I am not going to tell you whether it is the right school for your child. An article cannot decide that. But if you are going to weigh this university alongside others, you need the official data presented in language you can use. That is what follows.
Who This University Is, in a Few Words
Missouri University of Science and Technology is a public, four-year university located in Rolla, Missouri, within Phelps County. The federal Carnegie classification system places it among doctoral universities with high research activity, and its undergraduate profile puts it in the more selective admissions group. Being more selective does not mean it teaches better: it describes whom it lets in, not how well it teaches once they are inside. That nuance matters because the word “selective” sounds like a verdict when it is actually only a description of the entrance gate.
The area around the campus is classified as a remote town, not an urban area. If your family does not live nearby, this has a practical consequence that no institutional statistic can resolve for you: you will have to calculate separately where your child would live and how they would get to campus, and you will probably have to accept that moving is part of the plan.
IPEDS—the Department of Education data system that collects this information—records the doctorate as the highest level the institution reports offering and classifies it as an institution that awards primarily bachelor’s degrees or higher. That does not tell you whether the specific major your child is interested in exists there or whether it connects to a graduate program. That must be checked program by program.
And one point worth clarifying at the outset: Missouri University of Science and Technology is not registered as a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this federal directory, 138 have at least one of those three designations; this one is not among them. That does not tell you which communities it serves or how your child would feel there. Ask directly: what cultural centers exist, which student organizations are active today, and—if you can—talk with someone who already studies there.
The Actual Size of the Student Community
In the official fall count, Missouri University of Science and Technology had 7,156 enrolled students: neither one of the very small schools nor one of the enormous ones, but within the official band of 5,000 to 9,999. But that large number includes graduate students. If your child is just entering a bachelor’s program, the number that really matters is 5,510—undergraduates alone—not the total. The other 1,646 had already completed an undergraduate degree.
Now, who makes up that undergraduate population? Out of every 100 students, 6 are Hispanic or Latino: a small minority, and compared with similar selective public schools, it falls below the midpoint of that group. This does not make the school bad or another school with more Hispanic or Latino students good. It is simply a picture of who is enrolled today. If your child will be one of the few, the question is not whether they should attend but what exists there for them: a student group, a cultural center, someone in the office who speaks Spanish. That number is for the entire school; their specific major may look different.
Among undergraduates, out of every 100 students, 23 are women. In other words, the student body is almost entirely male. And there are hardly any adult students: only 4 out of every 100 are between 25 and 64 years old. Most new students, 75 out of every 100, had a permanent address in Missouri when they applied. Overall, it is a young, predominantly male community made up mostly of students from the state itself.
How the Academic Year Works
The calendar follows semesters: two long terms of about 15 weeks each. The institution accepts credit for AP exams and military training, but it did not indicate that it accepts credit for life experience. Saying that it accepts AP does not mean you will receive credit for every exam: it does not say what scores are required or whether those credits will count toward your child’s specific major. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for those savings until you have it in hand.
Here is a figure worth emphasizing because it defines the character of the school: in one year, Missouri University of Science and Technology awarded 1,205 bachelor’s degrees, and 794 of them—66 out of every 100, or two out of three—were in engineering. This university concentrates its identity there. Compared with other selective schools, it is among those with less variety in the academic fields represented in its bachelor’s degree offerings. That does not say whether it is the best choice for your child or anything about the specific major that interests them. But if that major is not engineering, it is worth examining closely: how many students graduated from that program last year, and how easy is it to get the classes they need?
As for the relationship between students and faculty, the reported ratio is 19 students per full-time-equivalent faculty member. On the overall scale, that falls within a middle range, but compared specifically with schools of the same type, it is in the highest quartile: three out of four similar schools report an equal or lower ratio. Both readings are true at the same time, and neither tells you the actual size of a first-year class. That information is not contained in this statistic.
The Academic Pathways the Institution Reports
The university reports offering study abroad, co-curricular undergraduate research, a program that can be completed entirely in the evening or on weekends, and pathways for teacher certification preparation, including state approval of the applicable program. Reporting these opportunities confirms that they exist as part of the institution’s stated structure; it does not say how each one is accessed or how many people use it. Ask the admissions office by name about the one that interests your child.
Getting In: What It Requires, What It Considers, and What Actually Happens
This is where many families become unnecessarily paralyzed. Let’s take it one part at a time.
The stated policy. Missouri University of Science and Technology does not have open admissions: it reviews requirements before saying yes. Of nine possible considerations, it marked four as required: the high school record, high school GPA, completion of the college-preparatory course plan required by the university, and an English proficiency exam for applicants coming from outside an English-language educational system. If your child studied in another country or attended high school in Spanish, ask now whether that exam applies and what would exempt them. This is the kind of thing families discover too late if they do not ask in time.
Other components are not required, but they are considered if submitted: class rank, the personal essay, letters of recommendation, and work experience. The published undergraduate application fee is $0.
What actually happens when students apply. In the 2023 cycle, the university received 8,181 first-time applications. It offered admission to 5,978 applicants. That is 73 out of every 100 applicants admitted—an accessible figure, close to the midpoint among similar selective schools. Put another way, 2,203 applicants did not receive an offer. With thousands of applicants and an acceptance rate like that, your child has a real reason to apply and also a real reason to prepare a complete application and submit it on time. Remember that this figure comes from a single cycle, not a fixed rule; when it is your child’s turn, it is worth checking the current year’s number again.
What happens after admission. Here is a statistic that surprises many families: out of every 100 admitted students, only 20 enrolled. The other 80 had acceptance letters in hand and decided to go elsewhere. This is not a mark against the school—the federal record does not say why each person made their choice—and it also tells you nothing about what your child specifically will be offered. What others decided does not predict your decision. What matters is waiting for your child’s letter showing the actual net price, because that is what the year will really cost, and with that number in hand you can decide whether the school stays on the list.
About standardized tests. The SAT and ACT are not required. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid all the same. Of the students who enrolled, only 10 out of every 100 submitted an SAT score, and among them, the middle half scored between 560 and 670 in reading and writing and between 590 and 708 in mathematics. These numbers describe students who were already admitted and chose to submit scores—not all applicants, and not a guarantee or minimum for anyone else.
About transfers. In the fall of 2023, 279 undergraduate students arrived at this university after previously studying at another institution. That is the incoming-transfer figure. The outgoing transfer rate—how many students who entered here as first-time students ultimately transfer elsewhere—was not reported by the school in this file. That does not mean no one transfers; it means that information is not available here.
The Price: What Is Published and the Actual Gap
At Missouri University of Science and Technology, among 77 first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and paid the in-state or in-district rate and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $9,530. Among 95 students in the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $12,585; among 154 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $16,558. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income with their own.
The difference between the average for the lowest-income band (77 students) and the average for the highest-income band (154 students) is $7,028. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship aid, the average was $14,414.
The advertised price is not the same as the price paid. Here, for students with low income, the average net price was $9,530 in the 2022-23 academic year.
The income bands in this profile describe first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at this public institution, they use the in-state or in-district rate. The overall average for students receiving grant or scholarship aid, when shown, describes first-time, full-time, credential-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships; it also uses that rate. If your family lives outside the state or district, the calculation is different. Ask for it before applying.
Financial Aid and Loans: Separating What Is Repaid from What Is Not
Out of every 100 degree-seeking students at this university, 87 received some form of grant or scholarship aid that does not have to be repaid. Compared with similar schools, this proportion is in the highest quartile. Among those who received it, the annual average was $11,942.
The Pell Grant—federal aid specifically for families with low incomes—reached fewer people: 21 out of every 100. The difference between that 87 and that 21 does not mean the school is hiding something: it includes other sources of aid—state, institutional, and federal aid other than Pell—that this breakdown does not allow us to attribute precisely. When your child’s letter arrives, divide it yourself into three piles: what does not have to be repaid, what must be repaid with interest, and what must be earned through work. Many letters mix all of them into a single column, intentionally or carelessly, and that mixture can make an offer look better than it really is.
Regarding loans: 40 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan in the 2022-23 school year, with an average of $6,026 among those who borrowed. This percentage describes other families, not yours. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes sign for, credit card or bank debt, and it is not the cumulative debt a student has when graduating—that would require adding together several years, and that number is not in this report. You will know how much your child specifically would have to borrow only when you have their financial aid letter in hand. Wait for it before ruling out the school.
The institution also reports an installment tuition payment plan and participation in a Promise program, mechanisms worth asking about by name if monthly cash flow is a real concern for your family.
Campus Life, Learning Format, and Support
Missouri University of Science and Technology does have institution-controlled housing, and it does not require all first-time students to live there—although that does not rule out the possibility that a specific program may require it. It also offers meal plans, with the number of meals varying according to the selected plan. The reported maximum capacity of institutional housing is 2,209 students. The existence of housing does not guarantee an available room: request this year’s rate, the application deadline, and whether you are guaranteed a place or placed on a waiting list, all in writing.
Regarding ROTC, the university reports opportunities in two branches, the Army and Air Force; the Navy is not marked. Its presence in the report does not mean the program is necessarily offered on this specific campus—ask about it by name before building a plan around it.
In athletics, the university competes at the intercollegiate level and is affiliated with the NCAA, reporting membership in football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field. This does not tell you which division each sport competes in or whether scholarship aid is available. If athletics are part of your child’s plan, write directly to the coach.
Regarding distance education, the university offers online courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, but in the fall count, fewer than 1 out of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load through distance education. In practice, it is an in-person university. It also reports offering at least one complete program that can be completed through distance education, but that statement does not specify the level; confirm directly whether it applies to undergraduate study and to your child’s major.
The library operates with employed staff, annual spending above the government-recorded threshold of $100,000, physical and digital materials, and interlibrary lending. The university also reports a broad set of support services: combined academic and career counseling, employment services, placement upon program completion, on-campus child care, and specific support for veterans and military personnel, including Yellow Ribbon participation and a dedicated point of contact. Reporting these services confirms that they exist as stated offerings; it does not measure their quality or effectiveness. That must be determined by asking questions and visiting.
What Happens to Students Who Enroll: Retention and Graduation
This is perhaps the section most worth reading slowly.
Retention. Of the 1,134 first-time, full-time, bachelor’s-degree-seeking students who entered in the fall of 2022, 976 were still enrolled or had already graduated one year later: 86 out of every 100. Compared with similar selective schools, this proportion is in the upper part of the group. It is a solid figure. But it does not distinguish between those still studying and those who had already graduated, and it does not say what happened to the remaining 14.
Graduation. Here is a figure every family should record in its mental budget. Of the 1,412 first-time, full-time students who began a bachelor’s degree in 2017, 898 had graduated within six years: 64 out of every 100. But at the four-year mark—the timeframe most families have in mind when calculating the total cost—the figure falls to 27 out of every 100. There is a difference of 37 points between the two timeframes. The data do not say how many semesters each person attended and do not report tuition, rent, or wages.
This is not a judgment about the school or about a student who takes longer. But it does have a very concrete financial consequence: if your child’s program tends to take five or six years, the total cost of the degree is not four times the annual net price; it is five or six times that price. Before signing anything, request in writing how long the specific program your child is interested in typically takes, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost changes if the program takes longer.
Compared with other selective schools, this university’s six-year graduation rate is above the group median.
At eight years, using a different cohort. Following a different cohort—2,057 students who entered between July 2015 and June 2016, combining first-time students and those who already had prior college experience—by the August 2023 reporting date, 68 out of every 100 had earned a degree or certificate from this school. Compared with similar schools, that places it in the top quartile.
Here a difference appears that deserves careful attention: among students who received a Pell Grant—students from families with lower incomes—the proportion who earned a credential fell to 57 out of every 100, fourteen points lower than among students who did not receive Pell. This does not say why; the data do not capture the reasons. But if your family would qualify for Pell today, it is a legitimate question to take directly to the university: what specifically is available for those students—an assigned counselor, emergency aid, whether the institutional grant or scholarship renews every year—and ask them to answer in writing.
What Each Person Is Responsible For
Your child is responsible for deciding what they want to study, working hard in the classroom, seeking the classes they need, and building their own relationship with this university if they decide to enroll. The university is responsible for admitting students, offering financial aid, and maintaining—or not maintaining—the programs and support it reports. You have a different responsibility: understanding your family’s actual finances, reading the financial aid letter carefully before signing anything, asking the questions these data do not answer, and supporting the decision without carrying it alone or making your child carry it alone.
You now understand one piece of the puzzle in depth: what Missouri University of Science and Technology actually is and offers, according to its own official reports. What remains is to combine that piece with what your child wants to study and has built so far, and with what your family can and is willing to pay. A real plan comes from those three pieces together—not from just one.
Source note: The information in this article comes from data reported by the institution to the U.S. Department of Education’s IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System), corresponding primarily to the 2022-23 and 2023-24 school years, as indicated for each figure. Best College Aid does not represent Missouri University of Science and Technology or any government agency; this article organizes and explains official public data.