I am going to walk you through what University of Scranton reports about itself: who studies there, how much it costs, how hard it is to get in, how it is paid for, and what happens to the students who stay. I am not going to tell you whether it is the right university for your child. An article cannot decide that. But I can give you the map for one of the three pieces you need to make that decision: what this university is, with its real numbers, without embellishment or scare tactics.
What Kind of University It Is
University of Scranton is in Scranton, Pennsylvania, in Lackawanna County, within the Scranton–Wilkes-Barre metropolitan area. The census code places it within a city, although that tells you where it is, not what it is like to get there. If your child plans to live at home and drive every day, do yourself a favor: travel the route on a weekday at the exact time of their classes. The actual travel time is almost never what the map says.
It is a private, nonprofit institution offering programs of four years or more, and the government classifies it as a master's university with larger programs. It reports the doctorate as the highest degree level it offers, although that is a general institutional fact: it does not tell you whether the program your child is interested in reaches that level. That must be asked program by program.
The Carnegie classification, based on 2019-20 data, describes it as a medium-sized, highly residential four-year school: at that time, at least half of its undergraduate students lived in institution-owned or institution-affiliated housing, and at least 80 out of every 100 attended full time. It also appears in Carnegie's selective admissions group.
Here is the first thing you should know to avoid a surprise: being "highly residential" does not mean that living on campus is included in tuition. That cost is almost never bundled into the brochure figure. Ask for it separately, including the meal plan, before comparing this school with any other school your family is considering.
One more note, brief but important: University of Scranton does not have any of these three federal designations: it is not a historically Black college or university (HBCU), a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this national directory, 138 have at least one of the three. University of Scranton's absence from that list does not tell you which communities it serves or how your child would feel there. You find that out by asking which student organizations and cultural centers exist today and by talking with someone who already studies there.
Who Shares the Classroom With Your Child
In fall 2023, University of Scranton reported a total enrollment of 4,825 students: 3,666 undergraduates and 1,159 graduate students. It is medium-sized, and compared with 941 similar selective private schools, it is on the larger side: between one and three out of every ten schools in that group have more students.
Here is a clarification that will save you confusion later: if your child is entering a bachelor's degree program, the number that matters is 3,666, not 4,825. The larger total includes graduate students.
As for who makes up that undergraduate community:
- 12 out of every 100 students are Hispanic or Latino. This is a small minority, although compared with 941 similar selective private schools, it is above the midpoint of the group.
- There are more women than men: 57 out of every 100 are women.
- There are very few adult students: only 2 out of every 100 are between 25 and 64 years old.
- Fewer than half of first-time students, 44 out of every 100, had permanent residence in Pennsylvania. The rest come from other states or other countries, or their residence was not reported. This does not measure travel distance or cost; it only says that most of their classmates come from outside Pennsylvania.
If it matters to your family that your child find other Latino students, the honest figure is that there are few here: 12 out of every 100. That does not have to remove the school from your list, but it does give you a specific question for your visit: what is available for Latino students, such as a student group, a cultural center, or someone in the office who speaks Spanish?
How Classes and Credits Are Organized
University of Scranton operates on semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. That means consistent dates for everyone, without calendar surprises halfway through the year.
The school stated that it accepts two ways for what your child already knows to count as credit: AP exams and what IPEDS calls "credit for life experiences"—independent study, noncredit adult courses, work experience, portfolios, prior licenses, or military or professional pathways. It also enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program.
Pay attention to something important here: the school's statement that it accepts AP does not mean that it awards credit for every exam. The report does not say what scores are required, how many credits are awarded, or whether those credits apply to your child's specific program. Ask for the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for the savings until you have it in hand.
As for the academic offerings: in the latest year reported, University of Scranton awarded 872 bachelor's degrees across 23 different fields of study. The field awarding the most degrees was business and management, with 24 out of every 100 degrees, but no other area accounts for the bulk of them. Compared with 942 similar selective private schools, it ranks in the quartile with the most fields of study represented in its offerings. It is a university with a broad catalog, not a school dominated by a single specialty. Even so, 23 fields are not 23 exact majors; verify the specific program your child is interested in, because one report row may group several programs or may even report no degrees awarded that year.
As for class size: the official ratio is 13 students for every full-time-equivalent faculty member. That is a low figure in general terms, but compared with similar schools, it is above the median—not in the highest quartile, but above the midpoint. Both things are true at the same time, which is why I am giving them to you separately. What this number does not tell you is the actual size of a first-year class. It is an institution-wide ratio, not a class-by-class measure.
What Structured Academic Pathways It Offers
University of Scranton reports these formal opportunities: study abroad, undergraduate research outside the classroom, and several pathways related to teacher certification, including preparation in subject areas and state approval for initial certification. If your child is interested in any of these opportunities, this gives you a place to start asking questions.
What It Takes to Get In: Requirements, Rates, and What Really Matters
Let us start with what the university requires. In its report for the fall 2023 admissions cycle, University of Scranton stated that it does not have open admissions: it reviews specific components before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations, it marked five as required: the high school record, GPA, class rank, letters of recommendation, and an English proficiency exam for anyone required to take one. In addition, although they are not required, it considers them if you submit them: the college-preparatory course record and the personal essay.
A practical point: letters of recommendation are required. Ask for them a month in advance, and give the teacher a sheet describing what your child has done over the years. Nobody remembers everything.
The published undergraduate application fee is $0. It is worth confirming when the time comes, but that is what the university reports.
Now, the numbers on who gets in. In the 2023 cycle, University of Scranton received 9,530 first-time applications and offered admission to 8,039 applicants. That is 84 out of every 100 accepted. Compared with 942 similar selective private schools, it is on the high side for acceptance: seven out of every ten schools in that group, or more, accepted an equal or smaller percentage.
Put simply: this school receives thousands of applications and still accepts the great majority of applicants. Your child has a real reason to apply, as long as they complete the application fully and on time. But remember: that 84 out of every 100 is from a single cycle, not a permanent rule at the school. When it is your child's turn, check the figure again for the applicable year.
Here is a figure that often surprises people: out of every 100 admitted students, only 13 ultimately enrolled. In other words, out of every 8 accepted applicants, roughly one ended up coming here. The others had a place and did not take it. This is not a mark against the school—the federal record does not say why each person chose what they chose—and it also tells you nothing about what your child will be offered. What does matter is this: wait for the letter showing your net price, because that is the real number you use to decide whether this school stays on your list.
As for standardized tests: the SAT and ACT are not required here. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains equally valid. Of the students who enrolled, 31 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores—a high share compared with similar schools. Among those who submitted them, the middle half scored between 580 and 660 in reading and writing and between 570 and 660 in math. Take note: these ranges are for students who were already enrolled, not for all applicants, and they do not prove that the score determined anyone's admission. That 580 is not a minimum your child needs to reach.
As for transfers: in fall 2023, 58 undergraduate students entered University of Scranton for the first time after having studied at another institution. This is a count of people, not a proportion, and compared with similar schools, it falls in the lower half. The school did not report the transfer-out rate—how many students who entered later leave—so that information is simply unavailable. It does not mean that no one transfers out; it means that the figure was not reported.
How Much It Costs and What Families Actually Pay
At University of Scranton, among 119 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $17,968. Among 83 students in the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $24,999; among 402 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $38,306. For dependent students, the income band combines their parents' income with their own.
There is a difference of $20,338 between the average for the lowest-income band (119 students) and the average for the highest-income band (402 students). These are group averages, not a prediction of your family's price. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $32,100.
$17,968 was the average net price for families in the lowest-income band in academic year 2022-23. That does not mean it is what your family will pay. It helps you determine whether it is worth requesting the aid letter.
Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, identifying yours correctly is the first step. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall grant-aid average, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships. The aid letter you receive is what governs.
How It Is Paid For: Scholarships, Aid, and Loans
The good news, in numbers: 95 out of every 100 University of Scranton students received some grant or scholarship aid that does not have to be repaid. Receiving something here is the norm, not the exception. Among those who received it, the annual average was $30,573. That is real money, but it is not a price—the average includes people who received much more and people who received much less.
The federal Pell Grant, for low-income families with demonstrated need, reached 23 out of every 100 students.
Now for the part that requires sitting down with paper and pencil: 65 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan in academic year 2022-23. That is more than six out of every ten—financing with debt is common here. Among those who borrowed, each received an average of $6,581 that year. If your child borrowed a similar amount in each of the four years, the total would be around $26,324, not including interest.
Compared with similar schools, University of Scranton is on the high side in the share of students with loans.
Here is a hard truth I do not want to soften: that average of $6,581 is for just one year and only for federal loans in the student's name. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes take out, bank debt, or credit-card debt. Nor is it the total debt someone has upon graduation—to determine that, you would have to add all four years, and that figure simply is not in this report.
The fact that borrowing is common here does not determine whether your child will need to borrow. That depends on their specific aid letter and the difference between the net price and what your family can contribute. If debt appears in the offer, ask for the estimated monthly payment before accepting the letter—that number is decided before the first signature, not at the end of the road.
As for payment mechanisms, the university reports that an installment tuition payment plan is available as an option for managing the cost.
Living There: Campus, Support, and Student Life
University of Scranton does have its own housing. No first-time, full-time student is universally required to live there—although that does not rule out a requirement for a specific program. The reported maximum capacity is 2,363 students. It also offers meal plans, although the number of meals per week varies according to the plan selected.
The existence of housing does not guarantee you an assigned bed. Ask in writing for this year's rate, the deadline to apply for a room, and whether a place is guaranteed or you will be put on a waiting list.
As for ROTC: the university reports opportunities in two branches, Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked. The fact that it is reported does not mean that the program is necessarily taught on this campus—ask about it by name if your child is interested in this pathway.
In athletics, University of Scranton competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA, not with other associations. It reports membership for basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. The affiliation belongs to the school; it is not a promise to your child. If your child is interested in competing, write directly to the coach for the sport and ask about a place on the team, the division, and whether athletic aid is available.
As for distance learning: the university does offer online education at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, including at least one program in which all required courses can be completed at a distance. But in practice, in the fall count, fewer than 1 out of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load at a distance. If this matters to your family, confirm in writing whether it applies to your child's specific program.
The library operates with paid staff, and its annual expenditures exceed the $100,000 threshold recorded by the government. It has physical and digital collections and participates in interlibrary lending. It reports facilities, established hours, and trained staff. Exceeding that threshold does not guarantee that it has specific databases for your child's program—ask about those by program name.
Finally, regarding institutional support, University of Scranton reports combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement services upon program completion, participation in Yellow Ribbon, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and military families, a student veterans organization, and a published web address for disability services.
What Happens to Students Who Enroll: Retention and Graduation
Here we come to the question that probably matters most to you: if your child enrolls, do they stay? Do they graduate?
Of the cohort that entered in fall 2022 (1,043 first-time, full-time, bachelor's-degree-seeking students), 911 were still enrolled or had already completed their degree one year later: 87 out of every 100. Compared with 930 similar selective private schools, this figure places the university in the upper part of the group. It is a good rate, but remember: it combines those who were still enrolled with those who had already graduated, without separating the two groups, and it does not say what happened to the rest.
As for graduation: of the 901 students who began a bachelor's degree in 2017, 728 had the degree in hand six years later—81 out of every 100. At four years, the figure was already 76 out of every 100, only 5 points below the final six-year result. Compared with 920 similar schools, it is in the top quartile: three out of every four schools in that group, or more, had an equal or smaller share of graduates.
It is a high, solid figure. But here is the hard truth I do not intend to soften: a high percentage is not a promise for your child. It is what happened to the cohort that entered in 2017. What is in your hands, and your child's, is making sure that their credits are in order from the first semester and that they know from day one who their advisor is and when registration opens for courses in their major.
There is a third, longer measure: IPEDS followed a cohort of 1,037 students who entered between July 2015 and June 2016 for eight years. As of August 2023, 77 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school. Among those who specifically received a Pell Grant, the figure was 70 out of every 100—nine points below the group that did not receive Pell. Compared with 935 similar schools, it is also in the top quartile.
If your family would qualify for Pell today, that nine-point difference is a question worth taking directly to the university: what specifically is available for those students? An assigned advisor, emergency aid, annual renewal of the institutional grant? Ask them to answer in writing.
How to Put All of This Together
You now know University of Scranton in greater depth than you did when you started reading.
None of these numbers makes the decision for you. The university does its part: it admits students, offers aid, and publishes its figures. Your child has their part: studying, exploring, writing the essay, and deciding what they want. You have yours: understanding the family's finances, requesting the aid letter in writing, comparing the actual net price rather than the list price, and providing support without carrying alone the weight of a decision that is not entirely yours.
This article gave you one of the three parts of the map: what the university really is. The other two—what your child wants and has built, and what your family can and is willing to pay—belong only to you. When you put all three together, you have a plan.
Source note: the information in this article comes from data reported by University of Scranton to the U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), primarily from the 2022-24 cycle. Best College Aid does not represent University of Scranton or the U.S. government; this article organizes public information to help families understand it.