I am not going to tell you whether this university is “good” or “bad” for your child. No number can tell you that. What I can do is show you exactly what University of Missouri-St Louis’s official record reveals, so you can incorporate it into your own family plan with your eyes open.
What kind of university it is and where it stands
University of Missouri-St Louis is a public four-year university located in Saint Louis, Missouri, within St. Louis County and that city’s metropolitan area. Its census code places it in a suburb: inside the urbanized area but outside the heart of the principal city. If your child plans to live at home and drive every day, do not rely on what the map says: make the trip yourself on a weekday, at the exact time of your child’s classes. Actual traffic almost never matches the digital estimate.
The Carnegie system, which classifies universities in the United States according to what they do, places it among doctoral institutions with high research activity. It is also classified as a primarily nonresidential institution: technically, this means that fewer than one in four undergraduate students lived in institution-provided housing, or that fewer than half studied full time, according to the data used for that designation. The record does not clarify which of the two conditions applied, and that designation does not mean that residence halls do not exist: in fact, they do, as you will see later.
Something worth emphasizing from the outset: Carnegie also places it among institutions that enroll many transfer students. If your child is considering coming here after starting at another university or at a community college, this is a sign that the transfer pathway exists and is frequently used. But the designation does not say how many credits students bring in or how many are lost in the transition. Ask about that in writing before enrolling, never afterward.
As for special designations, University of Missouri-St Louis is not listed as a historically Black college or university (HBCU), a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this national directory, 138 do carry at least one of those three designations; this one does not. That does not tell you which communities it serves or how your child will feel there. You can find those answers by asking about cultural centers and student organizations that are active today, and by speaking with someone who is already studying on campus.
The size of the university and who else will be there
Think of this as getting to know the neighborhood before moving in. University of Missouri-St Louis reported 14,800 enrolled students in the official fall count, placing it in the 10,000-to-19,999-student range: a large school, in one of the most common size categories among its peers. Of that total, 12,137 are undergraduates and 2,663 are graduate students. Above all, it is an undergraduate institution.
Here is a detail that changes how you should interpret that “14,800”: IPEDS estimates that the actual full-time-equivalent enrollment is only 8,932. Many people study part time. That matters in practice: if your child will carry a partial course load, or assumes that courses are always available at typical times, ask directly when classes in the intended major are offered. Do not take it for granted.
And who will share the classroom with your child? Of every 100 undergraduate students, 57 are women. Fifteen are between 25 and 64 years old, so this is not a campus made up exclusively of teenagers who have just finished high school. And 77 of every 100 first-time students had a permanent address in the state of Missouri: it is mostly a local community.
Now for the figure I most want to state clearly: 4 of every 100 undergraduate students identified as Hispanic or Latino, according to the fall 2023 count. Compared with 519 selective public four-year schools included in this same census, University of Missouri-St Louis falls in the lowest quarter: three out of four similar schools reported a higher proportion of Latino students.
I will say it without embellishing it or condemning it: there are few. That does not remove this university from the list, nor does it automatically put it on the list. What it does is give you a specific question for the visit: what exists today for Latino students, whether there is a student group, a cultural center, or someone in the offices who speaks Spanish. The number you just read is for the school as a whole; your child’s experience in a specific major may look different. Find out before deciding, not afterward.
How the academic year works and what the school recognizes
The calendar here follows semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. Nothing unusual; it is the most common format in the United States.
A practical point if your child took advanced courses in high school: the university reports that it accepts credit from AP exams. It did not indicate that it accepts credit for life experience. It also reported enrolling high school students in college courses for credit, both within and outside a formal dual-enrollment program, and accepting credit for military training.
Here is the hard truth that no brochure will tell you: saying that they “accept AP” does not mean that they grant credit for every exam, with every score, for every course. We do not know what scores they require or whether those credits will count toward the specific major your child wants. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not include those savings in your budget until you have confirmation on paper.
As for the range of majors: between July 2022 and June 2023, the university awarded 1,493 bachelor’s degrees across 20 distinct program families. The largest family was business and management, with 23 of every 100 degrees awarded that year, but no other field is overwhelmingly dominant. The offerings are broad and distributed across fields. Still, “20 active families” does not equal 20 exact majors or guarantee that the specific major your child wants is offered under that name. Verify the specific program.
Regarding class size, the official ratio is 13 students per full-time-equivalent instructional staff member. Compared with similar schools, it is a low ratio, in the lowest quarter of the group. But be careful: this aggregate ratio does not tell you the actual size of a first-year class. It is an institutional average, not a classroom you can picture.
The institution also reports structured academic opportunities: study abroad, undergraduate research outside the classroom, a complete program that can be taken only at night or on weekends, and several preparation and certification pathways for those who want to become teachers, including state approval for initial teacher certification. It is worth asking for details about any of these if they interest your child.
How admission works: requirements, actual competition, and who ultimately enrolls
This is where many families get nervous, so let us proceed calmly and with the exact numbers.
University of Missouri-St Louis does not have open admission. It reviews several components before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations in the federal report, it marked five as required: the high school record, grade point average, your child’s class rank, completion of the required college-preparatory coursework, and an English proficiency exam for those to whom it applies. The personal essay and letters of recommendation are not required, but if you submit them, they are considered.
That last point deserves a pause: if your child studied outside the United States or attended high school in Spanish, ask now whether the English proficiency exam applies and what would qualify your child for an exemption. This is the kind of requirement that families discover late and that can disrupt an entire timeline.
The published application fee is $0. That removes a common barrier.
Now, the actual selectivity. In the 2023 cycle, 4,627 people applied for first-year admission. Of those, 2,645 were offered a place: 57 of every 100. Compared with 519 similar selective public schools, it falls on the more demanding side: seven out of ten of those schools, or more, accepted a higher percentage of applicants. Admission is not guaranteed, but neither is it a lottery. The application is evaluated using selection criteria.
But being admitted is not the same as enrolling, and here is one of the most revealing facts in this entire record: of every 100 admitted students, only 18 ultimately enrolled in the fall. The other 82 had a place and did not take it. Put another way: of every six students who received a yes, roughly one ended up attending classes.
Do not read this as a stain on the school. The federal record does not say why each person made that choice; many of those admitted students probably had other offers in hand, with a different net price. And here is the practical lesson for you: what others decided tells you nothing about what your child will be offered. Wait for the financial aid letter, with the actual net price, and use that number—not reputation or what others did—to decide whether this school remains on the final list.
As for standardized tests, the SAT and ACT are optional: if your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application proceeds just the same. Only 8 of every 100 enrolled students submitted an SAT score, and among them, the middle half scored between 500 and 620 in reading and writing, and between 530 and 600 in mathematics. Those numbers describe students who had already enrolled and chose to submit their scores, not all applicants: that 500 is not a minimum that must be reached, nor is that 620 a guarantee of anything.
Finally, if your child arrives as a transfer student: in fall 2023, 979 undergraduate students entered here for the first time after studying at another institution. That is a high count compared with similar schools. What this figure does not reveal is how many credits were accepted when they arrived, or how many students who entered as transfers later went elsewhere—that line simply is not reported in the record. Its absence does not mean that no one transfers out; it means you need to ask the admissions office directly.
The listed price and what families actually pay
At University of Missouri-St Louis, among 82 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid, paid the in-state or in-district rate, and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $10,019. Among 53 students in the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $12,980; among 28 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $18,260. For dependent students, the bracket combines their parents’ income with their own.
The difference between the average for the lowest-income bracket (82 students) and the highest-income bracket (28 students) is $8,241. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $11,577.
$10,019 was the average net price for families in the lowest-income bracket in academic year 2022-23. That does not mean it is what your family will pay. It helps you determine whether it is worth requesting the aid letter.
The income brackets in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average for students receiving grant or scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask about it before applying.
How students pay: grants, loans, and installment options
Of every 100 degree-seeking students at University of Missouri-St Louis, 76 received some grant or scholarship aid that does not have to be repaid, averaging $9,803 per year among those who received it. In addition, 41 of every 100 received a Pell Grant, the federal aid for students with demonstrated financial need.
Be careful not to mix these two figures: 76% tells you how many received something; $9,803 tells you how much those who did receive it got on average. They are calculations with different denominators. You cannot multiply them together to draw a broader conclusion.
For loans, the story here is notably different from what you see at many other universities: only 20 of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan in school year 2022-23. Most undergraduates here did not take out a federal loan that year. Compared with 519 similar selective public schools, this is one of the lowest loan-use percentages: nine out of ten schools in the group, or more, had a higher proportion of students borrowing from the federal government.
Among those who did receive a loan, the average was $7,347 for the year. Do not confuse this with total debt at graduation: this figure covers a single year and only federal loans in the student’s name. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes sign for, bank debt, or credit card debt. Determining a student’s total debt upon leaving would require adding every year together, and that figure is not in this report.
A low number of students using loans also does not mean that everyone was able to cover the year without difficulty. They may have had grants, employment, family savings, or another kind of debt that this report does not capture. When your child’s aid letter arrives, separate it by hand into three piles: what does not have to be repaid, what must be repaid with interest, and what must be earned through work. Many letters mix these into a single column to make the offer appear more generous than it is.
To manage payments, the institution reports offering an installment tuition payment plan and participating in a Promise program.
The campus, daily life, and available support
University of Missouri-St Louis does have its own housing, with a reported capacity of 715 students, on or off campus. Living there is not required for all full-time first-year students, although that does not rule out the possibility that a specific program may require it. It also offers meal plans, although the number of meals per week varies by the plan selected. Before removing room and board from your budget on the assumption that your child will live at home, request in writing the exact rule for the applicable program and year, the current rate, the housing application deadline, and whether a place is guaranteed or applicants may be placed on a waiting list.
If your child is interested in military service, the university reports ROTC opportunities in two branches: Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. Being reported does not mean that the program is specifically taught on this campus; ask by name before building a plan around it.
In athletics, it does compete at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA, with reported membership in basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. The affiliation belongs to the school; it is not a promise to your child. If your child is interested in competing, write directly to the coach for the specific sport, ask whether a place is available, what division the team competes in, and whether that sport awards athletic scholarships. Request written confirmation.
As for distance education, it is offered at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. In the fall count, 15 of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load online, while 85 took at least one class in person. The institution also reports offering at least one complete program that can be completed entirely through distance education, although the report does not specify whether that program is at the undergraduate or graduate level. Confirm the level and exact major if this interests your child.
The library operates with paid staff, has physical and digital materials, and participates in interlibrary lending—its annual expenditures exceed the $100,000 threshold the government uses to classify it as having “substantial resources.” That is only the baseline; it does not guarantee that the specific databases your child’s major requires are available. Ask about them by the name of the major.
Finally, the list of reported support services is broad: combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement services after program completion, on-campus child care for students’ children, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and military families, a student veterans’ organization, and a services webpage for people with disabilities. The fact that these services are reported does not tell you how accessible they are in practice or how effective they are for each person. Ask about them and verify them during the visit.
How many stay and how many finish: the numbers that carry the most weight
This may be the section that deserves your calmest attention, because this is where the data become uncomfortable, and I am not going to soften them.
Of the cohort of first-time, full-time, bachelor’s-degree-seeking students who entered in fall 2022—413 people—68 of every 100 were still enrolled at the school or had already graduated one year later. Compared with similar selective public schools, this places it toward the lower end: seven out of ten similar schools, or more, retained a larger share of their cohort. The source does not separate those still enrolled from those who had already graduated, nor does it explain what happened to the rest. And here is the important point: not appearing as “retained” does not mean that someone gave up. The student may have transferred, taken a break, or started working. The figure measures an outcome, not the reasons behind it.
Regarding graduation, IPEDS followed 466 first-time, full-time students who began bachelor’s-degree programs here in 2017. After six years, 264 had graduated from this same school: 57 of every 100. After four years, the figure was only 36 of every 100—21 points lower. And four years is, for most families, exactly the period covered by the original budget.
Compared with similar schools, University of Missouri-St Louis is above the median for this six-year rate. But the available data do not allow us to reconstruct precisely what happened to the rest of that original cohort: we do not know how many transferred, how many are still studying elsewhere, or how many left their studies. A blank space in the report does not equal zero.
The 21-point gap measures how much the share earning a bachelor’s degree increased between the four-year and six-year marks for the same cohort. The data do not say how many semesters each person attended and do not report tuition, rent, or wages. Before signing anything, ask in writing how long the specific program your child wants actually tends to take, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost changes if the path takes longer.
Finally, the longer view: following a cohort of 2,543 undergraduate students who entered between July 2015 and June 2016—including both first-time students and those who already had prior college experience—by the August 2023 measurement point, eight years later, 62 of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this institution. Among those who specifically received a Pell Grant, the figure was 59 of every 100, five points below the figure for those who did not receive one. This proportion is also above the median compared with similar schools.
The rest of that cohort is divided between those whom the report identifies as having unknown enrollment status (16 of every 100, exactly 410 people) and another portion for whom the federal record itself acknowledges contradictory data about whether they remained enrolled. “Unknown” does not mean that they dropped out; it simply means the system could not determine their status. Before making a decision based on these figures, ask the university directly about specific support and about outcomes more recent than those of this cohort from nearly a decade ago.
What this record cannot tell you
None of the data in this report describe what happens after graduation: employment, salary, or the debt a student actually carries upon finishing. That requires another source, and inventing it here is not authorized.
Putting it all together
You now know, with precision, one of the three pieces you need to decide: what University of Missouri-St Louis is and what it offers, according to its own official record. You know its size, its location, how it admits students, what it costs on paper and what a family similar to yours actually ends up paying, how the people who enter fare, and what support it reports having.
What this article cannot tell you is what your child wants to study, how far from home your child is willing to live, or what your family can and is willing to pay. Only you have those second and third pieces.
Your child’s responsibility is to research the exact program of interest, visit if possible, and ask the questions left unanswered in this article: about AP credits, housing, the athletic team, and the specific major your child wants to pursue. Your responsibility is the money, the calendar, the deadlines, and creating the conditions for that decision to be made with real information, not fear or attractive brochures.
You did not do the work for your child. You did it together. And that, in a system neither of you inherited, already means having traveled a large part of the way.
Note on sources: the information in this article comes from the reports University of Missouri-St Louis submitted to the United States Department of Education’s IPEDS system, primarily for the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles, as well as the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. Best College Aid does not represent University of Missouri-St Louis or any government agency; this article is an independent informational resource.