Everything that follows comes from reports USC submitted to the U.S. federal government, not marketing brochures or rankings. Let’s walk through it calmly.
What kind of university it is, and where it is located
USC is a private, nonprofit institution offering four-year programs or longer. The federal system that classifies universities by what they actually do places it among the doctoral universities with the country’s highest research activity. The highest level it reports offering is the doctorate, although that is an institutional label: it does not tell you whether the specific program your child is interested in goes that far. That must be asked program by program.
It is in the city of Los Angeles, Los Angeles County, within that large metropolitan area. Its census code places it in a principal city of 250,000 residents or more. That does not tell you how to get to campus every day or what there is to live near it —those are questions best answered by driving the route on a weekday, at the time your child would have class, not by looking at it on a map.
In its historical profile, USC appears as a large-scale, primarily residential school: at that time, between 25 and 49 out of every 100 degree-seeking undergraduate students lived in institution-owned housing. It also appears among universities that receive many transfer students, and its enrollment, counted by full-time equivalent, was at least half graduate students. It is a snapshot from another time, not a description of the current cycle, but it points in the same direction you will see again and again in this article: it is a large university, with a substantial graduate presence, and with an open —though not automatic— door for those arriving as transfers.
One note worth stating right away because it prevents confusion: USC is not registered as a historically Black college or university, a tribal college or university, or a land-grant institution. Of the 3,012 universities in this directory, 138 have one of those three designations; USC is not among them. That says nothing about which communities it serves today, how many Latino students there are, or how your child will feel there. Those are separate questions, best asked by speaking with someone already studying on campus.
A huge campus, and who actually fills it
In the most recent fall, USC reported 47,147 enrolled students. It is a huge number: it falls in the highest band used by the government, that of 20,000 or more. Compared with the 941 selective private four-year schools in this census, it is among the largest: at most one out of every ten has more students than it does.
But that large number hides something important. Of those 47,147, only 21,023 are undergraduates. The other 26,124 are graduate students. At this school, graduate education carries more weight than undergraduate education. If your child is starting college, the number that really matters is not the headline figure of 47 thousand. It is 21,023.
And who are those undergraduate students? Here is a fact worth considering calmly: 61 out of every 100 undergraduate students are between 25 and 64 years old. That is more than half. If your child enrolls directly from high school, they will be among the youngest in the classroom, not among the majority. Undergraduate enrollment is nearly even between men and women —52 out of every 100 are women—and 18 out of every 100 reported themselves as Hispanic or Latino, placing USC in the highest quarter among the 941 selective private schools compared in this census.
Another fact worth keeping in mind: fewer than half of first-time students, 43 out of every 100, had permanent residence reported in California. The rest come from other states, other countries, or their residence was not reported clearly. This does not directly measure distance or travel cost —IPEDS includes a transportation estimate within “other expenses” in cost of attendance, but does not break it out. If your child would need to fly to get here, your family will need to calculate that with real numbers, not the official budget.
How the academic year works and what credit it recognizes
USC organizes its year by semesters: two long terms, about 15 weeks each. In its official report, the institution indicated that it accepts AP exam credit and also accepts credit for military training. It did not indicate credit for life experience. It also does not enroll high school students in college-credit courses.
Here is a truth that costs nothing to say directly: saying that it accepts AP does not mean it gives credit for every exam at every score. The report does not specify what scores it requires or how many credits it awards, nor whether those credits count toward your child’s specific major. Before making optimistic calculations about saving a semester, request the equivalency evaluation in writing. Do not budget for those savings until you have it in hand.
What can be studied there
In a single year, USC awarded 5,238 bachelor’s degrees, spread across 22 academic program families (what the government calls CIP families). The family awarding the most degrees was business and administration, with 23 out of every 100 degrees awarded that year —the largest, but far from taking over everything. Compared with the 942 selective private schools in this census, USC falls in the quarter with the greatest variety of academic program families represented in its undergraduate detail.
This translates into something useful: the academic offerings are broad, not concentrated in two or three majors. But 22 families with a row in the report are not 22 guaranteed majors or 22 families with actual degrees in all of them —some rows may report zero. If your child has a major in mind, verify that it exists as an active program, not merely as a category in a table.
Regarding the student-faculty ratio: USC reported 9 full-time-equivalent students for every instructional-staff equivalent. Compared with similar schools, it is among the lowest ratios —it falls in the bottom quarter among the 941 compared. It is one of the lowest ratios reported in this type of census. But be careful: a low ratio does not guarantee small classes. The number relates institutional totals; it does not count seats in a specific classroom. If this matters to you, ask directly how many students are in the first-year classes your child would take.
Academic opportunities the institution reports
USC states that it offers study abroad, cocurricular undergraduate research, and noncredit developmental education. These are structured paths the institution reports as available. Their being reported does not automatically say how they are accessed, how many spaces there are, or whether they apply to your child’s program —that must be asked directly of the school.
What admission is like: the application, selectivity, and who stays
Let’s start with the simplest point: USC does not have open admission. It reviews components before saying yes. Of the nine admission considerations the government asks about —not counting standardized tests or legacy status—USC marked seven as required: high school record, grade-point average, having completed the required course of study, personal essay, letters of recommendation, a formal demonstration of what the applicant can do, and an English-proficiency examination for those to whom it applies. In addition, although they are not required, the school also considers your child’s class rank, work experience, and whether someone in the family already studied there.
That last piece —legacy—is something your child cannot change through effort. If it does not apply to them, do not spend energy on it. Put that effort into the seven pieces that are in their hands. Put plainly, the application is long: there are several required components, and each needs time, not just one night before the deadline. The published application fee is $85.
Now for the numbers that are almost always the first ones people look for. In the most recent cycle, USC received 80,808 first-time applications and offered 8,094 places. That is 10 out of every 100. Compared with the 942 selective private schools in this census, USC is among those accepting the fewest: nine out of every ten in that group, or more, accepted a greater percentage. On the other side of that calculation are 72,714 applicants who did not receive an offer.
Here I want to tell you something with complete clarity, because I owe it to every parent who reads this: this number says how many places were offered. It says nothing about your child’s worth. A low percentage does not make a school better; a high one does not make it worse. It measures supply against demand, nothing more. A healthy college list for your child includes schools on both sides of that line, not only those that accept almost no one.
Of those who do receive an offer, how many decide to enroll there? Out of every 100 admitted first-time students, 45 enrolled at USC. The other 55 did not. Compared with similar schools, that share is on the high side —at most of those schools, a smaller share of admitted students enrolls. But this figure does not measure quality or satisfaction: it only counts who appeared enrolled that fall. When your child’s admission letters arrive, this percentage does not decide anything. Put the letters side by side and compare net price, major, and distance before deposit day.
Regarding standardized tests: USC reported that the SAT and ACT are not required. If your child submits them, they are considered; if not, the application remains in consideration just the same. Of those who enrolled, 32 out of every 100 submitted SAT scores —a high share compared with similar schools. Among them, the middle half scored between 700 and 760 in reading and writing, and between 740 and 790 in mathematics. But these ranges describe those who already enrolled and submitted a score, not all applicants, and they do not prove that the score determined any admission decision. That 700 is not a minimum that must be reached, and that 760 is not a guarantee of anything either.
And regarding transfer: in the most recent fall, 1,335 undergraduate students entered USC for the first time after having studied at another institution. Compared with similar schools, it is among those receiving the most transfer students in absolute numbers —although that is not a proportion, and a large school counts more people simply because of its size. What is not reported here is the departure rate: how many of those who entered USC as first-time students end up leaving for another institution before graduating. That line is blank in the official file. This does not show that no one transfers; it only means that this information is not available in this source.
The sticker price, and why it is not the real price
At University of Southern California, among 315 full-time, first-time, degree-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid and whose EFC records showed family income below $30,000, the average net price was $15,470. Among 216 students in the same population with family EFC income from $48,001 to $75,000, it was $18,993; among 482 students with family EFC income above $110,000, it was $56,347. For dependent students, the band combines their parents’ income and their own.
Between the average for the lowest-income band (315 students) and that for the highest band (482 students), there is a difference of $40,877. These are group averages, not a prediction of your family’s price. Among first-year students who received some scholarship, the average was $41,496.
$15,470 was the average net price for the lowest-income families in academic year 2022-23. That does not mean it is what your family will pay. It helps determine whether it is worth requesting the aid letter.
Because the price changes so much from one income band to another, placing your family correctly is the first step. The income bands on this profile describe full-time, first-time, degree-seeking students who received federal Title IV aid; at public institutions, they use the in-state or district rate. The overall average with scholarships, when shown, describes full-time, first-time, degree-seeking students who received federal, state, local, or institutional scholarships or grants. The one that matters is the aid letter you receive.
Aid: scholarships, Pell, and loans
68 out of every 100 degree-seeking students at USC receive some kind of aid that does not have to be repaid —scholarships or grants. That is more than half, but not everyone. Compared with similar schools, USC is in the quarter where scholarships reach fewer students, not more. Among those who do receive it, the yearly average was $45,140.
The Pell Grant —federal aid specifically for low-income families—reached 22 out of every 100 students.
A high average among those who received aid does not mean your child’s offer will be that size. When the letter arrives, what you need to look for is how much your family would have to pay out of pocket —and compare that number among schools, not the size of the discount each one advertises.
Regarding loans: 25 out of every 100 undergraduate students received a federal student loan in the most recently reported year. That is more than two out of every ten, but fewer than half. Of those who borrowed, each received an average of $6,257 that year. Compared with similar schools, USC relies on federal loans less than almost all of them: nine out of every ten similar schools had a higher share of students taking on debt.
One necessary clarification: that average of $6,257 is for only one school year and covers only federal loans in the student’s name. It does not include Parent PLUS loans that parents sometimes sign for, debt with private banks, or credit cards. It is also not the total debt with which someone leaves upon graduation —that would require adding multiple years, and that number is not in this report. This percentage describes other families, not yours. What your child would need to borrow comes from their own financial-aid letter, and that letter is the one to wait for before ruling out the school or committing to it.
USC also reports having institutional payment mechanisms: a prepaid tuition plan, an installment payment plan, and participation in a Promise program.
Living there, and what the campus offers
USC does have institution-owned housing. It does not require all full-time, first-time students to live there —which means there is no universal requirement, although that does not rule out a specific program requiring it. Its reported maximum capacity is 8,500 students, on or off campus. It also offers meal plans, although the number of meals per week is not fixed: it changes according to the plan selected. The existence of a room does not guarantee a bed will be available specifically for your child; request the yearly rate, deadline, and whether the space is guaranteed or waitlisted.
Regarding ROTC: USC indicated that it has ROTC opportunities in all three branches —Army, Navy, and Air Force. Indicating all three is not common: of the 3,012 universities in this directory, only 135 do so. But being indicated does not confirm that the program is taught on this specific campus, how many spaces there are, or whether it provides a scholarship. That must be asked directly by branch.
In sports, USC competes in intercollegiate athletics and is affiliated with the NCAA —not other associations. It reports membership for football, basketball, baseball, and track and field. But that membership belongs to the institution, not a promise for your child: if they are interested in competing, write directly to the coach for the specific sport and ask about a place on the team, division, and athletic scholarship.
Regarding distance education: USC does offer it, at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and reports having at least one complete distance program. But in the actual fall count, fewer than 1 out of every 100 undergraduate students took their entire course load at a distance. It is an option that exists on paper, but one that almost no undergraduate students use in the observed practice. Confirm in writing whether it applies to your child’s major.
The library operates with hired staff and its annual spending exceeds the threshold of $100,000 recorded by the government. It has physical and digital collections, and participates in interlibrary lending. Exceeding that threshold does not guarantee it has the specific databases for your child’s major —that must be asked by program name.
Finally, USC reports a broad list of services: combined academic and career counseling, employment services for current students, placement services upon completion, child care on campus, participation in the Yellow Ribbon program for veterans, a dedicated point of contact for veterans and military personnel, a student veterans organization, and a services page for people with disabilities. The reporting of these services does not say how they are accessed or how effective they are in practice —that too must be confirmed directly with the school.
If your child enrolls, will they stay? Will they graduate?
For many families, this is the part that provides the most reassurance or causes the most concern. Let’s look at the numbers as they are.
Of the cohort that entered USC full time for a bachelor’s degree in the fall of 2022, 97 out of every 100 were still enrolled there or had already completed their degree one year later. It is one of the highest retention rates you will find: compared with 930 similar selective private schools, USC is among those that retain the most of their entering cohort. That number combines two different groups —those still enrolled and those already graduated—without telling you which is which or what happened to the remaining 3 percent.
Regarding graduation: out of every 100 students who entered bachelor’s programs in 2017, full time and without previously attending another university, 92 graduated within six years or less. In concrete numbers, that is 3,078 out of 3,346. Compared with 920 similar selective private schools, USC is among those graduating the most students.
But there is a fact worth keeping in mind when building the budget: at four years, the figure is 77 out of every 100 —fifteen points lower than at six years. Four years is the time frame most families have built into their actual budget. Those fifteen points of difference do not tell you how many extra semesters each person took or how much that additional time cost. Before signing anything, ask directly how long the program your child is interested in usually takes, how its required courses are scheduled, and how the total cost changes if the program extends beyond four years.
There is also a longer-term measure, at eight years, that includes both first-time students and students with previous college experience, full time and part time. Of that group, 93 out of every 100 completed a degree or certificate from USC as of August 2023. Among those who received a Pell Grant, the figure was 91 out of every 100 —three points below the group without Pell. Compared with similar schools, USC is again among those graduating the most students.
These numbers are high and consistent across all three measures —retention, six-year graduation, and eight-year outcome. That describes what happened to those specific cohorts at this school. It is not a promise about what will happen to your child. What is worth doing, with this information in hand, is asking directly about the current support in the program that interests them and about the outcomes of more recent cohorts, not only the historical ones.
What this article cannot tell you
This article does not discuss what happens after graduation: salaries, employment, or how quickly debt is repaid. That information requires another source, and it is not authorized here. Nor does it tell you whether this is the right university for your child. That depends on three things only your family knows: what they want to study and have built so far, what their family can and is willing to pay, and what they need from a place where they will live for several years of their life.
Putting the pieces together
You now know one of the pieces you need well: who USC is in the numbers the government itself required it to report.
None of those numbers decides for you. Your child must explore, write their essay, build their record, and decide what they want to study. You need to understand the family’s finances, request the aid letter in writing before becoming frightened or excited by a sticker price, and support the decision without carrying it alone. When you combine what they want, what they have built, and what your family can pay with this piece you now know about USC, that is where a real plan begins to emerge.
Source note: the information in this article comes from official University of Southern California reports to the U.S. Department of Education’s IPEDS system, corresponding primarily to cycles 2022-23 and 2023-24. Best College Aid does not represent University of Southern California or any U.S. government agency.