I am not going to tell you whether this university is “the right one” for your child. An article cannot decide that; your family decides, based on what your child wants to study, what your child has already built, and what you can afford. What I can do is show you, with complete clarity, exactly what this university is according to the official data that the United States government collects from it. That is the first piece of the map. Let’s go through it together.
What kind of university it is, and where it stands
South Dakota State University is a four-year public university. The federal system that classifies colleges in this country places it among doctoral institutions with high research activity and reports that a doctorate is the highest degree level it offers. That does not mean every major goes that far: it is a description of the institution as a whole, not a map of every program. If your child’s major has a path to graduate study, you need to verify that directly with the school.
It is also designated, in the official 2023 file, as a Land Grant Institution: a historic designation shared by only 80 of the 3,012 institutions recorded in that census. It is a real label, but it is not a verdict on quality or warmth. It does not tell you how much actual support your child will have there. You see that in things with names: what student center exists, what scholarship applies, who answers the phone in April.
Geographically, South Dakota State is in Brookings, South Dakota, in an area classified as a remote town, far from any large urban area. And here is something worth emphasizing before we continue: the Carnegie classification describes it as highly residential. That means that, at the time of that report, at least half of degree-seeking undergraduate students lived in university-owned or university-affiliated housing, and at least 80 out of every 100 studied full time. And here is the simple truth that many families discover too late: the cost of living on campus is almost never included with tuition in the glossy brochure. It is charged separately, and you need to request it separately —including the meal plan— before comparing this school with any other.
A large community, and a very small Latino community
South Dakota State reported an enrollment of 11,498 students in the most recent fall. It is a large school: the government places it in the band between 10,000 and 19,999 students, a size that falls right in the middle of the table when compared with similar selective public schools. Of that total, 10,177 are undergraduates and 1,321 are graduate students — it is, above all, a school centered on bachelor’s degree study.
But the size of the school does not tell you the size of its classes. Ask for that separately: how many students are in first-year classes and in the specific major that interests your child.
Now, one number that I do want you to stop and examine carefully. Among South Dakota State undergraduates, 3 out of every 100 students were reported as Hispanic or Latino. That is a low figure — among the lowest of the 519 selective public schools of this type that were compared: nine out of ten of those schools reported a larger proportion of Latino students.
I am not going to soften this for you, nor am I going to sell it to you as a warning sign. The figure counts who is enrolled, and nothing more. It does not make the school bad, and the reverse would not make it good. But if your child is going to be one of the few, the question your family needs to ask is concrete: what student group exists, whether there is a cultural center, whether anyone in the office speaks Spanish, and —most useful of all— whether your child can speak with a Latino student who is already there before deciding. The number is for the entire school; it may look different in your child’s specific major.
Two other pieces of context: there are more women than men among undergraduates (56 out of every 100), and students ages 25 to 64 are a minority, just 6 out of every 100. If your child is going straight from high school, your child will be in the majority. If your family was considering this path for an adult returning to school, this is something worth keeping in mind.
How the academic year works, and how broad the offerings are
The calendar here follows semesters: two long terms, about 15 weeks each. Nothing unusual, just the standard structure that most families already know.
The university stated that it recognizes credit through two routes: AP exams and what IPEDS calls “credit for life experiences” —independent study, work experience, licenses, prior certifications, among other things—. It also reports that it accepts credit for military training and enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program.
Here is a hard truth that applies at almost any university and is worth its weight in gold to repeat: saying that they accept AP does not mean they grant credit for every exam. They do not specify how many points they require, how many credits they award, or whether those credits count toward your child’s specific major. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for the savings until you have it in hand.
As for what can be studied: between July 2022 and June 2023, the university awarded 1,824 bachelor’s degrees across 25 academic program families. The largest family was health professions, accounting for 22 out of every 100 degrees that year — the strongest, but without crowding out the rest. Compared with similar schools, South Dakota State falls within the quarter with the greatest variety of program families represented in its offerings. Its offerings are broad, not concentrated in a single field. Still, 25 families represented in the report do not equal 25 complete majors or guarantee that the exact major your child wants is available there under that name. Verify the specific program.
As for how many faculty members there are per student: the reported ratio is 17 students for every full-time-equivalent faculty member. It falls in the middle, neither among the lowest nor among the highest figures at comparable schools. And here is an important clarification: this ratio does not tell you the actual size of a classroom. It is an institutional average, not a direct measure of how many students are seated in front of the board during the first semester.
Pathways and opportunities the university reports offering
South Dakota State states that it offers several structured pathways worth knowing about if they apply to your child’s interests: study-abroad programs, undergraduate research as a cocurricular activity, developmental education with and without credit, and pathways to teacher certification, including the possibility of completing certain teacher preparation there or at another institution, with state approval for initial certification.
The university’s reporting that it has these pathways is a starting point, not a promise that your child will qualify or an explanation of exactly how they work. If any of these are of interest, ask admissions about the specific program by name.
Getting in: what the university requires, and how selective it really is
Let’s begin with the most practical point: the undergraduate application fee is $20.
South Dakota State stated that it does not have open admissions —meaning it reviews specific components before saying yes—. Of the nine possible considerations covered by this report, it marked five as required: the high school transcript, high school GPA, your child’s class rank, completion of the college-preparatory course plan required by the university, and an English proficiency exam for applicants to whom it applies. The personal essay and letters of recommendation are not required, but they are considered if submitted.
If your child studied outside the United States or attended high school in Spanish, ask today whether the English proficiency exam applies and what would qualify your child for an exemption. This is one of those things families discover late, when there is no longer enough time to resolve it comfortably.
And now the figure that probably interests you most: how difficult it is to get in. In the most recent report, South Dakota State received 5,884 first-time applications and offered admission to 5,808 applicants. That is 99 out of every 100 applicants admitted. It is among the universities with the highest acceptance rates of the 519 selective public schools compared in this census — at least nine out of ten of those schools admit an equal or smaller percentage.
To put it plainly: almost everyone who applies here gets in. Your child’s energy is better spent meeting the deadline and completing the application file properly than worrying about “competing” for a spot.
But —and this matters just as much as the previous number— being easy to get into does not mean it is inexpensive or that most students finish the program. Before deciding, you need to look at the net price and the graduation rate. Those two calculations carry more weight than admission, and we will look at them shortly.
One related and interesting fact: out of every 100 students the university admitted, only 39 ultimately enrolled there. The other 61 had an acceptance letter in hand and still chose another school. That is a high proportion compared with similar schools. This does not measure how difficult it is to get in —we have already seen that—; it measures what other families decided after receiving an offer of admission. It says nothing about quality or satisfaction. When your child’s admission letters arrive, this number is not what decides the matter: put the letters side by side and compare net price, major, and distance before the deposit deadline.
Regarding standardized tests: the SAT and ACT are not required here. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application proceeds normally. In practice, almost no one submits them: only 2 out of every 100 enrolled students submitted SAT scores, one of the lowest proportions among comparable schools. Among those who did submit them, the middle half scored between 520 and 640 in reading and writing and between 520 and 660 in mathematics. Keep in mind: those ranges describe students who had already enrolled, not everyone who applied, and they do not prove that the score was used to admit anyone. That 520 is not a minimum your child must reach, and that 640 does not guarantee anything either.
Regarding transfers: in the fall of 2023, the university reported 388 undergraduate students who arrived for the first time after studying at another institution. That is a count of people, not a proportion, and it falls in the lower half compared with similar schools. What is not reported here is the outcome: how many credits are recognized for incoming transfer students is a question to ask the school directly because the file does not provide it.
The sticker price, and why it is not the final bill
At South Dakota State University, among 108 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and paid the in-state or in-district rate and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $12,517. Among 136 students in the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $17,811; among 440 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $20,048. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income with their own.
The difference between the average for the lowest-income band (108 students) and the highest-income band (440 students) is $7,531. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $18,233.
$12,517 was the average net price for families in the lowest-income band during the 2022-23 academic year. That does not mean it is what your family will pay. It helps you determine whether it is worth requesting the financial aid letter.
The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average for students receiving grant or scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask about it before applying.
How it is paid for: aid, grants, scholarships, and loans
At South Dakota State, 73 out of every 100 degree-seeking students received some form of aid that does not have to be repaid —grants or scholarships—, averaging $6,031 per year among recipients. That is more than half, but not everyone.
The Pell Grant —federal aid specifically for low-income families— reached only 18 out of every 100 students. That means most of the aid that does reach students comes from other sources: institutional, state, or other federal programs. The fact that Pell appears infrequently does not mean there is no place here for families like yours: this figure counts those who are already enrolled, not those who might qualify. Ask the financial aid office directly what a family with your income would receive, and request that example in writing.
Now for the loan portion, and here I want to be clear without dressing anything up: during the 2022-23 school year, 46 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan — more than four out of ten. Compared with similar selective public schools, this proportion is on the high side: seven out of ten of those schools had an equal or smaller proportion.
Among those who borrowed, each received an average of $6,482 that year. If your child borrowed a similar amount each year during the typical four years of the program, the total would be around $25,928, not including interest. That number is decided before the first signature, not at the end of the road.
And a necessary clarification: that average covers only federal loans taken out in the student’s name during one year. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes end up signing for, debt from private banks, or credit cards. Nor is it the total debt with which someone graduates —that would require adding all the years together, and that number is not in this report.
Financing with some debt is common here. The figure that truly matters is not the percentage of other families — it is your own child’s financial aid letter. Wait for it before ruling out the school, and wait for it before committing to the school as well.
Finally, the university reports offering an installment tuition payment plan and participation in a Promise-type program. It is worth asking for details about both if monthly cash flow is a real concern for your family.
Campus life: housing, ROTC, sports, the library, and support services
South Dakota State does have institution-owned housing, with a reported capacity of 4,499 students, either on or off campus. The university clarified that not all first-time, full-time students are required to live there — but that does not rule out a requirement for a specific program. It also offers meal plans, although the number of meals per week varies by the plan selected. Before removing room and board from the family budget, request the current rate, the housing application deadline, and whether a place is guaranteed or your child will be placed on a waiting list, all in writing.
Regarding ROTC: the university indicated that it does offer this pathway in two specific branches — Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. Its being marked does not automatically mean the program is taught on this campus itself; nor does it specify capacity, scholarships, or requirements. If your child is interested in this pathway, ask about the specific program by name before building a plan around it.
In sports, South Dakota State competes in intercollegiate athletics and is affiliated with the NCAA — not with other associations. It reports membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track. But this membership belongs to the school; it is not a promise to your child. If your child is interested in competing, write directly to the coach of the specific sport, ask whether there is a place on the team, which division it competes in, and whether that sport offers athletic scholarships. Get the answer in writing.
Regarding distance learning: the university does offer distance education at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Out of every 100 undergraduate students, 18 took their entire course load fully online, and 82 took at least one in-person class. It also reports having at least one complete program that can be finished entirely through distance education — although the report does not specify whether that particular program is undergraduate or graduate. Confirm the level and exact major if this is relevant to your family.
The library operates with paid staff, has physical and digital materials, and offers interlibrary loans — its annual expenditures exceeded the threshold the government uses to consider it a library with substantial operations. What the data do not say is its exact hours or whether someone is available to guide your child through research. Ask directly.
Finally, the university reports having combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement services upon program completion, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and military service members, a student veterans’ organization, and a published webpage for disability services. The fact that these services are reported confirms that they exist on paper — it does not measure their quality or how easy they are to access. That, like almost everything else on this list, is verified by speaking with someone there.
The numbers that truly predict whether your child will finish
We have reached the part that, if I had to choose just one section for you to read twice, would be this one.
Retention: among students who entered for the first time, full time, in 2022, 83 out of every 100 were still enrolled or had already graduated one year later. That is a high figure compared with similar schools — most similar schools retain fewer students. Among part-time students, that figure falls to 53 out of every 100, but these are different groups that should not be compared with each other as though they measured the same thing.
Graduation: here is the number that carries the most weight in a family’s actual decision. Of the 2,163 students who entered a bachelor’s degree program in 2017, full time and for the first time, 1,274 had graduated within six years. That is 59 out of every 100. At four years —the timeframe most families have in their budget— the figure falls to 42 out of every 100. There is a difference of 17 points between the fourth and sixth years.
The data do not say how many semesters each person attended and do not report tuition, rent, or wages. We do not know how many additional semesters each person attended or how much they cost, but the gap exists and needs to be planned for. Before signing anything, request in writing how long the program that interests your child usually takes in practice, how required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost would change if the path takes longer.
Compared with similar schools, this six-year graduation rate is above the group median.
At eight years, with a longer window and a different cohort (students who entered between 2015 and 2016, with full-time and part-time students combined): 58 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school. Among Pell Grant recipients, that figure falls to 48 out of every 100 — thirteen points lower than among students who did not receive Pell. The report does not explain why that difference exists. If your family would qualify for Pell, this is reason enough to ask the school, very frankly, what concrete support exists for those students: whether they have an assigned counselor, whether emergency aid is available, and whether the institutional scholarship is renewed every year. And request the answer in writing.
How to fit all of this into your plan
You now know, in considerable depth, one of the three pieces of the map: what South Dakota State University really is, according to its own reports to the federal government. It is a large public university in a remote South Dakota town that rejects almost no one at the door but does require specific application components; that costs relatively little compared with similar schools but where financing with loans is common; that retains its full-time students well and graduates just under six out of ten within six years; and where the Latino community is currently very small.
None of these facts, by itself, decides anything for you. Combine them with what your child wants to study, what your child has already built in high school, and what your family can and is willing to pay. A real plan comes from that combination —not from one number or one brochure.
Your child’s job is to investigate the program, write the essay, and ask questions about the major. Your job is the money, the dates, the financial aid letter, and asking uncomfortable questions before they become expensive surprises. Neither of you travels the road alone.
The information in this article comes from South Dakota State University’s official reports to the United States Department of Education’s IPEDS system, corresponding primarily to the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles, as indicated in each section. Best College Aid does not represent South Dakota State University or the United States government, and this piece is not a substitute for direct verification with the university’s admissions and financial aid offices.