College guide

University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus Acceptance Rate, Admissions & Graduation

What You Already Know About University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus Before Your Child Sets Foot on Campus

University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus at a glance

Federal data · IPEDS + Common Data Set
Acceptance rate
76.5%

17,097 admitted of 22,337 applicants · first-time, degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates · fall 2023

Tuition and fees
$9,595 / $26,665

in-state / out-of-state, published price per year · full-time, first-time undergraduates · 2023–24

Average net price · family income $0–$30K
$12,555/yr

after grants and scholarships · full-time, first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates awarded Title IV federal aid, paying in-state or in-district tuition · 2022–23 · every income level

Graduation rate
75%

earned a bachelor's or equivalent degree within 6 years (150% of normal time) · adjusted 2017 bachelor's subcohort of full-time, first-time students · 2017 cohort · IPEDS 2023

SAT / ACT
Test-optional

not required; considered if submitted · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

More numbers
Average high school GPA
3.63

degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted a GPA · Common Data Set 2024–25 (C12), published by the college

High school GPA
Required

how the high school GPA is used in admission · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

SAT Reading & Writing
580–670

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023 (26% submitted SAT scores)

SAT Math
560–660

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023

ACT composite (median)
26

enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted ACT scores · fall 2023

Retention rate
89%

re-enrolled at the college the next fall, full- or part-time · adjusted fall 2022 cohort of full-time, first-time bachelor's degree-seeking students · fall 2022 → fall 2023

Application fee
$50

undergraduate application fee · 2023–24

Hispanic or Latino undergraduates
14%

undergraduates · fall 2023 · describes who studies here, not the support a student will get

Source: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS; average GPA from the college's own Common Data Set. Each number shows who it counts and its year. How we use this data

There is a moment—I have seen it many times—when a parent opens the website of a large university, sees photos of the stadium and the enormous campus, and feels two things at once: pride in how far their child has come just to consider this place, and a quiet sense of vertigo because they do not know what to ask. University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus is exactly that kind of school: large, serious, with many open doors and many numbers that, if they are not translated, remain background noise.

By Francisco CantúAdmissions and financial aid counselor
3,880 words18 min readIPEDS 2022–23
In this article

This article does not decide for you. It gives you the map of just one piece of the plan: what this university is, according to its own official reports. What your child wants to study and what your family can afford are the other two pieces, and only your family has those.

Who This University Is, in a Few Words

University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus is a public, four-year university classified among the doctoral institutions with the highest research activity in the country. That places it in the league of large, serious schools when it comes to research, not in a separate league of quality compared with others: it is a classification of what it does, not a rating of how good it is.

According to its own profile, it is also a large, primarily residential four-year school: between 25 and 49 out of every 100 undergraduates lived in housing owned, controlled, or affiliated with the institution, and at least half studied full time. In its undergraduate profile, it appears within the selective-admission group. It also belongs to the broader family of doctoral institutions, a broad category that groups together schools that differ from one another and that, by itself, does not tell you how much research your child will see during the first year.

Think of these classifications as a directory, not a recommendation. They tell you which schools this one resembles. The decision is still yours.

It is in Norman, Oklahoma, within Cleveland County, and its main campus is located within the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, although that does not mean the campus is in the heart of that city. The census code places it in a suburb: within the urbanized area but outside the principal city. How it feels to live there is something you can know only by going to see it. If your child plans to live at home, I will tell you directly: drive the route yourself on a weekday, at the time your child would have classes. The time shown on the map is almost never the real travel time.

It is a public institution offering programs of four years or more, and its highest reported level is the doctorate. That is an institutional fact: it does not tell you which credential your child’s specific major offers or whether that major connects undergraduate and graduate study. That must be verified program by program. And here is practical advice that always applies at public schools: ask how much they charge an in-state resident and how much they charge someone from out of state, and which of those two figures they are quoting to you, before comparing prices with any other school.

A transparency note: University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus is not listed as a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Those are three different designations with different histories; of the 3,012 universities in this national directory, 138 have at least one of them. The fact that this school has none of them does not tell you which communities it serves today or how your child would feel there. Ask directly: which cultural centers exist, which student organizations are active, and, better yet, speak with someone who already studies there.

A Large Community, and Where Your Child Fits Into It

Let us start with size, because the figures here can be misleading if they are not read carefully. In the official fall count, University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus reported 29,145 enrolled students: the highest band the government uses to classify school size. Compared with the 519 selective public schools in this census, it falls on the large side: only between one and three out of every ten have more students.

But that large number includes graduate students—and quite a few of them: 22,025 are undergraduates and 7,120 are graduate students. If your child is entering college for the first time, the number that truly matters is 22,025, not the total of nearly thirty thousand. A substantial part of this school’s community consists of people who have already completed one degree and returned for another.

As for who makes up that undergraduate community: 14 out of every 100 students are Hispanic or Latino. It is a small minority. Compared with similar selective public schools, University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus ranks above the midpoint of the group without reaching the highest quartile—but that comparison does not adjust for geography, and in a state like Oklahoma, that matters. Put plainly: there are few Latino students here. That does not remove the school from your list, but it does give you a specific question for the visit: what currently exists for Latino students, such as a student group, a cultural center, or someone in the office who speaks Spanish.

The rest of the profile: students ages 25 to 64 are a minority, at 7 out of every 100. The balance between men and women is nearly even, with women accounting for 51 out of every 100. And something that is sometimes surprising: just over half of new students, 50 out of every 100, came from the same state. The other half came from elsewhere. This is not a purely local school.

How the Academic Year Is Organized and How Broad Its Offerings Are

The academic year at University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus is organized into semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. The calendar is fixed, with the same dates for everyone.

The school reported that it accepts credit for AP examinations and also what IPEDS calls credit for life experience: independent study, adult courses, work experience, portfolios, prior licenses, and other pathways. It also enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program and reports accepting credit for military training. Here is the warning that truly matters: the school’s statement that it accepts AP does not mean it automatically awards credit for every examination. We do not know what scores it requires or whether those credits count toward your child’s specific major. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling, and do not budget for those savings until you have it in hand.

As for what can be studied: in a single year, University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus awarded 4,464 bachelor’s degrees across 25 fields-of-study families. The family awarding the most degrees was business and management, with 26 out of every 100 degrees—the largest, but far from accounting for the entire total. Compared with similar schools, it falls within the quartile with the most fields-of-study families represented in its offerings. Its offerings are broad. But 25 families represented do not mean 25 guaranteed majors: each family groups several programs, and some may appear even if they awarded no degrees that year. Verify the exact program that interests your child, not just the broader family.

Regarding class size—the question almost every family asks and almost no brochure can answer well—the official figure is a ratio of 17 students for every full-time-equivalent faculty member. It is an average figure, neither among the lowest nor among the highest at similar schools. And here is the hard truth: this number does not tell you the actual size of first-year classes. It is an institutional average, not a classroom measure. Ask the department for your child’s intended major directly.

The institution also reports structured opportunities worth exploring with your child: study abroad, undergraduate research, a complete program that can be taken only during evenings or weekends, and pathways preparing students for teacher certification, including state approval for initial certification. Their inclusion in the report confirms that they exist as options; it does not say whether your child will qualify or how they work in practice. Ask admissions about them specifically.

Getting In: What the School Requires and How Realistic It Is to Apply

Here is something every family needs to know from the outset: University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus does not have open admission. It reviews several components before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations, it marks four as required: the high school transcript, grade point average, personal essay, and English proficiency examination for applicants to whom it applies. That means your child has to write. Gathering documents is not enough.

Other components are not required but are considered if submitted: class rank, completion of the college-preparatory curriculum recommended by the university, letters of recommendation, a portfolio or competency examination, work experience, and whether a family member studied there. On that last point: if it does not apply to your family, do not spend energy on it. Spend that energy on what is within your child’s control. The published application fee is $50.

Now for the question that truly keeps families awake: how realistic is admission? In the 2023 cycle, out of 22,337 first-time applicants, 17,097 were offered admission. That is 77 out of every 100. Compared with similar selective public schools, this is a common rate, slightly below the midpoint of that group. Put plainly: this school receives thousands of applications and still admits the great majority of applicants. Your child has a real reason to apply and a real reason to make the application complete and submit it on time. Still, that figure is from a single cycle, not a fixed rule: if more people apply in your child’s year and the number of places does not grow, the percentage will fall on its own. Check the current figure again when the time comes.

Something interesting happens after admission: out of every 100 applicants admitted for the first year in 2023, only 30 ultimately enrolled at University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus. The other 70 had an admission letter in hand and chose somewhere else. That is a relatively high rate compared with similar schools, but it does not measure how difficult admission is or how good the school is: it measures what other families decided after receiving the letter. When your child’s letter arrives, compare net price, major, and distance across all the options before the deposit deadline, not this percentage.

Regarding examinations: the SAT and ACT are not required here. If submitted, they are considered; if not, the application remains active just the same. Among those who enrolled, 26 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores, and among them the middle half scored between 580 and 670 in reading and writing and between 560 and 660 in mathematics. That range is not a minimum your child must reach or a guarantee of admission if reached: it shows only what was reported by students who were already admitted and chose to submit their scores.

And for students coming from another university: in the fall of 2023, the school received 1,018 undergraduates who were transferring in for the first time. That is a relatively high count compared with similar schools. What we do not know—because the school did not report it—is how many credits are recognized when they arrive. That question must be addressed directly with the university, case by case.

The Listed Price, and Why Residency Category Matters So Much

At University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus, among 303 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid, paid the in-state or in-district rate, and had EFC records showing family income below $30,000, the average net price was $12,555. Among 208 students in that same population whose EFC family income was from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $17,551; among 282 students in that population whose EFC family income was above $110,000, it was $23,842. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income with their own.

The difference between the average for the lowest-income band, which included 303 students, and the average for the highest-income band, which included 282 students, is $11,287. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship, the average was $19,900.

$12,555 was the average net price for families in the lowest-income band during the 2022-23 academic year. That does not mean it is what your family will pay. It helps you determine whether it is worth requesting the financial-aid letter.

The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average for students receiving grants, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask about it before applying.

Where the Money May Come From, and What Must Be Repaid

Here is good news that must be read precisely: 85 out of every 100 degree-seeking students at University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus received a grant or scholarship that does not have to be repaid. Compared with similar schools, it falls within the quartile where grants reach the most students, with an average of $10,025 among those who received them.

But there is another figure that should be kept separate: the Pell Grant, which is federal aid specifically for low-income families, reached only 24 out of every 100 students. Aid in general reaches the great majority; aid tied specifically to family income reaches fewer than one in four. That difference may come from other sources—state aid, institutional aid, or other federal programs—and the report does not make it possible to know exactly which ones. Ask which programs account for that difference and what they require. And when your financial-aid letter arrives, sort it by hand into three piles yourself: money that is not repaid, money that is repaid with interest, and money that must be earned through work. Many letters mix them in a single column to make the total look larger.

Regarding loans: 33 out of every 100 undergraduates took out a federal loan in the 2022-23 year, with an average of $6,487 among those who borrowed. That is a common share compared with similar schools. Here is the plain truth every family needs to hear: which of the two groups your child falls into—the group that does not borrow or the group that does—is not determined by this national percentage. It is determined by the financial-aid letter your child receives, in writing. And that average of $6,487 is for a single year and includes only federal loans in the student’s name: it does not include anything parents may borrow separately, nor is it the total debt with which the student would leave upon graduation. Wait for the actual letter before ruling out or committing to this school.

The institution also reports formal mechanisms for organizing payment: a guaranteed tuition plan, installment payments, and participation in a Promise-type program. It is worth asking about each one by its exact name.

Living There: Housing, Services, and Life Beyond the Classroom

University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus does have its own housing, and it does not require all first-year students to live there—although that does not rule out the possibility that a specific program may require it. It also offers meal plans, although the number of meals per week varies by the plan selected. The reported maximum capacity of institutional housing is 6,340 students. The existence of this option does not guarantee an available bed or a plan included in the price: request the current rate, the deadline for applying for a room, and whether a place is guaranteed or the student is placed on a waiting list, all in writing.

For families with children interested in the armed forces: the school indicated that it has ROTC opportunities in all three branches—the Army, Navy, and Air Force, with the Marine Corps option within the Navy. Reporting all three is uncommon: of the 3,012 universities in this directory, only 135 do so. But reporting them does not confirm that the program is offered on this specific campus or confirm available places or scholarships. Ask about each branch by its exact name.

In athletics, University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA. The report confirms membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field, but it does not specify division or scholarships by sport. If your child is an athlete, write directly to the coach for that sport and request the answer in writing.

Distance education is also available here at the undergraduate and graduate levels, although it is the exception rather than the rule: only 5 out of every 100 undergraduates took all their classes at a distance; the other 95 took at least one class in person. The school also reports at least one complete program that can be taken at a distance, although the report does not specify exactly at which level—confirm that with the program of interest.

The library operates with paid staff; its expenditures exceed the $100,000 threshold tracked by the government; and it has physical and digital materials and interlibrary loan. Regarding general support, the institution reports combined academic and career counseling, student employment services, on-campus child care, a postsecondary transition program for students with intellectual disabilities, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program for veterans, a dedicated point of contact for military families, and a student veterans organization. Their inclusion in the report confirms their formal existence, not their quality or whether they will fit your child’s needs. That must be evaluated in person.

What Happens After Enrollment: Who Stays and Who Graduates

Here we come to the figures that, to me, are the most important in this entire article, because they address what truly matters: whether a student who enrolls finishes.

Of the cohort that entered in the fall of 2022 as first-time, full-time students—a cohort of 4,102—3,646 were still enrolled or had already completed their bachelor’s degree one year later. That is 89 out of every 100. Compared with similar selective public schools, University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus is among those retaining the largest share of their cohort: nine out of ten schools in that group retain an equal or smaller share. It is a strong figure. But it must be stated precisely: this figure combines students who are still studying with those who have already graduated, and it does not tell you what happened to those outside that 89.

Now for the figure that truly defines a family’s budget: of the cohort that entered in 2017 as first-time, full-time students—a cohort of 3,955—2,978 had earned their degree within six years. That is 75 out of every 100, and compared with similar schools, it places the university in the top quartile: three out of four comparable schools graduate a smaller share of students. It is a strong figure.

But look closely, because here is the hard truth I do not want to soften: within four years—the period most families budget for—the rate is only 56 out of every 100. Nineteen points lower than the six-year rate. That means a significant share of this cohort needed an additional year, or more, to finish. And an additional year at a university of this size is not a minor detail in a family budget. Before signing anything, ask in writing how long students typically take to complete your child’s specific program, how its required courses are scheduled, and what happens to the total cost if the plan takes longer.

There is one more figure, from a different and broader cohort—one that follows for eight years 6,113 students who entered between 2015 and 2016, combining full-time and part-time students, first-time students, and students who already had prior college experience: as of August 2023, 70 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school. Among those who specifically received a Pell Grant, the figure was 62 out of every 100, eleven points below the figure for those who did not receive one. A family’s eligibility for Pell today does not determine its own child’s outcome, but it does raise a legitimate question worth asking the school directly: what specifically exists for those students—an assigned counselor, emergency aid, whether the institutional grant renews every year—and request that answer in writing.

What This Article Cannot Tell You

These data do not tell us what happens to students after graduation: not whether they find employment, what they earn, or whether the debt they carry when they leave is manageable. That belongs to another investigation using other sources, and it is not authorized by what we have reviewed here.

Putting the Pieces Together

You now know, in considerable detail, one of the three pieces you need to make a decision: what University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus is, according to its own reports. You know that it is large, selective but accessible in practice, with a small Latino community, a high listed price that changes radically depending on residency, aid that reaches the majority but in amounts that depend on family income, and a strong graduation rate that contains within it the real possibility of an additional year of study.

Your child’s part—what to study, how far away to live, and how much your child sees themself reflected in that community—is your child’s part of the story, and there you provide support rather than making the decision. Your part is the money, the dates, the questions in writing, and the forms submitted on time. No figure in this article determines whether this is the right university for your family. But now, when the admission letter and financial-aid letter arrive, you will read them knowing exactly what to ask.

Source note: the information in this article comes from the official reports that University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus submits to the U.S. Department of Education’s IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), corresponding primarily to the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles. Best College Aid does not represent University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus or any government agency; this article is an independent explanation of public data.

Want to understand what this means for your child?

In our free presentation we show you, step by step, how to build your child's college list and understand financial aid.

Sign up free