison among schools has an important limitation: it is constructed by school type, not by state, so it does not account for which part of the country Norwich is in, and that matters.
There are also more men than women among the undergraduates—out of every 100 students, 30 are women—and 19 out of every 100 are between 25 and 64 years old. The data on where incoming students came from simply was not reported for this school in this cycle. It is not there, and it should not be invented.
How academics work
The year at Norwich is organized into semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. The school reported that it accepts credit for AP exams and also what IPEDS calls credit for life experience—independent study, work experience, licenses, prior certifications, and even military training. It also enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program.
Here is a hard truth that I cannot soften: the school’s reporting that these pathways exist does not mean it will recognize the specific credit your child brings. It does not say what AP scores it requires or how many credits it awards. Ask for the transfer-credit evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for the savings until you have it in hand.
As for what students study: in the most recently reported year, Norwich awarded 731 bachelor’s degrees across 21 families of majors—what the government calls CIP families. The family with the most degrees was homeland security and law enforcement, and even so, it represented only 16 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year. Compared with 942 similar schools, Norwich is in the quartile with the most families of majors represented among its offerings. Its offerings are broad, with no single area accounting for the majority. But 21 families with a row in the report do not mean 21 guaranteed majors—a row may report zero degrees for that year. Verify the exact program your child is interested in, not the overall count.
The student-to-instructional-staff ratio is 12 to 1. Compared with schools of the same type, half or more reported that same ratio or a lower one, without Norwich reaching the highest quartile—so although the ratio is low in absolute terms, it is above the median among its peers. Both things are true at the same time. And this needs to be made clear: this ratio does not tell you the actual size of a classroom. It is an institutional calculation, not a measure of a first-year class.
Reported pathways and opportunities. Norwich reports study abroad, cocurricular undergraduate research, and pathways to teacher certification, including state approval for initial certification. Their being reported confirms that they exist as structures; it does not tell you their capacity, cost, or whether they apply to your child’s major.
Getting into Norwich: how selective it really is
Norwich University does not have open admissions. It reviews several components before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations, three are required: the high school record, high school GPA, and an English-language proficiency exam for applicants to whom it applies. Other components are not required but are considered if you submit them: class rank, the essay, letters of recommendation, and whether a family member previously attended.
On that last point—legacy—I want to be direct with you: it is something your child cannot change. If it does not apply to them, do not spend energy on it. Spend that energy on what is within their control: the record, the essay, and the letters.
The published application fee is $0.
Now, the numbers that almost always frighten people more than they should. In the 2023 cycle, Norwich received 5,157 first-year applications and offered admission to 3,796 applicants. That is 74 out of every 100—an accessible admission rate that ranks slightly above the midpoint compared with 942 similar selective private schools. Put plainly: this school receives thousands of applications, and even so, 3 out of every 4 receive a yes. Your child has a real reason to apply and also a reason to submit a complete application on time. But remember: that percentage comes from a single cycle, not a fixed rule. When it is your child’s turn, check the figure again for the relevant year.
Here is a distinction many families confuse: out of every 100 admitted students, only 15 ultimately enrolled. In other words, out of every 7 young people who receive a yes, about one decides to attend. The other six had a place and did not take it. And I want to tell you something very clearly: that is not a mark against the school. The federal record does not say why each person made their choice. What others decided tells you nothing about what the school will offer you. Wait for your own letter with the net price—that is the figure that truly matters for the decision.
As for standardized tests: the SAT and ACT are not required. If your child submits them, they are considered; if your child does not, the application remains active just the same. Of those who did enroll, only 15 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores, and among them, the middle half scored between 540 and 650 in reading and writing and between 520 and 670 in mathematics. These ranges are for students who had already enrolled and submitted scores—not for all applicants, and they do not prove that a score was used to admit anyone. That 540 is not a minimum, and that 650 does not guarantee anything.
About transfers. In the fall of 2023, 164 students arrived at Norwich after previously studying at another institution. It is a count of people that goes hand in hand with the school’s size, and it places Norwich in the upper half compared with similar schools. What we do not know—because the file is blank—is the transfer-out rate, meaning how many Norwich students transfer elsewhere. That does not mean no one transfers; it means that figure simply is not reported here.
The price: what the sticker says and what you would probably pay
At Norwich University, among 65 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $19,842. Among 66 students from the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $22,423; among 134 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $31,555. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income with their own.
The difference between the average for the lowest-income band (65 students) and the highest-income band (134 students) is $11,713. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $28,196.
$19,842 was the average net price for families in the lowest-income band in the 2022-23 academic year. That does not mean it is what your family will pay. It helps you determine whether it is worth requesting an aid letter.
None of these figures is a quote for your child. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average with grant or scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships. The figure that governs your decision is the aid letter sent to you. In the meantime, use the net price calculator on the school’s website.
The aid that arrives—and the debt that arrives too
At Norwich, 94 out of every 100 degree-seeking students receive some grant or scholarship aid that does not have to be repaid. Receiving something here is the norm, not the exception. Among those who received it, the average was $38,298 for the year—a large figure, but remember that it is an average: it includes people who received much more and people who received much less. The federal Pell Grant, reserved for low-income families, reached 25 out of every 100 students.
And here is the other side of the coin, the one that cannot be glossed over: in the 2022-23 year, 46 out of every 100 Norwich undergraduate students took out a federal student loan. That is more than four out of ten. Among those who borrowed, each took out an average of $6,489 that year. If your child borrowed a similar amount in each of the four years in the plan, the total would be around $25,956—not counting interest and not including Parent PLUS loans, bank debt, or credit cards. That calculation is made before the first signature, not at the end of the road.
Norwich also reports offering an installment tuition-payment plan as a way to manage the cost throughout the year.
Life on campus: what is reported and what you still need to ask
Norwich does have its own housing, with a reported capacity for 2,215 students in on-campus or off-campus facilities. Not all full-time students are required to live there, according to what the institution reported—but that does not tell you whether a particular program requires it. The school also offers meal plans, although the number of meals per week varies depending on the plan selected. The existence of a room does not guarantee an available bed when your child needs one: ask in writing for that year’s rate, the housing application deadline, and whether housing is guaranteed or applicants are placed on a waiting list.
As for ROTC, Norwich marked all three branches—Army, Navy, and Air Force, plus the Marine Corps option within Navy. Marking all three is uncommon: of the 3,012 universities in this directory, only 135 do so. But checking the box does not confirm that the program operates on this specific campus, how many places are available, or whether a scholarship is offered. Ask about each pathway by name.
In sports, Norwich competes in intercollegiate athletics and is affiliated with the NCAA, with reported participation in football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. This does not tell you which division each sport competes in or whether a scholarship is available—ask the coach of the sport your child is interested in directly and request the answer in writing.
As for distance education: 23 out of every 100 undergraduate students take their entire course load online; the remaining 77 out of every 100 take at least one class in person. Norwich also reports at least one complete program that can be finished at a distance—but confirm the exact level and major because the institutional data does not specify them.
The library has employed staff, physical and digital collections, and interlibrary lending—its annual expenditures exceed the $100,000 threshold recorded by the government. And among the services and support Norwich reports are combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, job placement after completing the program, participation in Yellow Ribbon, a point of contact for veterans and military service members, a veterans’ student organization, and a webpage dedicated to services for people with disabilities. Their being reported confirms their formal existence; it does not measure their quality or actual reach. Ask about that in person.
Who stays and who graduates
Here we come to one of the most important questions a family can ask, and also one of the most misunderstood.
Of the cohort that entered Norwich in the fall of 2022 as first-time, full-time, bachelor’s-degree-seeking students, 69 out of every 100 were still enrolled or had already graduated one year later. Compared with 930 similar selective private schools, Norwich ranks in the lower part of that group: seven out of ten of those schools retained a larger share. That is a truth that should not be hidden. But it also has to be stated fully: someone’s absence from that retention figure does not mean that person gave up. The source does not distinguish among those who transferred, paused their studies, or had any other reason. The data measures the outcome; it does not explain the reasons.
As for graduation: of the 680 students who entered a bachelor’s-degree program in 2017, 415 graduated from Norwich within six years—61 out of every 100. By four years, the figure had already reached 54 out of every 100, just 7 points below the full time frame, which suggests that a substantial share of those who graduate do so on time. Compared with 920 similar schools, this proportion ranks above the midpoint of the group.
An important clarification: this calculation follows only students who entered for the first time and attended full time. It does not include those who transferred in or those who began part time. If your child enters in another category, a different rate applies, and you need to request it specifically.
There is an even longer view: following a cohort that entered between July 2015 and June 2016, by the eight-year mark, 62 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from Norwich. Among those who received a Pell Grant, the figure was 60 out of every 100—a difference of just 2 points, although that does not mean the path was equally easy for both groups. Compared with 935 similar schools, this eight-year figure ranks below the midpoint of the group.
The government also reports that 29 out of every 100 members of that cohort had not received a credential from Norwich but were not clearly outside the system either—the definition of this figure has an internal contradiction in the dates it uses, so it is not possible to state precisely how many were still enrolled at that exact time. And 9 out of every 100 had an unknown enrollment status: the report simply could not determine what had happened to them. Unknown does not mean they had stopped studying elsewhere; it means the data did not arrive complete.
What this means for your plan
We have now reviewed what the United States government knows and publishes about Norwich University: a private, medium-sized, rural university with accessible admissions but demanding requirements, a high sticker price that decreases substantially with aid, a small Latino community, and graduation outcomes that rank above the median among its peers even though its first-year retention ranks below it.
None of these figures predicts what will happen to your individual child. They are averages and proportions drawn from thousands of students who are not your child. What you can do with this information is exactly what you do with a map: it does not walk for you, but it tells you where the exits are.
If your child already knows their major, ask about that specific program, not the university as a whole. If cost concerns you, do not stop at the $67,860 on the price tag—complete the FAFSA and request the aid letter before rejecting or embracing this school. If the campus’s distance complicates your family’s daily life, ask yourselves together, now, how you would handle transportation and housing. If legacy does not apply in your case, do not carry it as a concern; it is not something you can change.
You now understand one part of this decision in depth: what Norwich University truly is and offers, according to its own official data. Only you have the other two parts of the plan—what your child wants and has built, and what your family can and is willing to pay. A complete plan comes from that combination, not from this one piece alone.
Source note: the information in this article comes from IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) and reports from the United States Department of Education, primarily corresponding to the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles. Best College Aid does not represent Norwich University or any government agency; this article organizes and explains public data to help families understand it.