Seton Hill is a private nonprofit university in Greensburg, Pennsylvania, within the Pittsburgh metropolitan area. It is medium-sized, selective in its admissions, and has a very specific student community that is worth understanding before you continue. Let’s take it piece by piece.
What Kind of School It Really Is
Seton Hill is a private, four-year nonprofit institution. The federal system that classifies colleges identifies it as a master’s institution with medium-sized programs and as a “highly residential” four-year school: this means that, when those data were collected, at least half of degree-seeking undergraduates lived in housing owned by or affiliated with the institution, and at least 80 out of every 100 attended full time. In its undergraduate profile, the same classification places it in the selective-admissions group.
Here is the first thing you should know for your budget: being “highly residential” does not mean that room and board are included in tuition. They are almost never presented together in the brochure. Ask for them separately, including the meal plan, before comparing this school with any other.
Although IPEDS records the doctoral degree as the highest level the institution reports offering and classifies it as a school that primarily awards bachelor’s degrees or higher, that information is institutional: it does not tell you whether your child’s specific major exists or whether there is a path connecting that undergraduate program to a graduate program. That must be verified program by program.
And one point worth making clear from the start: Seton Hill is not recorded as a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 colleges in this federal directory, 138 do have at least one of those three designations. Seton Hill’s absence from that list says nothing about which students it serves or how your child will feel there. Ask directly which cultural centers and student organizations exist today and, better yet, speak with someone who already studies there.
Where It Is and Who Else Is in the Classroom
Seton Hill is in Greensburg, Pennsylvania, in Westmoreland County, within the Pittsburgh metropolitan area—although that does not mean the campus is in downtown Pittsburgh. Its census code places it in a suburb: within the urbanized area but outside the principal city. If your child plans to live at home, the best way to find out whether that is feasible is not to look at a map but to drive the route on a weekday at the time of your child’s classes. The actual travel time is almost never what Google Maps says.
Now, who shares the classroom with your child? Among Seton Hill undergraduates, according to the fall 2023 enrollment report, 4 out of every 100 students identified as Hispanic or Latino. That is a small number. Compared with 941 selective-admission, private four-year schools reporting these data, Seton Hill is in the bottom quarter: three out of four similar schools reported a higher share.
This does not make the school bad, just as having many Latino students would not make another school good. It is simply a fact about who is enrolled today. If your child will be one of the few, the task during the visit is to ask what exists for Latino students—a student group, a cultural center, someone in the office who speaks Spanish—and to talk with a student who is already there. The number is for the entire school; the specific major may look different.
Other features of that community: students ages 25 to 64 are a minority, at 13 out of every 100. There are more women than men—64 out of every 100 undergraduates are women. As for where incoming students came from, those data simply were not reported for this school in 2023.
As for size, Seton Hill had 1,984 students enrolled in the official fall count, placing it in the middle band, between 1,000 and 4,999, and neither among the largest nor among the smallest schools in its comparison group. Of that total, 1,597 are undergraduates and 387 are graduate students: this is primarily an undergraduate institution. Being large does not mean having more options, and being small does not mean more attention for your child. The right question is always about the specific major, not the entire school.
How the Academic Year Is Organized and How Broad the Offerings Are
Seton Hill uses a semester calendar: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. It is the standard rhythm, with consistent dates for everyone.
Something that could save you real money if you know about it in time: the institution told the government that it accepts credit for AP exams, as well as what IPEDS calls “credit for life experiences”—learning acquired through independent study, adult courses, work experience, a portfolio, licenses, certifications, or military training. It also enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program.
But reporting that it does so does not mean your child will automatically receive that credit. The report does not say what AP scores are required, how many credits are awarded, or whether those credits count toward the specific major. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not include the savings in your budget until you have it in hand.
As for academic offerings, in the most recently reported year, Seton Hill awarded 348 bachelor’s degrees across 21 academic program families. The family awarding the most degrees was health professions, accounting for 25 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year, but no other area was far behind—it has a distributed range of offerings, rather than being a school dominated by a single specialty. Compared with 942 other similar schools, it is in the quarter with the greatest variety of program families represented. Even so, “21 families with a row in the detailed data” does not mean 21 active majors, nor does it guarantee that the major your child wants has a substantial presence there. Verify the exact program.
The official student-to-faculty ratio is 13 to 1. Compared with similar schools, it is a low ratio on the overall scale, but it is above the median for its own comparison group—both things are true at the same time. And something important: this number does not tell you class sizes. It is an institution-wide ratio of students to full-time-equivalent instructional staff; it does not reveal how many students will be in your child’s first-year class.
Academic Pathways the Institution Reports Offering
Seton Hill reports offering study abroad, undergraduate research outside the classroom, a complete program that can be taken only during evenings or weekends, teacher-certification preparation below the undergraduate level, and state approval of its program for initial teacher certification. Their being reported is the first step; whether they fit what your child wants must be confirmed by asking directly about the program.
What It Takes to Get In: Requirements, Admission, and Actual Enrollment
Seton Hill does not have open admission. It reviews several components before saying yes. Of nine possible admission considerations, it identifies two as required: the high school record and, when applicable, the English-proficiency exam. Other components are not required but are considered if submitted: the high school GPA, class rank, college-preparatory course sequence, personal essay, and letters of recommendation.
If your child studied outside the United States or attended high school in Spanish, ask now whether the English-proficiency exam applies and what would provide an exemption. This is one of those things families discover late, making everything more complicated.
The published undergraduate application fee is $0.
Now, the numbers that truly show how accessible admission is. In the 2023 cycle, Seton Hill received 2,441 first-time applications and offered admission to 1,850 applicants. That is 76 out of every 100—among the 942 selective private schools in this census, it is a common rate, slightly above the midpoint of the group. Seven or eight out of every ten applicants receive a yes. That does not make admission automatic, but it does give your child a real reason to apply and not to leave the application until the last minute. Remember: this figure comes from a single cycle, not a fixed rule. When it is your child’s turn, check the number again for the relevant year.
Here is a figure that often confuses families: out of every 100 admitted students, only 17 ultimately enrolled at Seton Hill that fall. In other words, out of every six who receive a yes, about one ends up attending. The others had a place and did not take it. Do not read this as a blemish—the federal record does not say why each person made that decision, and it is a typical percentage among similar schools. What does matter is this: other people’s decisions tell you nothing about what the school will offer you. Wait for your letter showing the net price—that is what the year will actually cost, and that is the number you use to decide whether the school stays on your list.
As for standardized tests, the SAT and ACT are not required at Seton Hill. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains active just the same. Among those who did enroll, 40 out of every 100 submitted an SAT score—a high rate compared with similar schools. Among those who submitted scores, the middle half scored between 540 and 640 in reading and writing and between 530 and 630 in mathematics. Be careful: those ranges describe students who had already enrolled, not all applicants, and they do not prove that the scores were used to admit anyone. That 540 is not a minimum, and that 640 does not guarantee anything.
As for transfers, among the bachelor’s-degree-seeking cohort that entered in 2017, 22 out of every 100 transferred and enrolled at another school without completing a degree at Seton Hill. Transferring is not failing. But it is still helpful for your child to know in advance how to request the records needed to leave, should that become necessary. Separately, in fall 2023, 61 new transfer students arrived from other institutions—this figure does not say how many courses were accepted; ask for that in writing, with the course list in hand, before moving your child.
The Sticker Price and What Each Family Actually Pays
At Seton Hill University, among 40 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $14,651. Among 49 students from the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $18,474; among 127 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $28,577. For dependent students, the income band combines their parents’ income with their own.
There is a difference of $13,926 between the average for the lowest-income band, based on 40 students, and the average for the highest-income band, based on 127 students. These are group averages, not a prediction of your family’s price. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $23,732.
$14,651 was the average net price for families in the lowest-income band in academic year 2022-23. That does not mean it is what your family will pay. It helps you determine whether it is worth requesting the aid letter.
Because the price varies so much from one income band to another, identifying yours correctly is the first step. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average for students receiving aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships. The aid letter sent to you is what matters.
The Aid Offered and the Debt Accumulated
At Seton Hill, 96 out of every 100 degree-seeking students receive a grant or scholarship that does not have to be repaid. Receiving something here is the norm, not the exception. Among recipients, the average is $26,702 per year—a high figure, but remember: it is an average. It includes people who received much more and people who received much less. It is not your offer; it is only a reference point.
The Pell Grant, which is federal aid for low-income families, reached 30 out of every 100 students.
Now for the loans, which are worth examining without blinking. Out of every 100 undergraduates, 71 received a federal student loan in the 2022–23 year—the majority, and a high share compared with similar schools. Borrowers took out an average of $6,677 that year. If your child borrowed a similar amount in each of the four years of the degree program, the total would be around $26,708, not including interest.
Financing with debt is common here. That does not determine whether your child will need it—the answer depends on the aid letter and the difference between the net price and what the family can contribute. But it does mean that the full calculation must be done before signing anything, not afterward. And be careful: that average covers only federal loans in the student’s name. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes end up signing for, bank debt, or credit-card debt. Nor is it the total debt a student has upon graduation—to calculate that, you would have to add all four years, and that number is not in this report.
Seton Hill also reports an installment tuition-payment plan and participation in a Promise program as additional options for managing costs.
Campus Life, Athletics, Learning Formats, and Support
Seton Hill has its own housing and does not require all full-time students to live there—although that does not rule out such a requirement for a specific program. It also offers meal plans, with the number of meals varying by plan. The reported maximum housing capacity is 880 students. The existence of housing does not guarantee that a bed will be available for your child: request the year’s rate, the housing application deadline, and whether housing is guaranteed or has a waitlist in writing.
As for ROTC, in its most recent report, Seton Hill did not mark any ROTC opportunity, either in the general field or for any specific branch. Of the 1,786 four-year institutions in this guide, 926 did mark it; this school was not among them. That does not prove that no nearby option exists—it means only that one was not reported in this field. If that scholarship matters to your family, ask admissions directly before assuming it is unavailable.
In athletics, Seton Hill competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA, not with other associations. It reports membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track. This does not identify current teams, the division for each sport, or whether athletic scholarships are offered. If athletics matter, write directly to the coach and request a written response.
As for learning format, Seton Hill offers distance education at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Out of every 100 undergraduates, 12 took their entire course load at a distance, and 88 had at least one in-person class. The institution also reported having at least one complete program that can be completed at a distance, although that information does not confirm the level or the specific major—that must be confirmed directly.
The library has employed staff, annual expenditures above the threshold tracked by the government, physical and digital collections, and interlibrary lending. Exceeding that threshold does not guarantee that it has databases specific to your child’s major—ask using the major’s name.
Reported services include combined academic and career counseling, employment assistance for current students, placement services after program completion, participation in the Yellow Ribbon Program for veterans, a point of contact for military families, and a web address for services for people with disabilities.
Who Stays and Who Completes the Degree
Now for the numbers that probably matter most to you: do students stay? Do they graduate?
Of the bachelor’s-degree-seeking cohort that entered in fall 2022, 384 students started and 308 met the official retention criterion—they were still enrolled there or had already completed the bachelor’s degree one year later. That is 80 out of every 100. Compared with similar schools, the figure is slightly above the midpoint of the group: neither among the best nor among the worst. What this number does not tell you is what happened to the other 20%, and not returning does not always mean abandoning one’s studies—someone who transferred and continues studying elsewhere is counted the same as someone who left school entirely.
As for graduation, of the 424 full-time, bachelor’s-degree-seeking students who entered in 2017, 301 graduated within six years. That is 71 out of every 100—placing Seton Hill in the highest quarter among similar selective private schools. Within the four-year timeframe, the figure falls to 61 out of every 100.
Of those 424 students, 301 completed their degrees here, 92 transferred to another institution without completing at Seton Hill, 1 student remained enrolled without having completed the degree, and 30 fell into the federal “no longer enrolled” category—which does not state the reason and may include people who graduated after the official timeframe.
A high number is not a promise for your particular child. It is what happened to the 2017 cohort. What is within your control is making sure your child enters with credits in order and knows, from the first semester, who the advisor is and when registration opens for courses in the major.
There is a third, broader indicator: out of a cohort of 541 students who entered between July 2015 and June 2016—including full-time and part-time students, both first-time students and those with prior experience—66 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from Seton Hill after eight years. Among Pell Grant recipients, the figure was 60 out of every 100, nine points below the figure for nonrecipients. Compared with similar schools, it is above the group median. If your family would qualify for Pell, it is worth asking the school exactly what is available for those students: an assigned advisor, emergency aid, and whether the institutional scholarship renews every year. Ask for the answer in writing.
What You Now Know and What Is Still Yours to Decide
You now know Seton Hill in greater depth than very few families achieve before applying: you know what kind of school it is, who makes up its community, how much it costs on paper and how much it has cost in practice for families with incomes similar to yours, how accessible admission is, how many students stay, and how many graduate.
This is one piece of the map, not the entire map. The university is responsible for admitting students, offering aid, and sustaining its programs. Your child is responsible for deciding what to study, working hard, and finding a place within the school. You are responsible for what you have always been responsible for: understanding the family’s finances, requesting the aid letter in writing, verifying what remains an open question here—credits, housing, specific scholarships—and supporting the decision without carrying it alone or placing all of it on your child’s shoulders.
If you live nearby and the commute works, that changes the housing calculation. If the specific major that interests your child is among those represented in its broad range of offerings, it is worth confirming it by its exact name. If your child attended high school outside the United States, the English exam should be one of the subjects of your first calls.
Combine what you learned here with what your child wants to study, what your child has already built in high school, and what your family can truly afford. A plan emerges from that combination—not from a single article or a single number.
The information in this article comes from IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) and reports from the United States Department of Education, primarily from the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 cycles, as indicated for each figure. Best College Aid does not represent Seton Hill University or any government agency; this article is not a substitute for the admission and financial-aid letter the university sends directly to your family.