What Kind of University Is It?
Carnegie—the system that classifies US universities according to what they do—classifies University of Toledo among doctoral institutions with high research activity. It is a large, primarily residential four-year school: in the snapshot used by this classification, between 25 and 49 out of every 100 undergraduate students lived in housing owned, controlled, or affiliated with the institution, and at least half studied full time. In its undergraduate profile, Carnegie places it in the selective-admission group. And it belongs to the family of doctoral institutions, a broad category encompassing different realities that, by itself, does not tell you how much research your child will encounter during the first year.
It is worth saying this clearly: Carnegie describes what a school does, using the same rules for everyone. It does not accredit, recommend, or grade. It helps you understand which schools this one resembles. You decide the rest.
Geographically, University of Toledo is in the city of Toledo, Ohio, within Lucas County and the city’s metropolitan area. The census code places it in a principal city with a population of 250,000 or more. That does not tell you how to get to campus or what there is nearby—those are things you investigate yourself—but if your child plans to live at home, I recommend something simple: drive the route on a weekday at the exact time of your child’s classes. The actual travel time is almost never what the map says.
It is a public institution offering programs lasting four years or more, and the government records the doctoral degree as the highest level it reports offering. That is an institutional fact, not a promise about your child’s program: it does not tell you whether that major exists there or whether it connects to a graduate program. That must be verified program by program. And because it is public, remember something basic but easy to overlook: ask how much an in-state resident is charged, how much someone from outside the state is charged, and which of those two figures you are being quoted. Compare prices only after getting that answer.
University of Toledo has none of these three designations: it is not a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this census, 138 have at least one of the three. Not having them does not tell you which students it serves or how your child will feel there. Ask directly which cultural centers currently exist, which student organizations are available, and—most usefully—talk with someone who already studies there.
The Actual Size and Who Shares the Classroom
In fall 2023, University of Toledo reported an enrollment of 14,939 students. It is a large school: the government places it in the 10,000 to 19,999 band, and compared with its 519 peers—public four-year schools with selective admission in this same census—its size is among the most common, near the middle of the group.
But that large figure hides something important: 11,447 are undergraduate students and 3,492 are graduate students. If your child is entering an undergraduate program, the figure that matters is not the total. It is 11,447. A substantial portion of that large number consists of people who have already completed a bachelor’s degree and returned for more education.
And who shares the classroom with your child? Among undergraduate students in fall 2023, 7 out of every 100 are Hispanic or Latino. It is a small minority, and compared with its 519 peers, University of Toledo falls below the group’s midpoint without falling into the bottom quarter. Students ages 25 to 64 are also a minority: 10 out of every 100. The undergraduate population is almost evenly split between men and women, with 52 women for every 100 students. IPEDS does not report where incoming students came from—which states or countries—for this school in this cycle.
Having few Latino students does not make the school bad, just as having many would not make it good. This number counts who is enrolled and nothing more. If your child will be one of the few, ask which student groups and support services exist, and speak with someone already there before deciding. The number covers the entire school; your child’s specific program may look different.
How the Academic Year Works
University of Toledo organizes its year into semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. It reported accepting prior credit through two avenues: AP exams and what IPEDS calls credit for life experience—independent study, adult courses, work experience, portfolios, licenses or certifications, and military or government opportunities. It also reports accepting credit for military training. And it enrolls high school students in college courses for credit through a formal dual-enrollment program.
Here is the hard truth behind this: reporting that it accepts AP does not mean it awards credit for every exam. It does not say what score is required or whether those credits count toward your child’s specific program. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for the savings until you have it in hand.
Between July 2022 and June 2023, University of Toledo awarded 2,688 bachelor’s degrees across 25 program families—what the government calls CIP families. The family awarding the most degrees was health professions, with 23 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year—a notable but not dominant share. Compared with 514 peers, it falls in the quarter with the most program families represented in its detailed report. But note that 25 families with a row in the report do not mean 25 active programs or 25 families in which degrees were actually awarded—some rows may report zero. Verify the exact program that interests your child.
Regarding group size, the reported ratio is 18 students for each full-time-equivalent faculty member. It is a middle-range figure on the overall scale, but compared with its 519 peers of the same type, it falls in the highest quarter—three out of four peers report the same ratio or a lower one. Both things are true at the same time, which is why I am telling you about them separately. Keep in mind that this figure does not describe the actual size of a first-year class. It is an institutional ratio, not a classroom.
Academic Paths the Institution Reports Offering
University of Toledo reports offering study abroad, co-curricular undergraduate research, a complete program that can be taken only during evenings or weekends, and teacher preparation and certification pathways, including state approval for initial teacher certification. These are opportunities reported by the institution; their existence on paper is the starting point for asking about the details, not a guarantee that they are available to every student.
The Entrance Door: What It Requires, What It Does Not, and How Easy It Is to Get In
Here is something worth knowing from the start: University of Toledo does not have open admission. It reviews specific items before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations, it marked three as required: the high school transcript, the high school GPA, and an English-proficiency exam for applicants to whom it applies.
The list of what it does NOT consider is longer: class rank, completion of a recommended college-preparatory program, a personal essay, letters of recommendation, a portfolio or competency exam, work experience, and whether a relative attended. Even if your child submits them, the report says they do not factor into the admission decision.
Put simply: send the transcript and GPA. The essay and letters are marked as not considered. IPEDS does not state the exact weight of each item, so this does not tell you that GPA is the only factor—but it does tell you that it is one of the factors that count.
The published undergraduate application fee is $40. And if your child studied outside the United States or attended high school in Spanish, ask today whether the English-proficiency exam is required and what qualifies for an exemption. This is one of those things people discover late, creating scheduling complications.
How selective is it in practice? In the reported cycle, University of Toledo had 11,184 first-time applicants and admitted 10,606. That is 95 out of every 100. Compared with its 519 peers, it falls on the high side: seven out of ten schools in that group, or more, accepted the same or a smaller percentage. Even with that openness, 578 applicants did not receive an offer.
For a family, this means something concrete: your child’s effort is better spent meeting the deadline and completing the application properly than fighting for a spot. But—and this matters—being easy to get into does not mean it is inexpensive or that most students finish. Net price and graduation rate carry more weight than admission rate. We will get to those figures later.
Something interesting happens after admission: out of every 100 admitted applicants, only 20 enrolled. The remaining 80 had an offer but did not accept it. Compared with its 519 peers, that proportion is among the most common, near the middle of the group. Do not read this as a mark against the school—the federal record does not say why each person made that decision. What you should do is wait for your own letter showing the net price, which is what the year will actually cost you, before deciding whether this school stays on the list.
Regarding standardized tests, the SAT and ACT are not required. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid. Among enrolled students, only 10 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores, and the middle half of those students scored between 530 and 640 in reading and writing and between 520 and 660 in mathematics. That 530 is not a minimum, and that 640 is not a guarantee: these are ranges for students who were already enrolled and chose to submit their scores, not for all applicants.
Regarding transfers, in fall 2023, 655 undergraduate students arrived after previously studying at another institution. Compared with its 519 peers, that number places it in the upper half—although it is a count of people, not a proportion, and goes hand in hand with the school’s size. How many credits those transfer students received is a separate question to ask the school directly. The transfer-out rate—how many students who enrolled here leave for another institution—is not reported in this file. That does not demonstrate that no one transfers; the data simply are not available.
The Price: What It Costs on Paper
For the 2023–24 year, University of Toledo reported a total cost of attendance of $32,309 for a first-time, full-time student living on campus and paying the in-state rate. If the student pays the out-of-state rate, the total rises to $41,669.
Broken down, that is $12,377 in tuition and fees at the in-state rate ($21,737 for an out-of-state student), $14,652 for on-campus housing and food, and $1,240 for books and supplies. The remainder is an estimate of personal expenses made by the financial aid office.
Compared with 483 similar schools, this total cost at the in-state rate is among the highest in the group. And the difference between paying as an in-state resident and paying as an out-of-state student is $9,360 per year. That gap is not cosmetic: ask the institution what requirements it uses to determine residency and when they take effect, because the rules are not the same everywhere.
That figure—$32,309, or $41,669—is the sticker price before any aid. It is not the bill your family will receive. That is why net price exists.
The Actual Price: What Families Pay Based on Their Income
At University of Toledo, among 232 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid, paid the in-state or in-district rate, and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $12,763. Among 177 students in the same population whose EFC family income was between $48,001 and $75,000, it was $17,553; among 330 students whose EFC family income was above $110,000, it was $21,594. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income with their own.
The difference between the average for the lowest-income band (232 students) and the average for the highest-income band (330 students) is $8,831. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $17,927.
Among the 519 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this figure with the same time coverage, University of Toledo falls in the most expensive quarter for the lowest-income families. That does not mean you should rule it out. It means you should request the financial aid letter before deciding.
The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average for students receiving grant or scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask about it before applying.
Aid and Loans: Who Receives What
Out of every 100 degree-seeking students at University of Toledo, 79 received some form of grant or scholarship aid that does not need to be repaid, averaging $8,831 per year among recipients. The Pell Grant—federal aid for low-income families—reached 29 out of every 100. The difference between that 79 and that 29 may include non-Pell federal, state, local, or institutional aid; the report does not make it possible to know the exact composition. Ask the school which programs account for that difference and what each requires.
When your aid letter arrives, separate it by hand into three piles: what does not have to be repaid, what must be repaid with interest, and what must be earned through work. Many letters mix them together in a single column, and that confusion costs real money.
Regarding loans, 38 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal loan during the 2022-23 academic year—more than two out of ten, but less than half. Among those who borrowed, the average amount per borrower was $6,232. Compared with its 519 peers, that proportion is among the most common, near the middle of the group.
This percentage describes other families, not yours. Your child’s own financial aid letter—not this average—determines which of the two groups your child falls into: those with a loan or those without one. And that figure of $6,232 covers only one year and only federal loans in the student’s name: it does not include loans that parents sometimes end up signing, credit cards, or the total debt someone has upon graduating. Wait for your letter before ruling out the school and before committing to it.
For payment, the institution reports two mechanisms: a guaranteed tuition plan and an installment payment plan. It is worth asking about both in detail before signing anything.
Campus Life: Housing, ROTC, Sports, Distance Education, and the Library
University of Toledo does have institution-controlled housing, and it does not require all first-time, full-time students to live there—although that does not say whether a specific program may require it. It also offers meal plans, with a fixed number of meals per week in the largest plan. The reported maximum capacity of institutional housing is 2,080 students, on or off campus. The existence of a room does not guarantee that a bed will be available for your child: request the year’s rate, the housing application deadline, and whether a place is guaranteed or your child will be placed on a waiting list, all in writing.
ROTC is available in two branches: Army and Air Force. Navy is not marked as available. A checkmark does not tell you whether the program is offered on this specific campus or another one, how many spaces are available, or which scholarships are associated with it. Ask about each by name before building a plan around ROTC.
In sports, University of Toledo competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA, not other associations. It reports membership for football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. This does not identify the division, current season, or whether an athletic scholarship is available for the sport that interests your child. Ask the coach directly and get the answer in writing.
Regarding distance education, it offers it at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. In the most recent count, 15 out of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load at a distance, and 85 had at least one in-person class. The institution also reports having at least one complete program that can be finished entirely through distance education—confirm the exact level and program if this interests your child.
The library has paid staff, with annual expenditures above the government-recorded threshold of $100,000. It has physical and digital materials and participates in interlibrary lending. That threshold is only a floor: exceeding $100,000 does not guarantee that specialized databases are available for your child’s program. Ask about them by program name.
The institution also reports academic and career counseling services, employment services for current students, placement services for graduates, a transition program for students with intellectual disabilities, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program for veterans, a point of contact for members of the military and their families, and a recognized student veterans organization.
Do They Stay? Do They Graduate? What the Cohorts Say
Here we reach the figures that matter most when making a decision, because they describe what actually happens after a student enrolls.
Of the full-time cohort that entered in fall 2022 (1,994 students), 76 out of every 100 met the official retention criterion: they were still enrolled or had already graduated one year later. Compared with its 519 peers, this places University of Toledo slightly above the group’s midpoint. In a separate part-time cohort (50 students), retention was 52 out of every 100—figures that should not be mixed because these are different groups with different circumstances.
Regarding graduation, of the 2,973 first-time, full-time students who began bachelor’s-degree programs in 2017, 1,715 had graduated from the same institution within six years. That is 58 out of every 100. At four years, the figure is 35 out of every 100—23 points lower. Four years is the period most families have budgeted for, so that gap truly matters: before signing, request in writing how long students typically take to finish the specific program that interests your child, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost changes if the program takes longer.
Compared with its 518 peers, half the group or more reported the same or a lower six-year graduation proportion—University of Toledo is above the median. The available data do not make it possible to fully reconstruct what happened to the rest of that cohort: a blank space in the report does not mean they dropped out, nor does it mean they transferred. It simply is not documented in this file.
There is an even longer view: among a cohort of 5,116 students who entered between July 2015 and June 2016—combining first-time, full-time, and part-time students—by the August 2023 reporting point, eight years later, 55 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school. Within that group, Pell Grant recipients graduated at a rate of 45 out of every 100—16 points below those who did not receive it. Compared with its 519 peers, this eight-year figure falls below the group’s midpoint.
This does not tell you what will happen to your child. It tells you that if your family would qualify for Pell, it is worth asking the school very clearly what, specifically, is available for those students: Is there an assigned advisor? Is emergency aid available? Does the institution’s grant or scholarship renew automatically each year? And ask for the answers in writing.
What These Numbers Cannot Tell You
This report contains no data about what happens after graduation: there are no employment, salary, or total debt figures upon leaving. That information belongs to another source, and any claim about it would fall outside what the government reports here.
And there is something larger behind all these figures: they are averages and percentages for an entire institution. They do not predict the experience of any particular student. Your child is not an average. Your child is a person with a specific program, a specific family budget, and a life these files cannot see.
Putting the Pieces Together
You now know one of the three pieces you need to make a decision about University of Toledo: you know what kind of university it is, how its admission process works, what it costs on paper and what it ultimately costs based on family income, and what its cohorts say about staying and graduating.
You still need to combine this with what your child wants to study and has already accomplished in high school, and with what your family can and is willing to pay. A federal report cannot provide either of those two pieces. You build them together at home through concrete conversations: which program interests your child, how far away your child is willing to live, and how much you can pay without putting everything else at risk.
With those three pieces together—the university, the student, the family—you do not have all the certainty you would like. But you do have a plan. And a plan, even an incomplete one, is always better than setting out without a map.
Source note: The information in this article comes from official data reported by University of Toledo to the US Department of Education’s IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), primarily covering the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles. Best College Aid does not represent University of Toledo or the US government; this article organizes and explains public data for informational purposes.