College guide

Pomona College Acceptance Rate, Admissions & Graduation

Pomona College: what the numbers say and what they mean for your family

Pomona College at a glance

Federal data · IPEDS
Acceptance rate
6.8%

819 admitted of 12,121 applicants · first-time, degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates · fall 2023

Tuition and fees
$62,326

published price per year · full-time, first-time undergraduates · 2023–24

Average net price · family income $0–$30K
$5,638/yr

after grants and scholarships · full-time, first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates awarded Title IV federal aid · 2022–23 · every income level

Graduation rate
93%

earned a bachelor's or equivalent degree within 6 years (150% of normal time) · adjusted 2017 bachelor's subcohort of full-time, first-time students · 2017 cohort · IPEDS 2023

SAT / ACT
Test-optional

not required; considered if submitted · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

More numbers
High school GPA
Considered if sent

how the high school GPA is used in admission · first-time undergraduate applicants · fall 2023

SAT Reading & Writing
730–770

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023 (29% submitted SAT scores)

SAT Math
750–790

25th–75th percentile · enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted SAT scores · fall 2023

ACT composite (median)
34

enrolled first-time degree/certificate-seeking students who submitted ACT scores · fall 2023

Retention rate
96%

re-enrolled at the college the next fall, full- or part-time · adjusted fall 2022 cohort of full-time, first-time bachelor's degree-seeking students · fall 2022 → fall 2023

Application fee
$70

undergraduate application fee · 2023–24

Hispanic or Latino undergraduates
16%

undergraduates · fall 2023 · describes who studies here, not the support a student will get

Source: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS. Each number shows who it counts and its year. How we use this data

If your child has Pomona College on their list, you have probably already heard that it is hard to get in. That is true, and we are going to look at it with exact numbers. But before getting there, I want you to understand something more important: there are parts of this college that you can know today, with certainty, without having set foot on campus. And there are others that only your child and your family can complete. Let us go piece by piece.

By Francisco CantúAdmissions and financial aid counselor
3,015 words14 min readIPEDS 2022–23
In this article

What kind of school Pomona College is

Pomona College is a small, private, nonprofit liberal arts and sciences college that awards bachelor's degrees. It does not have graduate programs appearing in its enrollment, and the highest level it reports offering is a bachelor's degree. That does not confirm that the exact major your child is interested in is offered there: that must be verified program by program, not by the school's name.

It is classified as a "highly residential" institution: at least half of its undergraduate students live in housing owned, controlled, or affiliated with the college, and at least 80 out of every 100 study full time. It is also in the most selective admissions group under the Carnegie classification. Neither of these two labels tells you how many out of every hundred applicants actually get in. That number exists, and we will see it later — and it is worth seeing before your child finishes their list, not afterward.

Pomona is in Claremont, California, within Los Angeles County, in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim metropolitan area. The census code places it in a suburb: within the urbanized area, but outside the city center. If your child were considering living at home, the only way to know whether it is feasible is to drive the route on a weekday, at the actual time of their classes. A map never tells the whole truth about traffic.

One note worth clearing up right away: Pomona College is not listed as a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. These are three different designations, with different histories, and of the 3,012 colleges in this directory, only 138 have any of them. Pomona having none of them does not say which communities it serves today, or how your child would feel there. Ask directly: what cultural centers exist, what student organizations operate, and, better yet, speak with someone who already studies there.

The size of the community your child would join

Pomona had 1,664 students enrolled in the official fall count, all of them undergraduates. It is a medium size compared with similar schools: neither among the largest nor the smallest in its group. Remember something simple: being large does not mean more options, and being small does not mean more attention for your child in particular. What you need to ask about is the specific major, not the school's overall size.

Within that undergraduate population, 16 out of every 100 students identified as Hispanic or Latino in fall 2023. It is not a majority, but it is not unusual either: compared with 941 similar selective private schools, Pomona falls in the highest quarter for Latino presence. The campus is nearly evenly split between men and women — 55 out of every 100 are women — and there are almost no students older than 25 years: just 1 out of every 100.

One fact that changes the picture: only 30 out of every 100 first-time students had permanent residence reported in California. The rest come from other states, other countries, or their residence was not reported at that level of detail. This does not measure actual distance or travel cost — cost of attendance does include a general transportation estimate within "other expenses," but it does not break down flights or moves. If your child would consider coming from far away, that is a separate budget you need to build with real numbers, not with the school's average.

How the academic year works

The calendar uses semesters: two long terms, about 15 weeks each. Pomona accepts credit for AP exams, but did not indicate that it accepts credit for life experience. Saying it accepts AP does not mean it gives automatic credit for every exam: we do not know how many points it requires or how many credits it awards, or whether those credits apply to your child's major. Request the equivalency evaluation in writing before enrolling. Do not budget for time savings until you have it in hand.

In one year, Pomona awarded 453 bachelor's degrees, distributed across 17 major families. The largest was social sciences, with 25 out of every 100 degrees — no other major surpassed it, but it does not dominate the total. This counts degrees awarded, not people or the current catalog of majors. Before deciding, ask about the exact major your child is interested in: how many graduated in it, how long it took, and what the actual curriculum is like.

The reported student-to-faculty ratio is 7 to 1 — one of the lowest among comparable schools, in the lowest quarter of 941 similar institutions. But be careful: this ratio does not measure actual class size or the individual attention your child will receive. Ask directly how many students are in first-year classes.

Pomona also reports structured academic opportunities: study abroad and cocurricular undergraduate research.

Getting in is not easy, and writing is required

Here is the number that carries the most weight in the family conversation. In the 2023 cycle, Pomona received 12,121 first-time applications and offered admission to 819. That is 7 out of every 100. On the other side, 11,302 applicants did not receive an offer. Compared with 942 similar selective private schools, Pomona is among those that accept the fewest: nine out of ten in that group accepted a higher percentage of their applicants.

I want to tell you this very clearly because it is easy for a number like this to feel like a judgment: this percentage says how many places were offered, not what your child is worth. A low one does not make the school better; a high one does not make it worse. It measures supply and demand, nothing more. What I do ask is that your child's list include schools on both sides — some as selective as this one, and others that accept most applicants.

Pomona does not have open admission. Review specific components before saying yes: the high school transcript, having completed the required course plan, the personal essay, letters of recommendation, and the English-language proficiency test for those to whom it applies. It also considers, without requiring them, things such as grade-point average, class rank, a portfolio, or work experience. At this college, it is not enough to gather documents: the essay is required, so your child has to write, and write well. Have them start in the summer, not the week of the deadline. The first draft is never the one that gets sent. The undergraduate application fee is $70.

The SAT and ACT are optional — if submitted, they are considered; if not, the application remains valid just the same. Among students who did enroll, 29 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores, and among them the middle half scored between 730 and 770 in reading and writing, and between 750 and 790 in mathematics. These numbers are only for those who enrolled and chose to submit a score — they are not for all applicants, and they do not prove that the score was decisive. That 730 is not a minimum, and that 770 is not a guarantee of anything either.

A less well-known but useful fact: out of every 100 admitted students, only 50 ultimately enroll there. It is a high figure compared with similar schools, where a smaller share of admitted students typically enrolls. It does not measure quality or satisfaction — it only counts how many decided to enroll that fall. When admission letters arrive, this number is not what decides anything for your family: place the offers side by side and compare net price, major, and distance before deposit day.

Regarding transfers: in fall 2023, 19 students transferred in from another institution. It is a low count compared with similar schools, though it goes along with the school's small size. The rate of students who leave by transfer was not reported by Pomona in this file — that does not show that nobody transfers; it simply is not in the data.

The list price and what is actually paid

At Pomona College, among 20 first-time, full-time students seeking a credential who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $5,638. Among 21 students in the same population with EFC family income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $5,099; among 34 students with EFC family income above $110,000, it was $51,240. For dependent students, the range adds their parents' income and their own.

Between the average for the lowest-income band (20 students) and that of the highest band (34 students), there is a difference of $45,602. These are group averages, not a prediction of your family's price. Among first-year students who received any grant or scholarship, the average was $17,423.

Among the 937 schools of the same type and control included in this census that reported this information with the same time coverage, this one falls in the least expensive quarter for lower-income families, after grants are subtracted. That does not mean it is inexpensive for your family. It is information that matters when you build the list of schools to apply to.

Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, placing yours correctly comes first. The income bands on this profile describe first-time, full-time students seeking a credential who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or district rate. The overall average after grants, when it appears, describes first-time, full-time students seeking a credential who received federal, state, local, or institutional grants or scholarships. What governs is the aid letter that arrives for you.

How it is paid for: grants, loans, and options

Aid that does not have to be repaid — grants and scholarships — went to 57 out of every 100 students at Pomona. That is more than half, but not everyone. Compared with similar schools, it falls in the quarter where grants reach proportionally fewer students. Among those who did receive it, the annual average was $59,042. It is real money, but it is not a price: what matters is what remains after aid, and you need to request that in writing, school by school. A high average among those who received aid does not predict the size of yours.

19 out of every 100 students received a Pell Grant, the federal aid for families with demonstrated financial need.

And here is a figure worth emphasizing because it contradicts what many parents assume. In the 2022–23 school year, only 8 out of every 100 Pomona undergraduate students had a federal student loan. That is very few. Compared with similar selective private schools, Pomona relies on federal loans less than almost all of them: nine out of ten schools in the group had a higher proportion of students with debt. Among those who did borrow, the average was $5,748 that year.

This does not mean the others "could afford it" without effort — the data do not capture grants, work, family savings, or another type of debt that is not a federal student loan. And that average of $5,748 is for only one year, only for federal loans in the student's name. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sign, bank debt, or credit cards. Nor is it the total debt someone has when graduating — for that, all four years would have to be added, and that number is not in this report.

Pomona reports a tuition installment payment plan as an available mechanism for managing cost.

Housing, athletics, and campus life

Pomona has institution-owned housing and does not require all first-time, full-time students to live there — although that does not rule out a specific program or situation requiring it. Its reported maximum housing capacity is 1,609 students. It also offers meal plans with a fixed number of meals per week in its largest option. The existence of housing does not guarantee a bed will be available for your child, or that the meal plan is included in the price. Request in writing this year's rate, the deadline for applying for space, and whether a place is guaranteed or you are placed on a waiting list.

Pomona did not indicate any ROTC opportunity in its report — neither the general box nor any specific branch. Of the four-year institutions in this guide, 926 out of 1,786 did indicate it; Pomona was not among them. That does not prove that no nearby pathway exists — it only says what was reported in that field. If that scholarship matters to your family, ask admissions directly before ruling it out.

It does compete in intercollegiate athletics and is affiliated with the NCAA, in football, basketball, baseball, and cross-country or track and field, among others. This membership belongs to the institution, not a promise to your child: if they are interested in playing, contact the coach directly and ask about a place on the team, division, and whether that sport offers an athletic scholarship.

It does not offer distance education — not a single course, at either the undergraduate or graduate level. If your child works or cares for someone at home, their schedule will have to fit entirely in person.

Among the services it reports are combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement services upon completion of the program, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program, a point of contact for veterans and military personnel, a student veterans organization, and a services page for people with disabilities. The fact that these services are reported does not say how accessible or effective they are in practice — ask directly.

What happens to students once they get in

Here are the figures that, to me, say more about this college than any others.

Of the cohort that entered in fall 2022, 96 out of every 100 remained enrolled or had already graduated one year later. It is a very high result compared with similar schools — among those that retain the most of their cohort. This number combines two different groups, those who remain enrolled and those who have already finished, without separating them, so it is not a graduation rate on its own.

Of the students who entered in 2017, 93 out of every 100 graduated within six years or less. It is a very high figure compared with similar schools — among those that graduate the most students. But look at this carefully: at four years, that figure was only 71 out of every 100 — 22 points lower. That difference matters because four years is the time frame most families budget for. Before signing, request in writing how long the program your child is interested in usually actually takes, how required courses are scheduled, and how total cost changes if a fifth year becomes necessary.

At eight years, looking at students who entered in 2015–16, 94 out of every 100 had earned a Pomona degree or certificate — the exact same figure for students who received a Pell Grant. The fact that the two figures match does not mean the path was identical for both groups.

None of these numbers predicts what will happen to your child in particular. They describe cohorts that have already passed through there. What they are useful for is as a thermometer: at this college, for the great majority of those who entered, the time and the system were enough for them to finish.

What belongs to each person

Your child needs to write their essay, build their academic record, decide whether this college fits what they want to study and the life they imagine living while studying. The college needs to admit, offer aid, and answer clearly when you ask in writing. You have one very concrete task: complete the FAFSA on time, request the aid letter, compare the actual net price among schools, and not let your child carry money decisions that are yours alone.

If you live far from California, the 70 out of every 100 students who do not report in-state residence tells you that Pomona receives people from everywhere — but the real cost of living far away is not in any published average; your family builds that budget. If your child has not yet decided what to study, the variety of 17 major families, with none dominating, is a sign of flexibility — but ask about the exact program, not the school in general.

Now you know in detail one of the pieces you need to decide: what Pomona College is, what it requires, what it costs in theory and what it ultimately costs in practice, and what happens to students once they get in. Combine it with what your child wants to study, what they have already built in high school, and what your family can and is willing to pay. From that combination, not from a single number, comes a real plan.

Source note: the information in this article comes from data reported by Pomona College to the U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS system, primarily for the 2022–23 and 2023–24 cycles. Best College Aid does not represent Pomona College or the U.S. government; this article organizes and explains official public data.

Want to understand what this means for your child?

In our free presentation we show you, step by step, how to build your child's college list and understand financial aid.

Sign up free