That is what we are going to do here with University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. I am not going to tell you whether it is “the right one” for your child. That is not my call, and it is not these data’s call either. What I can do is put in front of you what the federal government and the university itself report, translated into language that does not require you to learn IPEDS acronyms to make an informed decision.
What kind of university it is, at its core
Arkansas is classified within the group of universities with the highest research activity in the Carnegie system, the organization that sorts U.S. schools according to what they do. That places it among institutions that produce research on a large scale, not among small colleges focused only on teaching.
At the same time, according to data from 2019-20, it is a large, primarily residential four-year school: between 25 and 49 out of every 100 degree-seeking undergraduate students lived in institution-provided housing, and at least half studied full time. In its undergraduate profile, Carnegie identifies it as a selective-admission school. More generally, it places it within the family of doctoral universities, a broad category that brings together schools that differ from one another and that, by itself, does not tell you how much research a first-year student will actually encounter.
Think of Carnegie as a specification sheet, not a rating. It does not accredit, recommend, or assign a grade. It tells you which schools this one resembles so that you can decide using the rest of the information.
Physically, it is in Fayetteville, Arkansas, in Washington County, in the Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers metropolitan area. That does not mean the campus is right in the middle of the city. If your child is considering living at home, the recommendation is simple and practical: drive the route yourself on a weekday, at the actual time of their classes. The map almost never tells the truth about traffic.
It is a public four-year institution, and the highest level it reports offering is the doctorate. That is a general institutional fact: it does not mean that the specific major your child is interested in has an undergraduate-to-graduate connection. That must be checked program by program. And because it is public, the first number you need is not the one that appears in any ranking, but which rate they will charge you: in-state or out-of-state. Compare prices only after you have a clear answer.
The official 2023 file also identifies it as a Land Grant Institution, a historical designation it shares with 80 other institutions among the 3,012 in this census. It does not indicate which programs it offers today, what they cost, or what a student’s real experience there is like. Do not read it as a quality verdict; the real support for your child is measured in things with specific names: which student center exists, which scholarship applies, who answers the phone in April.
The size of the community your child would enter
Arkansas is large. In the official fall count, it reported 32,140 enrolled students, placing it in the highest band the government uses to measure enrollment: 20,000 students or more. Compared with the 519 selective public schools in this census, it falls on the large side: only between one and three out of every ten have more students than it does.
Of that total, 27,472 are undergraduates and 4,668 are graduate students. It is, above all, a bachelor’s-degree institution. IPEDS also estimates within that enrollment a full-time equivalent of 28,782 students (a figure that combines full-time students with an estimated fraction of part-time students, not each person’s actual course load), and reports 6,290 first-time, full-time, degree-seeking students: that specific group does not represent the entire class that enters each year.
The fact that the school is large says nothing by itself about class size. You need to ask that directly: how many students are in first-year classes, and how many are in the specific major your child is interested in.
And who makes up that community? Of undergraduate students in fall 2023, 11 out of every 100 are Hispanic or Latino. It is a small minority, although compared with similar schools it falls above the middle of the group, without reaching the highest quarter. Students ages 25 to 64 are also a minority: 7 out of every 100. There are more women than men, 56 out of every 100. And something worth emphasizing: fewer than half of first-time students, 47 out of every 100, had permanent residence in Arkansas. The rest come from other states, from abroad, or their residence was not reported clearly.
If Latinos are few on your radar, that alone does not rule out the school. But it does give you a concrete question for the visit: what exists there for Latino students, such as a student group, cultural center, or someone in the office who speaks Spanish. And if your child comes from out of state, it is wise to review the full cost of attendance and build your budget using actual travel, because IPEDS includes a general transportation estimate within “other expenses,” but does not break out flights or moving costs.
Academics: the calendar, majors, and who teaches
The year is organized by semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. The university reported that it accepts AP exam credit, but did not indicate that it grants credit for life experience. It also stated that it enrolls high school students in college-credit courses outside a formal dual-enrollment program, treating them as regular students in those courses, and that it accepts credit for military training.
Here is an important limitation: accepting AP does not mean they will give you credit for every exam. They do not specify what scores they require or how many credits they award, nor whether those credits count toward your child’s exact major. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for those savings until you have it in hand.
In a single year, the university awarded 4,751 bachelor’s degrees, distributed across 24 career families (what IPEDS calls CIP families). The family that awarded the most degrees was business and administration, with 29 out of every 100 degrees that year, but no other family took the bulk: it is a broad offering, not a concentrated one. Compared with similar schools, it falls in the quarter with the most career families represented in its bachelor’s-degree detail. Keep in mind: 24 families with a row in the report are not 24 majors with active students; one family can group several programs, and a row may report zero degrees. Verify the exact program your child is interested in, by name.
As for who teaches: the reported ratio is 20 full-time-equivalent students for every full-time-equivalent faculty member. Compared with similar schools, that puts it in the highest quarter: three out of every four similar schools reported the same ratio or a lower one. It is an aggregate number, not class size. It does not tell you how a professor’s time is divided among research, teaching, and advising. Also request the average first-year class size.
The structured paths that already exist
The university reports having among its academic paths: study abroad, cocurricular undergraduate research, noncredit developmental education, preparation for teacher certification below the postsecondary level, the ability to complete preparation there in certain teaching specialties, and state approval of the program for initial teacher certification. These are paths that exist in the institutional record; how accessible they are for your particular child must be confirmed directly with the program.
What getting in is like: admission, testing, and transfer
Arkansas does not have open admission. There are elements it reviews before saying yes. Of the nine considerations this report evaluates, excluding admission tests and legacy, it marked only two as required: the high school transcript and high school grade-point average. Other elements are not required, but if you send them, it takes them into account: your child’s class rank, whether they completed the course plan the university requires, the personal essay, English-proficiency testing when applicable, and whether someone in the family attended there. The undergraduate application fee is $40.
Regarding legacy: if no one in your family attended there, do not spend energy worrying about it. Spend it on what is actually in your child’s hands.
Now the figure almost everyone asks about first: in the 2023 cycle, of 28,186 first-time applicants, 20,202 received an offer of admission. That is 72 out of every 100. Compared with similar selective public schools, it falls on the less-selective side: seven out of every ten schools in that group, or more, admitted a higher percentage of applicants. Viewed the other way, many did not get in: 7,984 applicants did not receive an offer.
With thousands of applicants and still 72 out of every 100 admitted, your child has a real reason to apply, and also a reason to put together a complete application on time. But remember: that 72 is from one cycle, not a fixed rule of the institution. When it is your child’s turn, check the number for the year that applies to them again.
Now, something different: how many admitted students decide to enroll. Out of every 100 students admitted for the first year of 2023, only 31 ultimately enrolled there. The other 69 had the letter in hand and chose somewhere else. Compared with similar schools, this puts it on the high side: at most of those schools, a smaller proportion of admitted students enroll. This number does not measure how hard it is to get in, quality, or satisfaction. When your child’s admission letters arrive, this figure does not decide anything: put the letters next to one another and compare net price, major, and distance before deposit day.
Regarding tests: the SAT and ACT are not required. If your child sends them, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid just the same. Among those who enrolled, 28 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores, and the middle half of that group scored between 530 and 620 in reading and writing, and between 520 and 600 in mathematics. Those ranges describe only those who submitted a score and enrolled, not all applicants. The 530 is not a minimum your child needs to reach, and the 620 is not a guarantee of anything either.
Regarding transfer: in fall 2023, 1,319 undergraduate students entered Arkansas for the first time after studying at another institution. It is a count of people who arrived, which places it in the upper half compared with similar schools, but it does not include a departure rate: how many students who entered here later transferred elsewhere is not reported in this file. A blank datum does not mean that no one transfers; it means this specific question has no answer here. And how many credits your child would receive if they transferred in must be asked directly of the school.
Cost: what the sticker says and what your family may pay
At University of Arkansas, among 318 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid, paid the in-state or district rate, and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $13,017. Among 247 students from the same population with family EFC income of $48,001 to $75,000, it was $17,379; among 457 students with family EFC income above $110,000, it was $20,991. For dependent students, the band adds their parents’ income and their own.
The difference between the average for the lower-income band (318 students) and that for the higher-income band (457 students) is $7,974. Among first-year students who received any scholarship, the average was $17,475.
Among the 519 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this figure with the same time coverage, this one falls in the most expensive quarter for lower-income families. That does not mean it should be ruled out. It means you need to request the aid letter before deciding.
The income bands on this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or district rate. The overall average with scholarships, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional scholarships or grants; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask before applying.
How it is paid for: scholarships, loans, and options
Aid that does not have to be repaid—scholarships and grants—went to 52 out of every 100 degree-seeking students. That is more than half, but not everyone. Compared with similar schools, it falls in the quarter where scholarships reach fewer students; among those who did receive them, the annual average was $8,740.
The Pell Grant, the federal aid specifically for low-income families, went to only 17 out of every 100 students. The fact that Pell appears infrequently does not mean families like yours do not belong here: that figure counts people who are already enrolled, not those who might be admitted. Ask the financial-aid office directly what a family with your income would receive, and request that example in writing.
Regarding loans: 34 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal loan in 2022-23. Of those who borrowed, each received an average of $6,389 that year. Compared with similar schools, this proportion is common, around the middle of the table. This number does not include loans parents sign for, Parent PLUS, nor debt from banks or credit cards, and it is not the total debt with which a student graduates: that would require adding all years, and that number is not in this report.
This percentage describes other families, not yours. What your child would need to borrow comes from their own financial-aid letter. Wait for that letter before ruling out the school and before committing to it.
The university also reports specific payment mechanisms: a tuition installment payment plan and participation in a Promise program. It is worth asking by name what requirements each has.
Campus life: housing, ROTC, sports, library, and support
Arkansas does have its own housing, and it does not require all full-time, first-time students to live there. That does not mean no specific program has that requirement; ask. It offers meal plans, and in the largest one the number of meals per week is fixed. IPEDS reports a maximum institution-controlled housing capacity of 6,900 students. Having rooms does not guarantee a bed will be available for your child: request in writing the rate for the year, the application deadline, and whether they guarantee a space or use a waiting list.
There is an opportunity for ROTC in two branches: Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. Being marked in the report is not the same as being accepted into the program, nor does it state capacity or scholarship availability. Ask that directly before building a plan around ROTC.
It competes in intercollegiate sports and is affiliated with the NCAA. The report does not identify teams, seasons, or current divisions by sport, although it does confirm NCAA or NAIA membership in football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. If your child wants to play, the membership belongs to the school, not to them: write directly to the coach for the sport and request a written response about team placement, division, and athletic scholarship.
It offers distance education at the undergraduate and graduate levels, although only 6 out of every 100 undergraduate students take all their classes that way; the rest take at least one in-person course. The university also reported having at least one complete distance program, without specifying whether it is undergraduate or graduate: confirm it directly.
The library has paid staff, annual spending above the government’s $100,000 threshold, physical and digital materials, and interlibrary loan. Passing that threshold does not mean it has databases specific to your child’s major: ask by program name.
Among the services and support it reports are: combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students and placement services for graduates, on-campus child care, a comprehensive transition program for students with intellectual disabilities, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program, a point of contact for veterans and military members, a student veterans organization, and a disability-services page. The fact that these services are reported does not say how accessible or effective they are in practice: that must be confirmed in person.
Outcomes: how many stay, how many graduate
Here we reach the part that almost no family asks about in time, and that is probably the most important.
Of the cohort that entered full-time bachelor’s study in fall 2022 (7,058 students), 86 out of every 100 were still enrolled there or had already completed a bachelor’s degree one year later. It is a high figure: compared with similar schools, Arkansas falls in the upper part. Among part-time students, that same measure was 67 out of every 100. This datum does not separate those still studying from those who had already graduated, and it does not explain what happened to the rest.
Now, actual graduation. Of the cohort that began bachelor’s study in 2017 (5,028 first-time, full-time students), six years later 3,518 had the degree in hand: 70 out of every 100. At four years, the figure is 55 out of every 100, fifteen points lower. The datum does not state how many semesters each person attended and does not report tuition, rent, or salary. Compared with similar schools, Arkansas falls in the upper quarter for six-year graduation.
The available data do not allow a complete reconstruction of what happened to the 30 out of every 100 who did not graduate within that period: an absent line is not equivalent to zero, and it cannot be claimed that they transferred, are still studying, or left. Before signing, request in writing how long the program your child wants usually really takes and how its required courses are scheduled, because every extra semester has a price.
There is one final figure worth facing directly, without softening it: following a cohort that entered between July 2015 and June 2016, eight years later 67 out of every 100 had a degree or certificate from this school. Within that group, among those who had a Pell Grant, only 55 out of every 100 achieved it—sixteen points below those without Pell. It is a real gap, and the question that follows from it is not rhetorical: if your family would qualify for Pell today, it is worth asking the school, by name and in writing, what specifically exists for those students—an assigned counselor, emergency aid, whether institutional scholarship renews every year. Whether a family qualifies for Pell today does not determine your child’s outcome, but it is a question that deserves an answer before deciding.
Putting the pieces together
You have now seen Arkansas’s size, who gets in, what it costs based on family income, how it is paid for, what exists on campus, and how likely it is, according to historical figures, that a student will finish with a degree in hand. That is real, and it is yours to use.
But this piece can give you only part of the full map: what the university is and offers, according to what it reports. What is missing is what your child wants to study and what they have built so far. And what is missing is what your family can and is willing to pay, using real numbers, not averages from other families.
If your child is just putting together their list, this gives you material to ask better questions on the next visit or call. If they already have the admission letter in hand, this gives you material to compare it with the others before deposit day. And if money is the concern, you now know exactly what to request in writing before committing: the real financial-aid letter, with your child’s name in it.
That is your job at this stage of the journey: not to live your child’s life, but to understand the family’s money, ask the questions they do not yet know how to ask, and not let an important opportunity pass by because you did not know the map. What they do with that opportunity, in the classroom, on the field, in the library, is their own journey.
Note on sources: the information in this article comes from data reported by University of Arkansas to the U.S. Department of Education’s IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), primarily from the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles, as well as the Carnegie classification based on data from 2019-20. Best College Aid does not represent University of Arkansas or the U.S. government, and this article does not replace official, current information that the university itself can provide to you directly.