I am not going to tell you whether this university is right for your child. That depends on three things only your family knows: what your child wants to study, what your child has built so far, and what you can and are willing to pay. This article gives you the first piece of the map—the university itself—so you can combine it with the other two.
What kind of school it is and where it stands
Let us start with how it is classified by the system that organizes all the colleges and universities in this country. Carnegie, the most widely used academic classification system in the United States, places University of Wisconsin-Madison among doctoral universities with the highest level of research activity. It is a large, primarily residential, four-year school: at the time of the data snapshot used for that classification, between 25 and 49 out of every 100 degree-seeking undergraduate students lived in institutionally controlled housing, and at least half studied full time.
In its undergraduate admissions profile, Carnegie places it in its most selective group. That does not mean it teaches better than another school. It means only that it describes whom the school lets through the door. How many out of every hundred applicants get in is another data point, one worth seeing before your child finishes the college list, and one I share later in this article.
Physically, University of Wisconsin-Madison is in Madison, Wisconsin, within Dane County, in a metropolitan area classified as a principal city with a population of 250,000 or more. That does not tell you what it is like to walk to campus or what there is nearby for daily life: you have to see that yourself. If your child is considering living at home while studying there, drive the route on a weekday at the actual time of the classes. The travel time shown on the map is almost never the real travel time.
It is a public institution offering programs of four years or more, and the government records a doctoral degree as the highest level it reports offering. That is an institutional data point: it does not tell you which credential each particular program offers or whether the exact major that interests your child goes up to that level. That detail must be checked program by program, directly with the school.
There is something else in its official profile: the government file from 2023 identifies it as a Land Grant Institution, a historic designation shared by only 80 of the 3,012 institutions in this database. Do not read that label as a verdict on quality. It does not tell you which programs it offers today, how much they cost, or what a student's actual experience there will be like. What you should ask—and this applies to any college you are considering—is what student center exists, which scholarships apply, and who answers the phone when you call in April with an urgent question.
A huge school, and what that size conceals
University of Wisconsin-Madison reported 49,605 enrolled students in its official fall count. That places it in the highest enrollment band used by the United States government: 20,000 students or more. Compared with the 519 selective-admission, four-year public schools in this census, it is among the largest. At most, one in ten schools in that group has more students.
But that large number is not just undergraduates. It is divided between 36,797 undergraduate students and 12,808 graduate students: people who have already completed a degree and returned for another one. If your child is enrolling to pursue a bachelor's degree, the number that matters is 36,797, not the total. Graduate enrollment inflates the figure, and you should know that before imagining the actual size of your child's classroom.
And who makes up that undergraduate community? Out of every 100 students, 8 are Hispanic or Latino. It is a small minority, and compared with the 519 similar schools in this census, it falls below the midpoint of the group. There are almost no older adults: just 3 out of every 100 are between 25 and 64 years old. The balance between men and women is nearly even, with 53 out of every 100 being women. And using the rounded percentage, fewer than half of first-time students—48 out of every 100—had a reported permanent residence in Wisconsin. The rest come from other states or countries, or their residence was not reported precisely.
Having few Latino students does not make the school bad, just as having many would not make it good by itself. It is a data point that describes who is enrolled, nothing more. If your child will be one of the few, the question worth asking during the visit is not rhetorical: which student groups exist, what support is available, and whether you can speak with a Latino student who is already enrolled before your child decides.
How the academic year is structured
University of Wisconsin-Madison operates on a semester calendar: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. That means fixed, consistent dates for everyone, not a flexible module system.
The university stated that it accepts prior credit through two routes: AP exams and what the government calls credit for life experience, which may include independent study, work experience, portfolios, prior certifications, or military training. It also reported that it enrolls high school students in college courses for credit, both within and outside formal dual-enrollment programs.
Here is the part that truly matters for your budget and planning: the fact that the school says it accepts AP does not mean your child will receive credit for every exam submitted. The report does not specify the scores required or the number of credits awarded, or whether those credits count toward the specific major your child wants. Ask for the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for the savings until you have it in hand.
As for its academic offerings, the university awarded 8,121 bachelor's degrees in a single year, distributed across 25 different academic fields. None accounts for an enormous share: the largest, business and management, represented just 16 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year. Compared with 514 similar schools in this census, it falls in the quarter with the most academic fields represented in its offerings. It is a broad selection, but “25 fields with a row in the detailed data” does not mean 25 specific majors: each field groups multiple programs, and some rows may report no degrees awarded that year. The exact name of the major that interests your child must be verified directly.
As for class size, the university reports a ratio of 18 students per full-time-equivalent faculty member. Compared with schools of the same type, that ratio falls in the highest quarter: three out of four similar schools report the same or a lower ratio. This data point has two honest interpretations at once, and neither tells you the actual size of first-year classes. That IPEDS measure does not capture it.
The academic pathways the university reports
Beyond its catalog of majors, University of Wisconsin-Madison reports having specific structures for certain pathways: study-abroad programs, cocurricular undergraduate research, noncredit developmental education, and pathways leading to teacher certification, both within the institution and through an arrangement with another institution. It also reports having state approval for its initial teacher-certification program. These structures exist in the official record; how accessible they are to your child in particular is something to ask the school directly.
What it takes to get in: the application, selectivity, and who stays
This is where many families feel the most pressure, so let us proceed calmly and use the exact numbers.
University of Wisconsin-Madison stated that it does not have open admission. Of the nine evaluation components the government asks about, it marked six as required: the high school record, GPA, completion of the college-preparatory program the university requires, the personal essay, letters of recommendation, and an English-proficiency exam for applicants to whom it applies. It also considers class rank and work experience, although they are not required. The published application fee is $70.
It is a long application. It cannot be put together in one night. If the essay is required—and it is—start it during the summer, not the week of the deadline. The first draft is never the one you submit.
Now for the figure most families look for first: in the 2023 cycle, University of Wisconsin-Madison received 63,505 first-time applications and offered admission to 27,529 applicants. That is 43 out of every 100. Compared with the 519 selective-admission, four-year public schools in this census, it is among those that accept the smallest shares of applicants: nine out of ten schools in that group accept a higher percentage of their applicants.
On the other side of that calculation are 35,976 applicants who did not receive an offer. That number is also real, and it is also part of the story. Having Wisconsin on your child's list is fine. Having it as the only school is not. And that 43 out of every 100 is the average for the entire school: if your child is applying to a specific major, that institution-wide figure tells you nothing about that particular major. Ask admissions directly.
There is another number almost nobody asks about, and it matters: out of every 100 students Wisconsin admitted in 2023, only 29 ultimately enrolled there. The other 71 had admission letters in hand and still chose another school. Compared with its peers, that proportion falls on the high side. This figure does not measure how difficult admission is or whether people were happy when they left; it only counts what other families decided after receiving the letter. When your letters arrive, put them side by side and compare net price, major, and distance before deposit day. That enrollment percentage should not make the decision for you.
As for standardized tests, the SAT and ACT are not required at Wisconsin. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains under consideration just the same. Of the first-time students who enrolled, only 14 out of every 100 submitted an SAT score. Among them, the middle half scored between 660 and 730 in reading and writing, and between 700 and 780 in mathematics. Be careful: those ranges come from a minority of students who were already enrolled, not from all applicants, and they do not prove that the scores were used to admit anyone. That 660 is not a minimum your child must reach, and that 730 does not guarantee anything either.
And what if your child arrives as a transfer student from another college? In the fall of 2023, Wisconsin reported 1,129 undergraduate students who entered the school for the first time after studying at another institution. That is a high count compared with its peers. What this figure does not include is how many credits were accepted when they arrived or a transfer-out rate, because that field is blank in the official file. That does not demonstrate that nobody transfers out of Wisconsin; it simply was not reported.
The sticker price, and why residency status changes everything
Here we reach the figure that probably matters most to you. For the 2023–24 year, the cost of attendance published by University of Wisconsin-Madison for a first-time, full-time student living on campus was $28,905 at the Wisconsin resident rate and $58,303 at the out-of-state rate. It is a budget used to calculate financial aid, not a fixed bill or tuition alone.
Broken down, it includes $11,205 in tuition and fees for residents ($40,603 for nonresidents), $13,500 for on-campus housing and food, and $1,100 for books and supplies. The remainder is an estimate of personal expenses, such as transportation or laundry.
Compared with 483 similar schools, this cost of attendance at the resident rate falls above the midpoint of the group. And here is the number that should truly get your attention: the difference between the resident and out-of-state rates is $29,398 per year. That is not a minor detail; it is practically a second full cost of attendance. Ask the institution directly what requirements it uses to classify someone as a resident and when those requirements begin to apply: they are not the same everywhere.
Net price: what each family actually pays based on income
At University of Wisconsin-Madison, among 269 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid, paid the in-state or in-district rate, and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $4,458. Among 333 students from the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $9,613; among 772 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $26,427. For dependent students, the income band combines their parents' income and their own.
There is a difference of $21,969 between the average for the lowest-income band (269 students) and the average for the highest-income band (772 students). These are group averages, not a prediction of your family's price. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $14,216.
Among the 519 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this figure with the same time coverage, this one falls in the least expensive quarter for the lowest-income families, after grants and scholarships are subtracted. That does not mean it will be inexpensive for your family. It is a data point that carries weight when you build the list of schools to which your child will apply.
Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, identifying yours correctly is the first step. The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average with grant or scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships. The financial-aid letter you receive is what matters.
Grants, Pell, and loans: who receives what
At Wisconsin, 43 out of every 100 degree-seeking students received some grant or scholarship aid that does not have to be repaid. The other 57 received none of that type. Compared with its 519 peers, it falls in the quarter where grants and scholarships reach fewer students. Among those who did receive them, the average for the year was $14,151.
As for Pell—the federal grant for families with demonstrated financial need—only 16 out of every 100 students received it. That is a low proportion. Do not assume it will be awarded: before applying, ask for the complete list of available grants and scholarships, who qualifies for each one, and the deadlines. The fact that most students here did not receive Pell does not mean your child will be denied it, nor does it mean your child will receive it. It is what happened to others, not your case.
As for loans, in the 2022-23 school year, only 22 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan. Most were not awarded one that year. Those who did borrow received an average of $6,244 each. Compared with its peers, Wisconsin falls on the low side: seven out of ten similar schools had a higher proportion of students with loans.
Here is something worth saying very clearly: the fact that a student received a loan does not mean it was enough to cover the full year. That average of $6,244 counts only federal loans in the student's name during a single year. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes end up signing for, bank debt, or credit cards. Nor is it the total debt someone has upon graduation: calculating that would require adding all the years, and that number is not in this report.
The university also reports two formal payment mechanisms: an installment tuition-payment plan and participation in a Promise-type program. It is worth asking the financial-aid office directly for details about both.
Campus life, athletics, and the services it reports offering
Wisconsin does have institutionally controlled housing, and it explicitly responded that it does not require all first-time, full-time students to live there. That rules out a universal requirement, but it does not say that no particular program or group has such a requirement. It also offers meal plans, although the number of meals per week varies by the plan selected. IPEDS reports a maximum institutional housing capacity of 8,949 students. The existence of a room does not guarantee a bed for your child in particular: ask in writing for the year's rate, the housing-application deadline, and whether a place is guaranteed or subject to a waiting list.
As for ROTC, Wisconsin indicated that an opportunity is available in all three branches: Army, Navy, and Air Force. Indicating all three is not common: of the 3,012 colleges and universities in this database, only 135 indicate all of them. But the indication does not confirm that the program is offered specifically on this campus, nor does it confirm available places or a scholarship. Ask about each branch separately.
In athletics, the university competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA, the country's largest national collegiate athletic association, with reported membership in football, basketball, and cross-country or track and field. That membership belongs to the school, not to your child: if your child wants to compete, write directly to the coach for that sport and ask about a roster spot, division, and an athletic scholarship, in writing.
The university offers distance education at the undergraduate and graduate levels, although in practice it is the exception, not the rule: only 2 out of every 100 undergraduate students took all their courses at a distance in the fall count; the other 98 took at least one course in person.
Its library has employed staff, annual expenditures above the $100,000 threshold recorded by the government, physical and digital materials, and interlibrary loan. That confirms that an infrastructure exists, not that there is a particular database for your child's major: ask for it by name.
Finally, the institution reports a broad list of services: combined academic and career counseling, employment services for both current students and graduates, on-campus child care, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program for veterans, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and military families, a student veterans organization, and a published webpage for disability services. Reporting these services confirms that they exist on paper; it does not measure their quality or how easy they are to access. That must be checked during the visit.
What happens to the people who enroll: retention and graduation
This is probably the most important section in the entire article, because this is where the numbers stop describing entry and begin describing outcomes.
Of the cohort of first-time, full-time students who entered in 2022, 8,605 people started and 8,134 were still enrolled or had already completed a bachelor's degree one year later. That is 95 out of every 100. Compared with its 519 peers, Wisconsin is among those that retain the largest shares of their students: nine out of ten similar schools retain an equal or smaller proportion. That outcome combines two distinct groups—those still enrolled and those who have already graduated—without telling you which of the two applied to each person.
And here is the figure that should truly anchor the conversation in your home: out of every 100 students who entered a bachelor's-degree program at Wisconsin in 2017, 89 left with a degree within six years. In concrete numbers, 5,893 out of 6,597. Compared with its 518 peers, it is among those that graduate the highest shares of students: nine out of ten schools in that group report an equal or smaller proportion.
But there is a second figure within the same story that changes a family's actual budget: at four years, that proportion falls to 73 out of every 100. That is 16 percentage points lower than at six years. And four years is, for most families, the timeframe included in the original budget.
| Timeframe | Proportion who graduate |
|---|---|
| 4 years | 73 out of every 100 |
| 6 years | 89 out of every 100 |
That difference of 16 percentage points does not tell you how many semesters each student attended or how much each additional semester cost. What it does tell you, very clearly, is that it is worth asking in writing before signing anything: how long students in the exact program that interests your child usually take on average, how the required courses for that major are scheduled, and how the family's total cost changes if a fifth year becomes necessary.
There is still a third perspective, at eight years, based on a different cohort that includes both first-time students and students with prior postsecondary experience, attending full time and part time: as of the August 2023 data snapshot, 89 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school. Among those who specifically received a Pell Grant, that proportion was 85 out of every 100, five percentage points below the group without Pell. Compared with its 519 peers, Wisconsin is again among those that graduate the highest shares of students within eight years.
A high percentage, in any of these measures, is not a promise for your child in particular. It describes what happened to an entire cohort, not what will happen to one person. What is worthwhile, with these figures in hand, is to ask about the current support available in the program that interests your child and about outcomes for more recent cohorts, not just the historical average for the entire school.
What this article cannot tell you
This overview covers what the university officially reported about its identity, its people, its cost, and its academic outcomes through graduation. It does not cover anything about what happens afterward—employment, salaries, or the debt a student has after graduating—because that information is not authorized by the source supporting this article. That belongs to a different investigation using different sources, and it is not part of what these official data allow us to state today.
Putting this piece together with yours
You also know where what the university can tell you ends and where what only your child and family can answer begins.
It is the university's responsibility to admit students, award aid, and report what it reported. It is your child's responsibility to decide what to study, prepare, write the essay well in advance, and build a personal path within the university. It is your responsibility to understand these figures, verify in writing what remains blank, and sit down with your child to place this piece alongside the other two: what your child wants and has built, and what you can afford. A real plan comes from that combination, not from a single article.
Note on sources: The information in this article comes from data reported by University of Wisconsin-Madison to the United States Department of Education's IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), primarily from the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cycles. Best College Aid does not represent University of Wisconsin-Madison or any government agency; this article organizes and explains public information that has already been reported, and does not generate or independently verify it.