Let’s take it piece by piece.
What kind of university it is
University of Central Florida is in Orlando, Florida, in Orange County, in the Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford metropolitan area. The census code places it in a suburb: within the urbanized area, but outside the city center. If your child plans to live at home and commute to class, do not rely on what the map says. Drive the route yourself, on a weekday, at the time they would have class. Real traffic is almost never what Google Maps promises.
It is a public, four-year university, and the highest degree level it reports offering is the doctorate. Carnegie, the system that classifies the country’s universities by what they do, places it among the institutions with the highest research activity in that system. That does not tell you whether your child’s program participates in that research, but it does tell you the kind of academic ecosystem they would be in.
One point worth noting now: Carnegie classifies UCF as a “primarily nonresidential” institution. Technically, that means either fewer than one in four students lives in institution-provided housing, or fewer than half study full time — the data do not clarify which of the two conditions applies. It does not mean there are no dormitories (there are, in fact, and we will see that later). It means that, in the overall picture of this school, commuting is a normal part of the experience, not the exception.
It is also useful to know this if your child arrives as a transfer student: Carnegie places UCF among institutions that receive many transfer students. That does not say how many credits they arrive with or how many are lost along the way. If that is your child’s route, ask in writing, before enrolling, which courses will count and which will not.
And one simple note of context: UCF has none of the three special designations the government tracks — it is not a historically Black college or university, not a tribal college or university, and not a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this national directory, 138 do carry one of those three labels. UCF not having one says nothing about which communities it serves well or poorly; that is something to ask directly, with today’s cultural centers and student organizations.
The actual size, and what size does not tell you
Here is the number that explains almost everything: UCF reported 69,233 students enrolled in the official fall count. That places it in the highest size band the government uses — 20,000 students or more. Among the 519 selective public four-year schools in this census, at most one in ten has more students than it does.
Of that total, 59,470 are undergraduates and 9,763 are graduate students. It is, above all, a bachelor’s-degree institution.
Now, one thing people confuse all the time: a large school does not mean large classes. Those are different things. UCF reports a ratio of 29 students for every full-time-equivalent instructional staff member — a high ratio, in the highest quarter among similar schools. But that number is not class size. If class size matters to you (and it matters a great deal to many parents, especially when thinking about the first semesters), ask for the actual average number of students per class in the first year and in your child’s specific major. That information is not here.
As for who makes up this community: 31 out of every 100 undergraduate students reported being Hispanic or Latino. That is one in four, or more — and compared with other selective schools in this census, it falls in the highest quarter. Put simply: being Latino on this campus would not be the exception. But it counts how many there are, not whether there is a counselor who speaks Spanish, targeted tutoring, or whether those students finish their degrees at the same rate as everyone else. That must be asked separately.
The rest of the profile: the campus is almost evenly split between men and women (54 out of every 100 are women). Adult students, from 25 to 64 years old, are a minority — 14 out of every 100. And 92 out of every 100 new students came from the state of Florida itself. If you live outside the state, this matters: most of their classmates will be from Florida.
How the academic year works and which credit they recognize
UCF operates on semesters — two long terms of about 15 weeks. It stated that it accepts credit for AP examinations and also what IPEDS calls “credit for life experience”: independent study, work experience, prior licenses or certifications, among other routes, as well as credit for military training. It also enrolls high school students in college-credit courses through a formal dual-enrollment program.
Here is the hard truth: the university declaring these routes does not mean it will automatically give your child credit. It does not say how many AP points they require, how many credits they award, or whether those credits count toward the specific major they want. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for time or money saved until you have that document in hand.
As for academic offerings: UCF awarded 14,770 bachelor’s degrees in a single year, spread across 25 distinct academic families. No single one accounts for most of them — not even the most popular, business and administration, which represented only 16 out of every 100 degrees. It is a broad offering, not concentrated in two or three areas. Still, “25 families with a row in the report” are not 25 majors in the current catalog, nor does that guarantee each one had students graduating — some rows may report zero. Verify the exact program your child is interested in, using its correct name, directly with the university.
UCF also reports structured opportunities beyond the classroom: study abroad, undergraduate research, a complete program that can be taken only at night or on weekends, and state-approved teacher-certification pathways. Their being reported confirms they exist as declared options; it does not state capacity, requirements, or whether they apply to your child’s program.
Getting into UCF: what they require and what really happens
Let’s start with what is mandatory. UCF does not have open admissions — it reviews items before saying yes. Of the considerations the government tracks, it marked three as required: the high school transcript, the high school grade point average, and completion of the course plan the university requires. Other items are not required but are considered if you send them: class rank, the personal essay, and work experience. The application fee is $30.
Now for the numbers that truly weigh on your family’s decision.
How many get in. In the 2023 cycle, UCF received 60,627 first-time applications and offered admission to 23,961. That is 40 out of every 100. Compared with 519 selective public schools in this census, it is among those that accept the fewest — nine out of ten in that group accepted a greater proportion. It is selective. And that 40% is for the school as a whole: if your child is applying to a specific major, you need to request that number directly from admissions, because IPEDS does not break it down by program.
How many admitted students decide to attend. Out of every 100 students UCF admitted in 2023, only 34 ultimately enrolled. The other 66 had the letter in hand and went elsewhere. This is on the high side compared with similar schools — at most of them, a smaller proportion of admitted students stay. It does not measure quality or satisfaction; it only counts how many, with an offer in hand, chose UCF. When acceptance letters from several schools arrive for your child, this percentage does not decide anything. Put the letters side by side and compare net price, major, and distance.
The test. UCF does require the SAT or ACT — without a score, there is no complete application. Among those who enrolled and submitted SAT scores, the middle half scored between 610 and 680 in reading and writing, and between 580 and 670 in mathematics. If your child is below those numbers, it does not mean they are out — but it is a sign to prepare early, not in the last month before applying. And note: those ranges are for people who already enrolled, not everyone who applied. They are neither a minimum nor a guarantee.
Transfer. There are two different stories here, and they should not be confused. On one hand, very few people leave UCF through transfer: only 10 out of every 100 from a cohort that entered in 2017 appears as having transferred to another school without completing there — a low proportion compared with similar schools. On the other hand, many people arrive as transfers: 6,769 undergraduate students entered in fall 2023 after having studied at another institution. If your child enters through this door, this figure does not tell you how many credits the university will recognize. Request that in writing, with the course list in hand, before they move.
The price: two numbers, and the gap between them
At University of Central Florida, among 702 first-time, full-time students seeking a credential who received federal Title IV aid and paid the in-state or district tuition rate, whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $6,170. Among 473 students from the same population with family EFC income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $10,684; among 447 students with family EFC income above $110,000, it was $17,821. For dependent students, the band adds their parents’ income and their own.
The difference between the average for the lowest-income band (702 students) and that for the highest band (447 students) is $11,651. Among first-year students who received any scholarship, the average was $13,110.
Among the 519 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this figure with the same time coverage, this one falls in the least expensive quarter for lower-income families, after scholarships are subtracted. That does not mean it is inexpensive for your family. It is a fact that matters when you build the list of schools to apply to.
The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time students seeking a credential who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or district tuition rate. The overall average with scholarships, when it appears, describes first-time, full-time students seeking a credential who received federal, state, local, or institutional scholarships or grants; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask about it before applying.
Financial aid and loans: who receives what
69 out of every 100 degree-seeking students received some type of aid that does not have to be repaid — scholarships or grants. The average, among those who received it, was $7,934 per year. The Pell Grant — federal aid specifically for low-income families — went to a smaller share: 34 out of every 100. The difference between those two numbers suggests that much of the aid at UCF comes from sources other than Pell — state, institutional, or others — but this report does not allow us to say exactly which. Ask which programs make up that difference.
As for loans: only 24 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal loan in the 2022-23 academic year. Most did not borrow. Among those who did, the average was $6,707 that year. Compared with similar schools, UCF is on the low side in the proportion of students with loans.
Here is a hard truth worth stating plainly: most students not having taken out a federal loan does not mean everyone could afford the year. There may have been scholarships, work, family savings, or other types of debt this report does not capture — including loans signed by parents, which do not appear here. And that $6,707 average is for a single year, not the total debt with which someone graduates. That number is not in this report.
UCF also reports formal payment mechanisms: a prepaid tuition plan, installment payments, and participation in a state Promise program. It is worth asking about them directly if cash flow, more than the total, is your family’s concern.
Campus life: housing, sports, and everything else
UCF has institution-owned housing, with reported capacity for 7,582 students on or off campus. Living there is not required for anyone — the institution confirmed that it does not require that residence for all first-year students. But having a room does not guarantee an available bed when your child needs one. Request in writing this year’s rate, the application deadline, and whether space is guaranteed or there is a waiting list.
For those thinking about ROTC: UCF reports opportunities in two branches, Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. Its being reported does not say whether the program is taken on this campus or at a nearby one, nor does it say capacity or requirements — ask about that by name before building the plan around that route.
In sports, UCF competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA — it reports membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. If your child hopes to play, membership belongs to the school, not a promise to them: write directly to the coach for that sport and ask about roster space, division, and athletic scholarship.
Regarding distance education: 17 out of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load online in the fall count; the other 83 had at least one in-person class. UCF also reports at least one program that can be completed entirely at a distance. If that interests you, confirm the exact level and major — the report does not specify which ones.
The library operates with paid staff and spending above the threshold the government tracks, with physical and digital materials and interlibrary lending. And among the supports UCF formally reports are combined academic and career counseling, employment services, on-campus child care, a transition program for students with intellectual disabilities, and dedicated support for veterans and military families, including participation in Yellow Ribbon. Their being reported confirms they exist as declared services; their quality and actual availability must be asked about directly.
Those who stay and those who finish
Here we get to what probably matters most to you: if your child gets in, will they stay? Will they graduate?
Of the cohort that entered in fall 2022, full time, 92 out of every 100 were still enrolled here or had already completed a bachelor’s degree one year later. It is a high figure, among the highest compared with similar schools. But remember: this number combines two groups — those who continue and those who have already graduated — without separating them, and it does not say what happened to the rest.
On graduation, here is the fact that should really be on your radar: of the class that entered in 2017, 75 out of every 100 had a degree in hand six years later. But if you look at the four-year time frame — the one almost every family puts in its budget — the figure drops to 50 out of every 100. There are 25 points of difference between those two time frames.
The figure does not say how many semesters each person attended and does not report tuition, rent, or salary. That extra year does not come with a listed price in this report — but before your child starts, you can ask how long the program they want usually takes, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost changes if it takes longer.
For the longer cohort: following a group that entered between 2015 and 2016, eight years later 72 out of every 100 had a degree or certificate from this school. Among those who received a Pell Grant, that figure was 69 out of every 100 — five points below the group without Pell. It is an earlier cohort, and a high percentage is not a prediction about your child in particular. It is worth asking about the program’s current supports and more recent cohort outcomes before treating it as a guarantee.
Putting the pieces together
You now know a good part of what UCF really is: a public university, huge, selective without being inaccessible, with a net price that tends to be lighter than that of its peers for modest-income families, with a strong majority that stays and finishes — although often in five or six years rather than four.
None of this tells you whether it is the right university for your child. That depends on two other pieces this article cannot know: what they want to study and have built so far, and what your family can and is willing to pay. If you live outside Florida, the price gap between resident and nonresident changes the conversation completely. If your child has not yet chosen a major, the breadth of programs can be an advantage or a distraction, depending on how they use it. If money is tight, the net price by income band gives you a more honest idea than the list price.
Your job is not to guess the outcome. It is to gather these figures, verify in writing what the report cannot confirm — credits, scholarships, housing, actual graduation timelines in the exact program — and sit down with your child to place them alongside what they want and what you can afford. From that combination, and not from a single number, comes a plan that truly works for you.
Source note: the information in this article comes from data reported by University of Central Florida to IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) of the United States Department of Education, primarily for the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles, together with the Carnegie classification of institutions of higher education. Best College Aid does not represent University of Central Florida or any government agency; this article is an independent informational resource.