College guide

University of Michigan-Dearborn Acceptance Rate, Admissions & Graduation

University of Michigan-Dearborn: What the Numbers Say and What They Mean for Your Family

University of Michigan-Dearborn at a glance

Federal data · IPEDS + Common Data Set
Acceptance rate
58.6%

7,254 admitted of 12,373 applicants · first-time, degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates · fall 2023

Tuition and fees
$14,944 / $31,360

in-state / out-of-state, published price per year · full-time, first-time undergraduates · 2023–24

Average net price · family income $0–$30K
$8,160/yr

after grants and scholarships · full-time, first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates awarded Title IV federal aid, paying in-state or in-district tuition · 2022–23 · every income level

Graduation rate
56%

earned a bachelor's or equivalent degree within 6 years (150% of normal time) · adjusted 2017 bachelor's subcohort of full-time, first-time students · 2017 cohort · IPEDS 2023

SAT / ACT
Test-optional

not required; considered if submitted · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

More numbers
Application deadlines
No closing date

Common Data Set 2024–25 (C14, C21, C22), published by the college · check this year's dates with the college

Average high school GPA
3.64

degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted a GPA · Common Data Set 2024–25 (C12), published by the college

High school GPA
Required

how the high school GPA is used in admission · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

SAT Reading & Writing
500–630

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023 (62% submitted SAT scores)

SAT Math
490–630

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023

ACT composite (median)
26

enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted ACT scores · fall 2023

Retention rate
81%

re-enrolled at the college the next fall, full- or part-time · adjusted fall 2022 cohort of full-time, first-time bachelor's degree-seeking students · fall 2022 → fall 2023

Application fee
No fee

undergraduate application fee · 2023–24

Hispanic or Latino undergraduates
7%

undergraduates · fall 2023 · describes who studies here, not the support a student will get

Source: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS; average GPA and application dates from the college's own Common Data Set. Each number shows who it counts and its year. How we use this data

If your child has University of Michigan-Dearborn on their list, you probably already know the basics: that it is in Michigan, that it is public, and that it sounds serious. What you do not know is what really matters: how much it actually costs, how likely your child is to be admitted, how long it usually takes a student to graduate, and what questions you, as a parent, need to ask before this school stays on or falls off the list.

By Francisco CantúAdmissions and financial aid counselor
3,625 words17 min readIPEDS 2022–23
In this article

That is the purpose of this article. It will not tell you whether this is the right university for your child. No one knows that yet, not even you. But it will give you a map of what this university is, using official data, without embellishment and without fear, so that when you sit down to decide with your family, you are not deciding blindly.

Who This University Is and Where It Stands

University of Michigan-Dearborn is a public four-year or higher institution. Through the Carnegie Classification, the federal government classifies it as a master's university with larger programs and also recognizes a historical research-doctoral profile based on degrees it awarded several years ago. That is a record of its history, not a promise about what it offers today: if your child is looking for a specific graduate program, ask about it by name.

It is in Dearborn, Michigan, within Wayne County, in the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn metropolitan area. That does not mean the campus is right in the middle of a large city. If your child plans to live at home and commute every day, do not rely on what the map says: drive the route yourself on a weekday at the time your child would have classes. The actual travel time is almost never what the app promises.

And here is a fact that changes how you should picture your child's daily life there: Carnegie classifies this university as primarily nonresidential. That means either fewer than one in four undergraduate students live in institution-controlled housing or fewer than half attend full time. The data do not say which of the two conditions was met. But if your child will commute every day, what you need to budget for is not just tuition. It is the bus, gasoline, and hours on the road.

This institution does not have any of three special designations: it is not a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this federal directory, 138 do have at least one of those three labels. The fact that University of Michigan-Dearborn does not have them says nothing about which communities it serves or how your child will feel there. Ask directly which cultural centers and student organizations exist today and, better yet, speak with someone who already studies there.

One more practical fact for when the subject of money comes up: the rate you are charged here depends on whether your family is a Michigan resident. Before comparing prices with other schools, make sure you know which of the two rates you are being quoted.

A Medium-Sized Community, with More People Than You Might Think

In the most recent official fall count, University of Michigan-Dearborn had 8,035 enrolled students. It is neither a small school nor a huge one: it falls squarely within the range of 5,000 to 9,999 students, one of the most common sizes among its selective-admission public peers.

But that large number hides something important. Of those 8,035, only 6,071 are undergraduates. The other 1,964 have already completed an undergraduate degree and are in graduate school. If your child is just starting a bachelor's degree, the number that applies to your child—the number of potential classmates—is 6,071, not the total.

Who are those students? Of every 100 undergraduates, 7 are Hispanic or Latino. That is a small minority, and compared with the 519 selective public schools in this census that report the data, it falls below the comparison-group midpoint. That does not make the school bad, just as having many Latino students would not make another school good. The figure tells you who is enrolled, and nothing more. If your child will be one of relatively few, the task is to ask which student groups and support services exist and to talk with a Latino student who is already there before deciding.

The campus is nearly evenly divided between men and women: 48 out of every 100 are women. And of every 100 entering students, 93 reported living in Michigan when they applied. It is overwhelmingly a school for people from the state.

How the Academic Year Works and Which Credits They Recognize

The calendar is semester-based: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. The institution accepts credit from AP examinations and also accepts credit for military training. It did not indicate that it accepts credit for life experience.

Here is a warning worth its weight in gold: saying that they accept AP does not mean they award credit for every exam or every score. We do not know what scores they require, how many credits they award, or whether those credits will count toward your child's specific major. Request a written equivalency evaluation before enrolling. Do not budget for savings in time or money until you have it in hand.

It also enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program, if your child is still in high school and is interested in that path.

As for what students study: between July 2022 and June 2023, the university awarded 1,437 bachelor's degrees across 22 fields of study. Engineering was the largest, accounting for 27 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year, but no other field comes close to dominating. It has a broad, distributed range of offerings, rather than being a school devoted to a single specialty. Even so, 22 active fields do not mean 22 exact majors: verify the precise program that interests your child, because one “field” may group several different programs.

The reported student-to-faculty ratio is 16 to 1. Compared with similar schools, it is in the middle: neither among the lowest nor among the highest. But be careful—this does not tell you the actual size of first-year classes. It is an institution-wide ratio, not a classroom headcount.

Structured Academic Opportunities

The university reports several specific pathways: study abroad, a complete program that can be taken exclusively in the evenings or on weekends, teacher-certification preparation below the bachelor's level, the opportunity to complete preparation there in certain teaching specialties, and state approval of its initial teacher-certification program. If any of these pathways connects with what your child wants to do, it is worth exploring directly with the school.

How Admission Works: What They Require, Who Gets In, and Who Stays

This is where many families get nervous, so let us proceed calmly and use exact numbers.

University of Michigan-Dearborn does not have open admissions. It reviews specific components before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations, it marked three as required: the high school transcript, the high school GPA, and an English-proficiency examination for applicants to whom it applies. If your child studied outside the United States or attended high school in Spanish, ask today whether that exam applies and what would qualify your child for an exemption. It is one of those things families discover late if they do not ask in time.

By contrast, the list of what they do not consider is longer: class rank, the specific high school curriculum completed, the personal essay, letters of recommendation, a portfolio or competency examination, work experience, and whether a relative studied there. The federal report does not state the exact weight given to each factor that is considered, so this does not prove that GPA is the only factor. But if your child has invested a great deal of energy in the essay, thinking it will determine admission here, your child should know that, according to what the school reported, the essay is not part of the admission decision.

The published undergraduate application fee is $0.

Now for the numbers on who actually gets in. In the most recent cycle, 12,373 people applied for admission as first-year students. Of those, 7,254 were offered a place: that is 59 out of every 100. Compared with similar selective public schools, University of Michigan-Dearborn is on the more demanding side: seven out of ten of those schools accepted a larger percentage of applicants. Admission is not guaranteed, but neither is it a lottery. The application is reviewed, and 5,119 applicants did not receive an offer.

Here is the number that almost no family knows and that changes the perspective: of every 100 admitted students, only 16 ultimately enrolled. The other 84 had a place and did not take it. Compared with its peers, this proportion is also on the low side. And this is not a stain on the school: the federal record does not say why each person made that decision. Many of those admitted students surely had other options available. What matters for you is this: what others decided does not predict what your child will be offered. Wait for your child's letter showing the net price—what the year would actually cost—before deciding whether this school stays on the list.

The SAT and ACT are not required here. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application proceeds normally. Among those who did enroll and submitted the SAT (62 out of every 100, one of the highest proportions among similar schools), the middle half scored between 500 and 630 in reading and writing and between 490 and 630 in mathematics. But be careful: those ranges are for students who had already enrolled, not for everyone who applied, and they do not prove that the score was decisive. That 500 is not a minimum, and that 630 guarantees nothing.

One more fact about mobility: of the cohort that entered in 2017 seeking a bachelor's degree, 27 out of every 100 transferred to another school without completing here. That is a substantial proportion, slightly above the midpoint among its peers. A student who transfers is not counted as a graduate of this university, even if the student completes a degree elsewhere, so remember this when you compare graduation rates later. In the other direction, University of Michigan-Dearborn also receives many transfer students: 562 students arrived here for the first time after studying at another institution. If your child plans to transfer here, request in writing which courses will be accepted and which will not before making a commitment.

The Listed Price Versus What Students Actually Pay

At University of Michigan-Dearborn, among 193 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid, paid the in-state or in-district rate, and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $8,160. Among 117 students from the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $9,589; among 88 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $19,586. For dependent students, the band combines their parents' income with their own.

The difference between the average for the lowest-income band (193 students) and the highest-income band (88 students) is $11,426. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship, the average was $12,798.

The price they advertise is not the same as what is paid. Here, for students with low income, the average net price was $8,160 in the 2022-23 academic year.

The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average for students with grants or scholarships, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask for it before applying.

Aid, Grants, Scholarships, and Loans: Separating What Is Repaid from What Is Not

Of every 100 degree-seeking students at University of Michigan-Dearborn, 77 received some grant or scholarship aid that does not have to be repaid. Among those who received it, the average was $9,463 per year. And of every 100 students, 45 received Pell Grants, the federal aid for low-income families.

Be careful about a common mistake: the percentage and the average should not be multiplied by each other. One tells you how many received something; the other says how much they received, on average, only among those who did receive it. When your child's admission letter arrives, separate it by hand into three piles: what does not have to be repaid, what must be repaid with interest, and what must be earned through work. Many letters mix them together in a single column to make them look more generous than they are.

Regarding loans: 38 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan in the most recent year reported. That is more than two out of ten, but less than half. Among those who borrowed, the average amount was $6,727 that year. Compared with similar schools, this proportion is common: neither among the highest nor among the lowest.

Here is a hard truth that I would rather tell you directly: this percentage describes other families, not yours. What your child would need to borrow depends on your child's own financial-aid letter, which does not exist yet. And that average of $6,727 is for a single year and includes only federal loans in the student's name. It does not include PLUS loans that parents sometimes end up signing for, bank debt, or credit-card debt. Nor is it the total debt someone has upon graduating, because calculating that would require adding together several years, and that number is not in this report.

The university also offers a tuition installment-payment plan, if that helps you organize the family budget.

Campus Life, Learning Format, and Available Support

One fact changes how you should picture daily life: University of Michigan-Dearborn does not have its own housing. It offers neither residence halls nor apartments under its control, on or off campus. It also does not report institutional meal plans. That does not mean the official financial-aid budget ignores the cost of living off campus: it does include estimates for that. Ask for the specific budget that the financial-aid office would use for your child's situation.

If your child is interested in ROTC, the university reported that the opportunity is available in two branches: Army and Air Force. Navy is not listed. The fact that it is marked in the report does not automatically mean the program is conducted on this specific campus: ask about it by name before building your child's plan around ROTC.

In athletics, the university competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics), with reported membership in basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. But the membership belongs to the school, not to your child: if your child is interested in competing, write directly to the coach of the specific sport and ask whether there is a place available, which division they compete in, and whether that sport offers scholarships. Ask for written confirmation.

Regarding distance education, the university offers courses and at least one complete distance-learning program at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. In the most recent count, only 7 out of every 100 undergraduate students took all their classes at a distance; the other 93 took at least one class in person.

The library operates with employed staff, exceeded the federal government's reporting threshold of $100,000 in spending, has physical and digital materials, and participates in interlibrary lending. Exceeding that threshold does not guarantee that it has databases specific to your child's major: ask about those by program name.

Reported services and support include combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement services for graduates, on-campus child care, participation in the Yellow Ribbon Program, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and military personnel, a veterans' student organization, and a webpage dedicated to services for people with disabilities.

How Many Stay and How Many Graduate

Here we reach the heart of what every family wants to know: if your child enrolls, will your child leave with a degree?

Of the cohort of first-time, full-time, bachelor's-degree-seeking students, 81 out of every 100 were still enrolled here or had already graduated one year later. Compared with similar selective public schools, this figure falls in the upper part of the group: University of Michigan-Dearborn retains a larger proportion of its students than most of its peers.

Now for the full graduation rate. IPEDS tracked 1,068 students who entered in 2017 as first-time, full-time students. After six years, 603 had graduated here: 56 out of every 100. But if you look at the four-year period, the one almost every family uses in its budget, the figure falls to 30 out of every 100. The gap of 26 points measures how much the proportion with bachelor's degrees increased between the four-year and six-year checkpoints for the same cohort. The data do not say how many semesters each person attended and do not report tuition, rent, or wages.

Of those original 1,068 students, 603 completed a bachelor's degree here, 1 completed a short program here, 286 transferred without completing at this school, 47 remained enrolled without finishing, and 131 fell into the federal “no longer enrolled” category, which does not state the reason and may include people who graduated after the time limit measured by this report.

What does this mean for your budget? Before signing anything, request in writing how long the specific program that interests your child usually takes, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost changes if the process extends by one or two years. An unplanned fifth year has to be paid for—literally.

There is an additional eight-year measure that combines first-time students with those who already had prior college experience, both full-time and part-time. Of a cohort of 2,012 people who entered between July 2015 and June 2016, 59 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school by the August 2023 checkpoint. Among those who received Pell Grants, the figure was 57 out of every 100, four points below the group without Pell Grants. This comparison describes a group in this specific census, not all universities in the country.

A reported 26 out of every 100 had not earned a credential from this institution but were possibly enrolled elsewhere; and 15 out of every 100 had an “unknown” enrollment status, which simply means that the report was unable to determine where they were, not that they had stopped studying. These figures do not add up perfectly because they measure different things, and none of them tells you why each person took the path they did.

What This Article Cannot Tell You

The official data do not provide information about how much a graduate of this university earns or how much debt graduates carry, on average, when they leave with a degree. Those data exist in other sources and are worth investigating separately if that part of the calculation matters to you.

How to Use All of This

You now know in detail one of the three pieces you need in order to decide: what University of Michigan-Dearborn really is, how much it costs, who gets in, who stays, and who graduates. That piece is solid because it comes from official data, but it is only one piece.

You still need to combine it with what your child wants to study and what your child has already built in high school. From that combination—and not before—a plan emerges.

It is your child's responsibility to decide what to study, work hard on the application, and, if admitted, decide whether this is where your child wants to spend the next several years. It is your responsibility to understand the money, ask the uncomfortable questions in writing, and provide support without carrying alone a system that you may not have inherited either. It is not your job to guarantee that the door will be open. It is to reach that door without having lost, by failing to ask in time, a path that really was on the map.

Note on sources: The information in this article comes from data reported by University of Michigan-Dearborn to the U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), corresponding primarily to the years 2022-23 and 2023-24, as indicated in each section. Best College Aid does not represent University of Michigan-Dearborn or any government agency; this article is independent informational material intended to help families understand public data.

Want to understand what this means for your child?

In our free presentation we show you, step by step, how to build your child's college list and understand financial aid.

Sign up free